Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
23
3.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£18.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2013
Very happy with this purchase. I was looking for a swing ball set for adults in the style of the 1980's version and this one seemed to fit the bill well.

It is constructed from sturdy metal with a old fashioned spike end, which when placed in the ground leaves the pole about 6ft tall. Perfect for most adult players. The ball is an old fashioned tennis ball (none of the foam rubbish here) and swings very well with very few catches.

My only complaint with this set is a very minor one. The bats supplied are very small and the handles are a bit uncomfortable. However as this probably prevented my friends and I from putting each other in A&E through over enthusiasm I won't complain too much!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Arrived with battered box, could not be slotted together and one of the metal tubes was squashed- meaning it has to be returned. Poor transport of this item seems to have led to it being damaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
broken very early after first use
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Its very flimsy and if you put any strength onto the base it will bend. I wouldn't purchase it if its going to get thrashed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
As with every thing now ..you get what you pay for ...so don't bother paying for this ..you wont get much .
The Steel thickness is thin and bends easily. The interconnnecting tubes that make up the pole , do not fit together very firmly ..so as a result wobble with every hit which is very unsatisfying.
The Ground spike is not man enough to push into anything other than the softest of newly dug soil , and the foot plate used to push it down with ,came off of ours second push ..and I was not pushing it into clay or hardened soil, then the spike buckled and split off on a separate occasion .
The Chrome on the top coil has already started to rust heavily , ..and its not even one month old .
It will be in the bin on the next recycling day.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Because it's made up in sections, the whole pole assembly is quite wobbly, even when set deep in the ground. The structure is quite thin and will easily become bent if used a lot. Also, the racquets are flimsy and small, neither did they come with the retaining wrist straps that were illustrated.

If you're looking for a durable and long lasting version of swingball then this is not for you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
My children have outgrown the new look official (plastic) swingball anysurface set and we wanted something tougher, like the original 80s one.

The stick is perfect but as as been said before the racquets are RUBBISH and both the clip to the rope and the ball itself were broken within a few hours.

Fortunately, we still had the racquets and the ball on the string from the old set so can use those or it would ave got just 1 or 2 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Great toy for all the family. And more sturdy and less faff than the ones you need to fill with sand. This one fits in the same hole as the clothes dryer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Great to be able to get one with a stake for the ground as i don't like the sand filled base ones however the bats were tiny and disappointing quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
Minor point is that the bats are so small as to be painful to use but that is at least easily fixed. The bigger problem is the fit quality of the tubes. 3 tubes slide together and then connect to the base - the clearance on the joints is so large that the end result is too wobbly to be usable - the only way to fix it being to weld all the joints together. The ground spike is then not strong enough and after less than half an hour's use snaps off - welding a more substantial ground spike at least gets the main pole usable - only then to have the far too weak clip that attaches the string to the spring fail - more welding fixes this as well but you shouldn't have to spend time modifying and welding a toy to get it usable. Real shame as I prefer the original style swingball that this tries to be but fails fairly miserably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)