Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Old Crows / Young Cardinals
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 March 2017
Not their best but melodically toe tapping nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
This album was never going to please everyone. I think people that are of a similar age to the band are perhaps more likely to get this album than some younger fans (I could be wrong).

Crisis was such a polished affair and to me felt a little forced. Don't get me wrong, it's a good album with many stand out moments (boiled frogs, rough hands and to a friend spring to mind). Old Crows / Young Cardinals is in my opinion the best Alexisonfire album to date. Yeah, the self titled album is great, Watch Out! has some of their best songs on it, but as an album, I really think OC/YC may take the gold.

I'm not going to go in to the individual songs, because this album really deserves to be heard. Alexis fans should love it (unless you're one of those inanimate people with tight jeans and a stupid haircut I see at some gigs, some of you will probably be disappointed) and anyone who hasn't heard this band should definitely check them out.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
Is this album an instant liker, just as Crisis was? No.
It takes more of a listening to. At first I was slightly disappointed but I now go back to it more than crisis or Watch out.

It's definitely more raw than some of their previous work, but also a lot less raw than Dog's Blood.
Just as a final note, the songs are great live. That's where the band come into their own and the tracks from this album really work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
I urge you not to judge this album from the first listen. The opening track 'Old Crows' does the band no favours, merely plodding along without really grabbing the listener.

However, this is not the case for the rest of the album. 'Young Cardinals' bursts into action, stepping up the pace with some amazing drumming and a beautifully sung chorus by Dallas Green.

A couple of tracks later there is 'Born and Raised', which opens with an incredible solo. 'The Northern' showcases the band's more melodic side and firmly proves that these are in no way a one-genre band. 'Midnight Regulations' is probably one of the best tracks the band have ever done, with a simple yet hugely effective chord sequence in the verses, backing up Dallas' clean vocals and George's raspy shouts.

For newcomers, this may not be the best album to start with, as 'Crisis' shows the band at it's finest, but nevertheless this is a great album.

Long time Alexisonfire fans may feel let down by this album, but I assure you after a few more listens it's greatness will show through!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
alexisonfire,for me,are one of the best bands around,this,their fourth album shifts the sound around and while i didnt really like it at first i have learnt to appreciate it and then some.
The band said prior to this release that they werent going to be the saviours of screamo,instead they would kill it once and for all,i didnt like that quote as i loved their three previous albums,in fact,i rate 'crisis' as one of the greatest albums of the last 10 years.Anyway,this album is different,lead screamer george has dicthed the scream for a more gravel like style that takes a little getting used too,dallas remains the bands trump card still with his impressive clean vocals and it all works together just fine.
The band sound is a little more melodic and certainly punkier and rawer but the songs remain the same if you know what i mean,strong verses and soaring,memorable chorus' and on their day no one can touch the canadian five piece,i recommend this big time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2009
I absolutely adore AOFs Watch Out, with all its time signature changes, vocal counterparts between Dallas and George, but was let down a little by Crisis which lacked impact apart from two or three songs, and at the minute OC/YC suffers on the same count. Good musicianship, good singing and harmonies but just not diverse enough or in some parts memorable enough, sorry boys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
I loved alexisonfire previous work, their vocal talents and tempo diversity created interest for me. However their new offering seems to be lacking something, it needs one or two more quality songs to raise the overall feel of the album. Without these tracks i found myself becoming bored mid way through the album, its not that the tracks are bad (just average). In the past Alexisonfires albums seemed to take huge steps forward and had an abundance of creativity...something lacking from old crows/young cardinals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Alexisonfire return with their fourth album, the first since 2006's "Crisis". The sound here is instantly recognisable, but also moves in new and interesting directions: album opener 'Old Crows' is a wee bit slower than traditional Alexis, and tracks such as 'The Northern' and 'Burial' use organ to great effect. Alexis are still pushing their sound forward, and they've produced a fully-satisfying and highly impressive record in the process. Top stuff!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
Best album by alexis!! go buy it. no reason to just do. its amazing vocally musically and everythign that builds in you as you listen to it it just great. Do Not hesitate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
If you love Alexisonfire then get this CD it is a great album to listen to and i would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Crisis
£15.50
Little Hell
£9.99
Alexisonfire [VINYL]
£49.82

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)