Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£14.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2011
Very well made film about a group of american army nurses who get captured by the Japanese during ww2. The production far exceided my expectations, as this was filmed in the Philippines were the movie is set, also the shear amount of people wee see on screen also adds to the believability of the whole film. As for the cast they were excellent, Sarandon is as always brilliant but the award must go to McNichol who is superb and steals every scene she's in. People will compare this with Tenko(which I also love) but they really shouldn't as there is more to this than the brutality of living in camp, all in all this forgotten film should be given a rebirth as it has to be one of the best war films about women ever made.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Although an easy to watch film about American women as prisoners of the Japanese it is no Tenko. Susan Saradon as usual playnig a feisty woman who stands up to her captors. One has to ask how long such a woman would have lasted in a real Japanese prison camp? A matter of days I would think. A better portrayal of women who were able to do this is that of Glenn Close and Pauline Collins in Paradise Road. There is also the physical look of the women. They were cleaner, better dressed and appeared to be wearing makeup. I do not mean that necessary for thier role. These did not look like women in a prison camp but ones who were more concerned with looking pretty on screen. Do not watch this film for a realistic potrayal of suffering but as a piece of enjoyable silliness
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
A heart touching film and a must see if you like WW2 films based on truth. It was bought along with two others that show the horrors inflicted on women by the Japanese, and as a member of the Royal British Legion We must never forget,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Most reviews I read for this film described it as unrealistic and boring! Its defiantly not a Hollywood blockbuster with explosions going off every two minutes, so if thats what your wanting its probably not for you, but the acting from the three main women is great (Sarandon, Nichols & Watson) and they made me cry and laugh throughout the film, personally I wasn't disappointed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
Women of Valor is a 1986 made-for-TV film about nurses in the US armed forces who are captured and imprisoned in the Philippines by the Japanese during the Second World War.

Even though the director chose to intercut old footage of black & white newsreels as segues to certain scenes, the film is not the most realistic, or authentic, portrayal that you're ever likely to see. It's also not a big budget production either (the few special effects/explosions/fighting sequences are reminiscent of an episode of The A-Team, in that respect), but it is, however, still a really enjoyable watch.

Although Susan Sarandon received top billing on the picture, it's Kristy McNichol who shows herself to be the pick of the bunch. The opening 15 minutes or so amble along, before we get the first glimpse of some pretty decent acting between McNichol's TJ Nolan and John Philbin's paraplegic soldier (who, himself, is one of the best things about the film despite his very brief appearances).

The rest of the supporting cast all do an adequate job, too, except, in my opinion, for the Japanese army sergeant, who comes across more as a comedy villain than the threatening menace that he's supposed to be.

As for the DVD, the 2008 Boulevard Entertainment edition is a completely bare-bones release, with no extra features, no subtitles, and a solitary English language audio track, whilst the actual picture transfer is of VHS quality.

For its subject matter, Women of Valor isn't very heavy going or hard-hitting, but at just over one and a half hour's long, it is worth a look.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
This is an amazing story of courage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Great war film about nurses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Really good dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
excellent film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)