Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£34.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2016
I had problems with the first one I was sent. Heat had melted the plastic used inside to pack stuff, and it was stuck to the inner wall. And I couldn't get it to scrape off no matter what I tried. Contacted Amazon, and the return was easily made, even though I didn't have a printer to print out a label. So top marks for the return.

Onto the coffee maker. This has a couple of niggles that others have noted. One is it fits very tightly into the heating element/base, so once the coffee has been made you can't easily remove the coffee maker from the fire box until it's all cooled down, or you need decent hand protection against the heat. Plus it's a bit of a pain to seat it into place when you start.

Second niggle is the pipe sticks out the whole time. That could get damaged when being carried.

Okay, those out of the way. Onto performance. If you want a coffee that you know has been made using your favourite blend then this is great. Are the pre-packed coffee bags easier and lighter to carry? Yes, but the quality of the coffee may not be to your taste.

This was quick, and uses a method still preferred in many parts of Europe today. The coffee wasn't as strong as I'm used to, but I do normally make my coffee much stronger than most.

Is it a suitable hiking item? Yes if you don't mind a bit of extra weight.

Is it suitable for caravans or power cuts at home? If you have an indoor heating method other than the toxic hexi tablets then absolutely. Heck, even if you have to use hexi tablets you can still hunker outside if you're desperate for coffee.

Is it suitable for family camping? I would say yes, and most families like a bit of luxury.

In summary: this does what it is meant to do. A great little luxury item that is actually worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Bin the cooker that comes with it, very poor however works very well on gas ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
I think it's a great shame that having enjoyed the one and only cup of coffee I was able to make with this product, after removing the lid to clean it, the gauze filter had separated from the ring that retains it in place in the lid rendering it useless. What's more, I can't find anywhere on Amazon's site that allows me contact the seller to enquire what can be done about it. I have emailed Esbit in the hope that they will replace the filter.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
It is a fantastic little coffee maker! We used it on the log burner while camping. It worked really well!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
Since the invention of ground coffee bags there is no practical justification for this coffee maker, and lightweight backpackers will be horified by the weight. However, if real coffee making, as a ritual, is important to you then this is the luxury item to include in your kit. Beautifully built, and effective.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
Good little product, a little worried about the spout in transit, would be better if it could come off or twist out of the way. It also makes it that the bag doesn't fit properly. Would be great if it only needed one fuel tab instead of two.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Brilliant
Ive just used this on a wild camp yesterday and i was very happy with its size its weight & its performance.
Easy to use great coffee.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
First one arrived and did not work. I went through a packet of fuel trying to work it out. Returned and another delivered very quickly. Not as efficient as I had hoped it would be but i think with a little more experimenting it will be ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
Great little gadget for makeing a coffee on any camping trip well build and works a dream takes about 9 minutes to make a cup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Bought this after seeing it work in a Bushcraft wild camp video on U Tube. My only moan is that it only makes 200m at a time and the spout sticks out a bit which makes for taking up more space in your pack, but the satisfaction of knowing you can look forward to a fresh hot coffee is well worth the effort . The video also advised using different fuel blocks to the Esbits as they don't last long, so I'm going to use it on a spirit burner instead. Apart from that, a great bit of kit to have on you when you're out and about in the woods and wilds, fresh hot coffee anywhere, luxury, brilliant!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)