Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 27 March 2017
Fire and Ice DVD released 30th October 2006 by Optimum Home Entertainment and Studio Canal. This classic epic animated-film is a tale of Good versus Evil, and is similar to Conan The Barbarian. Fire (volcanic-lava) versus Ice (glacier). Lord Nekron and his mother Queen Juliana, seek to dominate the world from their Castle Ice-Peak (glacier) using glaciers, and attack King Jarol and his son Prince Taro in their Fortress Fire-Keep (volcano), and in the process, the sub-humans abduct Princess Teegra (daughter of King Jarol, sister of Prince Taro). The lone-warrior Larn seeks to rescue Princess Teegra, and is assisted by the lone-horseman Darkwolf. This is a dramatic and epic tale, with excellent and dramatic music (composed and conducted by William Kraft). This is a sexy-film, and Princess Teegra is scantily-clad through-out. This film is suitable for both teenagers and adults. The characters were created by Ralph Bakshi and Frank Frazetta. The screen-play by Roy Thomas and Gerry Conway. Produced and Directed by Ralph Bakshi (who was responsible for the animated-film: Lord of The Rings - 1978). Original release-date 1982 by Producers Sales Organization and Polyc International B.V. The DVD back-cover states the running-time as 89 mins. approx. The DVD front-cover-art depicts Darkwolf, Princess Teega, Larn, and sub-humans. Award 5 Stars!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
It began as once in a lifetime collaboration between two of the greatest icons of the fantasy genre: controversial animator Ralph Bakishi (Director of FRITZ THE CAT, WIZARDS and the original LORDS OF THE RINGS animated film) and legendary illustrator Frank Frazetta ( creator of the iconic CONAN THE BARBARIAN, VAMPIRELLA , DEATHDEALER and much more paintings, and Edgar Rice Burroughs book cover for John Carter's Barsoom Adventures. It became and remains one of the most startling animation epics of all time , that's for sure. Now experience a world unlike any ever seen, where savage warriors, horrific monsters and sub humans, luscious maidens battle for the soul of a civilization in a time of good and evil, pleasure and pain, and FIRE AND ICE. LONG BEFORE The song of Fire And Ice GAME OF THRONES!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
i liked it. its set in a low fantasy universe with strange creatures and magic and such...but no elves and pixies
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Very Good. Good story and good
animation Plenty of fantasy and adventure
Good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 July 2007
I always liked this film. Ralph Bakshi style is unique and it is simply fascinating and "Fire and Ice" is its perfect illustration. Some of the scenes are stunning, and the rest is good. There is some Conan atmosphere in it, but also some Tarzan, some War of Fire and even (I believe) some decadent Elric from Mnelnibone elements. Dialogues could be better - this is the reason for four stars only - but it doesn't change the fact that this is a good, artistically very interesting film. ENJOY!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
The ending is romantic. I don't know what other people think, but I think it's a good movie. The film's camera switch is too montage. The plot is very subtle. My brother and I watched it together. I like the hero.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2010
Until stumbling across this 1983 animated movie, the only time I'd heard of Ralph Bakshi was as the maker of the late 70s animated version of Lord of the Rings - at the time this was all we LOTR fans had in terms of a visual adaptation of the classic fantasy trilogy and consequently Bakshi became something of a hero to a generation of adolescent boys.
Fire and Ice is obviously very limited in terms of what can be produced with 2010 technology, however it's arguably still pretty impressive for something produced almost thirty years ago. The background reminded me of those old He-Man and Battle of the Planets cartoons; one-dimensional drawings and stock images, however Bakshi somehow manages to create quite an atmospheric backdrop for his admittedly cliched characters to pirouette across.

Borrowing heavily from the likes of Star Wars, LOTR, Flash Gordon et al, the story itself is pretty risible, however there is a certain something about this movie that makes it a fun watch as a one-off. A previous reviewer mentioned the Freudian undertones and there is certainly quite a range of suggestive images throughout, although one could feasibly watch the film unaware of these. My 6 year old daughter saw the case and wanted to watch it, however I would personally baulk at letting a kid see the movie as there are a couple of gory moments and a fascinating but potentially disturbing scene that could have been lifted directly from Macbeth.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
If you want this item to play on your PC, good luck! I've tried numerous software options to get this to play on my PC. Works ok on dvd players though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2008
Decent 1983 animated feature from Ralph Bakshi who brought us 1978's animated The Lord Of The Rings.
This time, master fantasy artist Frank Frazetta was on board to create characters & assist with the production design.
The storyline, as in 99% of fantasy movies, is hardly original but its sub-Conan The Barbarian plot is enjoyable.
There's plenty of action with all the requisite demons, dragons & monsters. The prehistoric backgrounds are often stunning & all the characters are well animated especially the Princess Teegra whio is voluptuous beyond belief! Larn, the blonde haired hero is also blessed with a suitably warrioresque physique. The anatomical detail, being one of Frazetta's trademarks.
I personally think the animation is superior to 1978's The Lord Of The Rings.
It looks more cutting edge & adult and I certainly prefer good quality, more traditional animation to the CG often used in todays animated movies!

Another film similiar to this, animation wise, is 1985's Starchaser: The Legend Of Orin ( A really good piece of pulp style sci-fi).

Fire And Ice isn't a childrens film by any means! When swords strike & arrows pierce, men and monsters bleed. Lots!!

An underrated, cult classic!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2006
This movie is probably one of the few fantasy animations that appeals more to adults than to children. the story follows the adventures of a village survivor who is on his way to escape the impending destruction an evil sorceror is causing by pushing icebergs south into human lands. Commanding a legion of sub-humans and tutored by his witch mother, Lord Necron makes his final assault on Fire Keep, a fortress of lava governed by a just king. the story picks up pace right there where King Jerod's beautiful daughter gets kidnapped and ends up with the survivor, trying to escape.

The film sports some truly unique charachters, including an interesting exploration of mother-son relationships with Necron and Julianna. The animation is fantastic... wonderfully gloomy and pensive. do not expect to see anything fluffy, happy, funny, or sing along... expect however, adult oriented dialogue, violent battles, blatant sexual undertones, and some mildly scary moments. the movie is wonderfully recollective of classics such as "Clash of the Titans", "Journey to Hell", and other seventies fantasy flicks.

this movie is definetly not for young children, i saw it when i was around nine and i was really surprised that it involved no flying carpets or singing crabs. luckily i'm into non traditinal animation and i absoloutly fell in love with it. BUY IT!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)