Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
24
3.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2009
I thought it was excellent, finding it really thought-provoking. This film is clearly meant to raise debate and challenge rather than titillate which certainly makes a change from the usual vacuous drivel churned out in the name of gay cinema. Although explicit and set in a world that many would find morally repugnant, in the end it's the universal struggle to make something of their lives, however misguided, that resonates.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
I had already read reviews about the movie and was not expecting more than an interesting insight into the world of the rent boy. I was not disappointed.

The film is co-produced by the main character 'Pete' and also lists rentboy.com in the credits so this film is also, in part, an advertorial to the person and company.

The dialogue is not scripted and flows pretty much as a documentary of the life of Greek Pete. There are few punches pulled. Full-frontals, fully aroused, implied sex and real drug use are all in there (as advertised). These scenes are part of the story and not included vicariously. It ain't porn. If you're looking for detailed close-ups, you are not going to get them. I would class these scenes in the same way I would class the baby antelope being stalked and killed by the lion, the medical or dietary reality programmes, or any other docu-drama life story.

The quality of the filming is good and the film appears well edited and put together. All in all, I think it's worth adding to a collection and am pleased I have done so.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
I first saw the film at Outfest in LA, where is won the award for 'Special Artistic Achievement'.

This is a very surprising piece of work and wasn't at all what I expected from a film about the rent boy scene. Would recommend it to anyone interested in gay cinema, but also anyone who likes filmmaking as the narrative style blurs the line between reality and fiction, though manages to pull it off successfully.

One of the best films I've seen all year.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
I didn't know what to expect when I first came accross this film. It seemed to me a strange thing to mix reality with fiction. Though as I watched the film I realised what the director was trying to convey to the audience. These boys lives are a tapestry of fantasy, the fantastical, all mixed in with the sobering underbelly of harsh reality. The narrative of the film illustrates the truth of the post-modern 'rentboy'. It's a refelction of our age, where the oldest profession is now computer literate, connecting with 'clients' and other 'escorts' accross the globe. The emptiness in these boys lives seems to make a statement about the collapsing structures of a decaying consumerism that permeates our lives. The boys ability to transcend all this and to navigate the best life they can is beautful and a testament to the light of human spirit. I've watched it three times and each time got something very different! Intelligent, humorous, entertaining and different! A must see for anyone who loves films (or boys for that matter).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
This is an interesting DVD release.Unlike the standard DVD gay movies this one has real people is real situations. The main character explains why he got into being a 'Rent Boy' and it's consequences for him. It is nice to see he has some faults and his close knit family of other 'renters' are also real.
You watch as another boy is drawn to him as this action for his profession as it clashes.
Well written and he is cute.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
Described as a `docu-drama', using real escorts and improvisation, this could have been recipe for disaster. However, what unfolds is a simple story of people struggling to get on with their lives in extraordinary circumstances. Pete is an engaging and honest lead, with a puppy-like enthusiasm for whatever is thrown at him. We're quickly drawn into his and his friends' world, which is shown warts and all, yet without resorting to voyeuristic titillation. The boys' search for love, security and ultimately acceptance through the fug of their chaotic lives is presented in an even-handed way, leaving the viewer to draw their own conclusions. Filmed with a hypnotic beauty that belies the subject matter, this is a film to lose yourself in. Ultimately I came away with a sense that these boys are neither to be pitied nor admired, but must simply be seen to be making the best of what they have, and I think that's something we can all identify with.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
I don't know why but I'd honestly imagined a Rent Boy to be incapable of true personal sentiments, and one is agreeably surprised with Pete, though too bad for him he's not very lucky with his lover friend, but the ensuing trials somehow make Pete more human. However, may anyone in search of these 'services' meet sympathetic Pete and never any of his buddies !
Think the value of this film lies in the fact that one cannot help reassessing this World of company & friendship "with a price tag", and discovers a human side of it, in Pete himself, and not least in one of his clients ! For these reasons I have much liked viewing this DVD. Hans Boonen France.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
GREEK PETE IS A PLEASANT ENOUGH LAD BUT DONT EXPECT ANY CONUERSATION ON ART OR CULTURE FRM HIM.THE SELL BY DATE OF RENT BOYS IS NOT LONG AND HOPEFULLY PETE HAS NOW RETIRED HEALTHY AND WITH WISDOM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
I saw this film with an open mind - not many rent boy stories that can surpass the treatment given in "Johns" or "Midnight Cowboy" - and I wasn't unduly disappointed. Conceptually the documentary approach was a novel way of taking us into Pete's world, however the dramatised (I am assuming they were) inserts of him servicing clients - were wholly unnecessary and served to only put meat on the bones of an undernourished narrative. These scenes voyeuristically lessened the naive ambition of all the boys and took us into porn territory and the age of gratuitous provocation for the sake of gaining an audience's attention. A bit more thought and that could have been handled better. Good debut though and on the whole a watchable piece - rent it - no pun intended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
real life about escort in London, good film and make think bout life . Pete is well fit .....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)