Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 December 2011
Interesting and entertaining 'mind game', dream-like, moody mystery, as
a woman can't account for several lost days of her life, or why so many
people at a resort she's never visited seem to know her.

She's also haunted by very odd black and white dreams where an
astronaut is betrayed and left to die alone on the moon.

The film is slow in parts, and some of the big twists are easy to see
coming, but it is beautifully photographed by Vittorio Storraro, and
eschews the gratuitous violence and awkward sex of most of the Italian
thrillers of the era.

This doesn't feel like its trapped by any formula or rules. And the
acting is pretty good for a dubbed film.

Not in the class of films like 'Don't Look Now" or "Vertigo", but gets
points for trying to be and doing so in a classy way. I'll be
interested to see this again.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Just don't expect a mastepiece or a classic giallo. The end was weak and disappointing. Great atmosphere, photography and direction but weak story/plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
A strange film here, wonderful lighting and photography, but a bit confusing to say the least. Garma looks great and I would love to visit that Hotel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
This is a fantastic movie. Very unsettling, in that you can never predict the twists and turns of this puzzling mystery.
Florinda Bolkan is excellent as the tortured main character who is experiencing hallucinations of an astronaut abandoned on the moon, and who is trying to work out the enogma of what has happened to her in the past.
An absolutely perfect movie with great dialogue, acting , and some of the most gorgeous interiors i've ever seen in a film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
It's with great thanks to Shameless that I have finally gotten to see "Footprints On The Moon" (Italian title "Le orme").
I read about this film some twenty years ago but have never been able to track down a copy until now.
Released in 1975 this maybe a bit too slow (and mental) for some of today's audiences but for me it's one of those films that resonates after you have finished watching it. For days afterwards I would find myself thinking about it.
Basically it's about a woman called Alice whose life starts to fall apart due to strange memories from childhood when she was forced to watch a film called "Footprints on the Moon". This leads her to lose her job and then she receives a mysterious postcard which lead her to a place called Garma where stuff really starts to get weird.
Shameless have done a fantastic job in it's presentation on DVD and have released as complete a version as one would hope to find.
If mad Italian thrillers are you're thing then it's recommended viewing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
Thanks to Shameless for unearthing this obscure and worthwhile giallo title. It's very different in style and scope than any other giallo I've seen, certainly more creative and ambitious; a work of art. If you're attracted to this because of Klaus Kinski, be warned that his presence is very short; his scenes are black and white flashback or dream scenes; they're hallucinatory, come as a shock to our main character, and as such are tantalizingly brief. Of course we could have done with a bit more Kinski. But it doesn't matter. The film is impressive, intriguing, with solid and daring direction. The DVD is beautiful on all accounts, my only quibble as a French customer being the absence of French subtitles; still, there are English subtitles which are very helpful. Some short moments are in Italian, since these had not originally been dubbed in English and were missing from cut versions. So this is a very good quality release of a film deserving of your highest attention if you're into Italian cinema, or underground cinema of all stripes. This release also shows the ability of this DVD company to please the demanding film buff and prompts me to buy more of their releases, which are presented as appetizing trailers on this DVD.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
Footprints aka Footprints On The Moon aka Le Orme is one of my favourite Giallo films. It's not as bloody and brutal as others, but it's chilling and a real attack on the senses.

Having previously only seen this on a very poor VHS transfer, Shameless has lovingly presented us with the definitive DVD version of the film and it looks beautiful. At last we can see just how fantastic the cinematography is.

A huge thanks to Shameless for giving this film the loving attention it deserves.
review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
Director Luigi Bazzoni and lighting cameraman Vittorio Storaro are just two of the artists behind the creation of Le Orme (Footprints), one of the most atmospheric gialli ever made. It's nice to finally see it in its complete form. I highly recommend this gem of a movie.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
I love films from this decade most are just mad and crazy and this fits the bill .what is going on half the time is a mystery but that's half the fun trying to work it out LOL.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
So far this movie received only excellent reviews - a fact that actually urged me to buy it - in addition to my experience with many great titles in the Shameless catalogue. Unfortunately this one is different: it has a great atmosphere, the setting is really well chosen and the story has a very interesting beginning, but after about half of the film's length you might lose interest in the conclusion. The movie is really slow and it's a shame indeed that Shameless is advertising this one with an age certificate of 18, when the movie is certified age 12(!). The only reason for 18 is the short trailer show for other Shameless titles that definitely are restricted for younger audiences. Please, don't get me wrong: this is not a bad movie, but you should know that this is neither a giallo nor any other kind of thriller. It's more a mystery on the border between dream and reality. I completely agree with Adrian Luther Smith in his book "Blood and Black Lace", who notices the weaknesses of this movie as well. Nevertheless it's another rare movie to see, so thank you Shameless for making it possible.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse