Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
36
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

In this 2007 Zombie comedy [aka: aagh! Zombies!!] an experimental military test Serum contaminates some ice cream, which in turn infects four friends who pass out and reawaken as zombies, but they do not realise this and still see themselves as humans, until, that is, they meet soldier Nick and things start to go haywire as they believe the rest of the world are infected.
The clever twist in this is that it’s filmed from the point of view of the zombies which gives a completely new spin to the genre. Borrowing heavily from 50’s ‘B’ Movies and comic books, this uses black and white photography to change from ‘normal’ to ‘zombie view’ which is amusing and there are plenty of gags as the logic of their conclusions is very ‘Monty Python’.
The single disc is a bare bones offering play, scene selection and theatrical trailer. This is rated 15 for the typical zombie ‘violence’ and themes but has little swearing and no nudity, although there are sexual references. The humour is ever present, but despite some real laugh out moments, most is decidedly tongue in cheek and fans of ‘Shaun of the Dead’ and 'B' movies should like it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 October 2009
This is a great film. As the other reviewer has stated it is totally original and tells the story from the Zombie point of view. They see themselves as normal but when the films changes to the human point of view they are the walking dead.

I haven't seen a film like this before and makes a welcome alternative addition to the Zombie genre.

Only found out about it from itun*s and refuse to buy films from them when Amazon offers for so much less.

Buy this film and sit back and laugh.

4 stars.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
This film is very very original, but needs work. The storyline is simple and brilliant. A zombie movie from the point of view of the zombie. Awesome right? Well yes and no. The Idea is good but unfortunatly it hasn't been worked on hard enough. Here's a sum up of the plot, a group of friends mix ice-cream with beer and eat it, but the ice-cream has been contamenated with a green substance and turns the group into zombies. But here's the twist, they all think there super soldiers and everyone else is diseased. Yes it's paper-thin but enjoyable. Like I said it needs work, but don't worry am sure there will be plenty more movies of this kind in the future, good and bad. To sum up it's a good original film, with some good laughs, enjoy.

Buy if you like - Zombie films
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
this film does what it says on the cover.
a cheesy, poignant story that appears to be a little bit amateurish but which runs a lot deeper on reflection
a fun filled time for anyone with an alternative humour bent
i love it and was totally happy with the price, condition and service around this product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
I found this very enjoyable. It will appeal to fans of "Fido" and "Shaun Of The Dead". A very unique take on the zombie medium, lots of fresh ideas, amusing and witty dialogue, and genuinely likeable characters (something that you don't get too often these days). Not to be taken too seriously. Yes, the premise does borrow a little from Return of the Living Dead, but that is merely the background of the story; the main character plots are very different in style and tone. I like how the film starts of very comic book, and how the film switches from black and white to colour in various parts of the film to show the difference between what the humans perceive and what the zombies perceive. I found the idea highly amusing, that the only uninfected people that could communicate with the zombies on their level were those who were blind drunk. This whole premise was a stroke of genius in my opinion and executed extremely well for a low budget film. There are a little tips of the hat to Romero films too, but this is basically it's own boss and tosses convention to it's side. I was very impressed with the special FX and makeup and the general look of the film too. Nice camera work and editing. I won;t go to much into the plot as others have already. Not an out-and-out classic, and maybe not one for the hardcore blood-and-guts brigade, but a good fun, beer and friends movie, which is worthy of minor cult status. I would rate this on a par with Fido, which is another ingenius twist on the satirical zom-com theme.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
For a straight to DVD low budget film this is pretty good. It certainly is original in every way and has allot to offer that other zombie films in the past do not have. The story is pretty straight forward but is very funny in the way it plays out and there are some great new and fresh ideas like the zombies thinking they are still human because that's how they see each other. There is not too much gore or anything in this movie but does have a pretty decent budget and there are some cool effects like talking heads and rouge hands walking about and stuff like that. Overall a very funny and fresh original zombie comedy worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2009
What a great idea; A classic Romero style Zombie outbreak told from the point of view of the zombies. To them everything seems normal and they think everyone else has gone crazy. We follow the zombies on thier quest to save the world with what they think are superhero powers to take bullets and dismemberment and much hilarity ensues as we see the mayhem from the points of view of both sides. The plot is great with characters I rooted for. Less gory than Shaun of the Dead but enough to service the plot and in a comedy context it's easy going. Overall just totally original and it does a great job of running with the concept and taking it as far as it can and in unexpected directions. I only knocked off a star because it just needed a little more oomph at the end but still a top rate B-Movie.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
If you like a bit more thought put into your zombies, how about a movie where the zombies are the heroes. These guys don't even know they are the zombies. Cool use of black & white versus colour to give 2 worldviews and traditional style zombie footage versus what the zombies experience themselves. Great fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Such a great concept; a view from the zobie side. However I feel that the psuedo 50's style comic approach and grainy edited colouring detracted totally from the theme. I watched the first 15 minutes waiting for the real film to begin, and that feeling never left me. The makers of Shaun of the dead, I hope, would have made a far better film and less gimmicky. I couldn't decide whether the acting was stilted or just the script very bad. It had some excellent ideas which should have made the film, instead it was like fools gold. I would suggest renting or borrowing the film first before buying. I left mine at a friends house where we watched it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 December 2012
There are many zombie movies to choose from, some genuinely scary, some playing it for laughs, but this one is a little different telling the story from the zombie point of view, as four friends do not realise they have become zombies and attempt to carry on as normal. Yes, it is clearly very cheaply made and the acting is not oscar worthy but this is one of those films you can put on after going to the pub with friends and just enjoy the laughs. I find it funny even after several viewings and I also think it is very clever. If you like zombies, give it a try!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.41

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)