Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
21
4.9 out of 5 stars


on 9 March 2017
I have received the suite yesterday, Sir Oistrakh The Great Recording. The CD quality is very good, and the sound is excellent while playing with my Tannoy Prestige. I think Warner Classics no not apply things like noise reductions or equalizations to the CDs, this gives me the original tracks. That is also excellent! Thank you Amazon, I'm look for new tracks now!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 20 February 2016
I agree with the rave reviews here of this marvellous box. It is a wealth of great music, superbly played by one of the very greatest of all violinists. I thought it might be helpful to post a list of (most of) the works included as there isn't one on this page:

Beethoven:
Triple Concerto for Piano, Violin, and Cello in C major, Op. 56
(with Lev Oborin, piano) & Sviatsolav Knushevitzky, cello)
Piano Trio No. 7 in B flat Major, Op. 97 'Archduke'
(with Lev Oborin, piano) & Sviatsolav Knushevitzky, cello)
Triple Concerto for Piano, Violin, and Cello in C major, Op. 56
(with Sviatoslav Richter, piano) & Mstislav Rostropovich, cello)
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
(with Stockholm Festival Orchestra)
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
(with Orchestre National de la Radioffusion Française)
Violin Sonata No. 9 in A major, Op. 47 'Kreutzer'
(with Lev Oborin, piano)
Violin Sonata No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 12 No. 3
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Brahms:
Double Concerto for Violin & Cello in A minor, Op. 102
(with Mstislav Rostropovich, cello)
Double Concerto for Violin & Cello in A minor, Op. 102
(with Pierre Fournier, cello)
Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
(with Orchestre National de la Radioffusion Française)
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
(with Cleveland Orchestra)

Bruch:
Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26
(with London Symphony Orchestra)

Debussy:
Clair de Lune
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Falla:
Jota
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Franck, C:
Violin Sonata in A major
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Khachaturian:
Violin Concerto in D minor
(with Philharmonia Orchestra)
Violin Sonata, Op. 1
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Kodály:
Three Hungarian Folksongs
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Lalo:
Symphonie espagnole, Op. 21
(with Philharmonia Orchestra)

Mozart:
Violin Sonata No. 32 in B flat major, K454
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)
Violin Concerto No. 1 in B flat major K207
Violin Concerto No. 2 in D major, K211
Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, K216
Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K218
Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K219 "Turkish"
Adagio for Violin and Orchestra in E, K261
Rondo for Violin and Orchestra in B flat, K269
(with Berliner Philharmoniker)
Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola & Orchestra in E flat major, K364
(with Igor Oistrakh, viola)
Concertone in C for 2 Violins and Orchestra, K190
(with Igor Oistrakh)

Prokofiev:
Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19
(with London Symphony Orchestra)
Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63
(with Philharmonia Orchestra)
Violin Sonata No. 2 in D major, Op. 94a
(with Vladimir Yampolsky, piano)

Schubert:
Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major, D898
(with Lev Oborin, piano) & Sviatsolav Knushevitzky, cello)
Octet in F major, D803
(with Peter Bondarenko, Mikhail Terian, Sviatoslav Knushevitzky, Vladimir Sorokin, Joseph Gertovich, etc)

Shostakovich:
Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 99
(with New Philharmonia Orchestra)
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
The recordings cover a 20 year or so recording period from the mid fifties and I was expecting to have to make allowances for their age. However, so good is EMI's remastering that one was rarely conscious of the vintage, even with the mono recordings. This may be partly because the recordings seem to focus, perhaps not entirely surprisingly, on the violin, so occasionally in the concertos the orchestra sounds distant if not actually on its on its way home; this means that the versions on these discs would not always be the only example you would want in your collection. But, for all that, what an extraordinary legacy it is.

My vocabulary does not stretch to describing violin tones so suffice it to say that Oistrakh played with a classical understated serenity conveying a sense of 'rightness' that makes many modern virtuosi sound mannered or intrusive.

I can't stop playing these discs even to the point of repeated listening to those works falling outside my rather conservative central European bias and to which I would not previously given the time of day. Revelatory is an over-used word in reviews but for me this collection has been that, even without allowing for the extraordinarily good value for money. If I could, I would give it 6 stars. Don't hesitate; buy it before EMI realise they have got their sums wrong.
0Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2008
What a wonderful collection - truly a definitive archive of one of the century's greatest artists. Oistrakh's combination of power and serenity, with that individual unmistakeable sound make this a must-have for anyone who enjoys listening to the violin. Even more so if you play - to hear just what the instrument is capable of. In particular, the accounts of the Beethoven and Brahms concertos are the finest I have ever heard. Recordings can be cold - you have to play a bit safe - but these recordings have all the magic of a live performance.
I had a number of these recordings on LP - if anything, the sound is better on these CDs and for the huge number of recordings - what a bargain.
0Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
A glorious recording. Unmissable for lovers of the instrument.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Just for the famous Beethoven Violin & Triple Concertos, Brahms Double Concerto and Mozart Sinfonia Concertante plus more. Playing from the heart to the heart. Great value, great music
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Allow me to disagree a bit with all the others reviews. Not about the quality of the music, Oistrakh deserves 6 stars. My gripes are twofold.

1) This is just another one of these quickly packaged reissues, with no editorial content, so presentation effort, no useful information whatsoever. Of course you're going to tell me "what did you expect at the price"? Except in this day and age, at that very same price per CD, there are some fantastic box sets out there in every respect.

2) The sound. Where everybody here celebrates how good this sounds, I'm left scratching my head. What I hear is, maybe not the worst, but definitely not the best of what Redbook technology has to offer. The sound is greyish and suffers from a slight but constant digititis. It's like this whole set was mastered in the mid-nineties. Interestingly, I get the same dull, uninspiring sound from a similarly poor Celibidache box... also a Warner offering. Once again, comparison with recent boxes like Deccas comes to mind. This is simply not in the same league. Digital has come a long way but apparently, folks at Warner don't know this. Bear in mind the age of the original recordings is irrelevant. I'm talking about the low quality of the transfers here. It's not unlistenable, but it's certainly not gorgeous or high-end mastering.

I realize I'm a minority here so make what you will of my review. I played three CDs from this set and never opened it again. Maybe I got unlucky and all the others I haven't played sound gorgeous.

I love Oistrakh, probably like you if you're reading this review. If you can overcome the two caveats above then you won't be disappointed. As far as I'm concerned, I'm now avoiding budget boxes from Warner.

I would give this box 2,5 stars out of 5. It's neither good nor bad. It doesn't showcase Oistrakh at his best by failing to pass on his gorgeous tone.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
Title says it all. Quality of playing and sound is good. A few works are repeated but with different orchestras/conductors. This allows some comparisons and encourages thought about interpretations, at least for me as someone musically uneducated. An amazing price. Can't go wrong.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I agree with the other reviews posted to date. These are wonderful performances by one of the greatest violinists of the 20th century and the recording quality is very good indeed - full marks and thanks to the EMI engineers. And the price is just amazing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
I will not say a word about the music because we all know what a genius David Oistrakh (and his old school partners) was.

What strikes me is the sound quality of these CD's. It is similar in style to the classic Decca engineering works, especially wonderful ADRM series, although a bit more bright (and therefore sounding wonderful from tube gear). Orchestra is a bit distant but solo violin (and especially cello) always has a solid presence. Seems that EMI got superb sound engineers recently, rivaling legendary van Gelder.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)