Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
91
3.5 out of 5 stars
Eddie Izzard Live: Stripped [DVD] [2009]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(4 star). See all 91 reviews
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 July 2010
This is something of a return to form for Eddie Izzard. Its certainly better than both Circle and Sexie, although it doesn't quite reach the sublime heights of Dressed to Kill, Glorious etc. Theres no point in reciting the sketches here, as you know what to expect. Frequently surreal, very funny (in places) but as with all of Izzards shows he is just interesting to listen to.

The extras include a b&w 5 min montage of footage from his incredible 43 Marathons in 51 days. An insprirational man, a brilliant comedian and an executive transvestite. What more could you ask for?!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
A must-have for Eddie's fans, but if you want to introduce someone to his comedy, I'd still go for classics like 'Glorious' or 'Dress to kill'.

Bonus features include a photo montage of his 2009 run for comic relief (a truly inspiring quest) and trailers of his new documentary 'Believe'.
No audio commentary this time, though (which I enjoyed particularly on his other DVDs). Subtitles available in lots of languages, of which Spanish has a pretty decent translation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Maybe we look for too much from Eddie these days, after many hours of high quality observation. I enjoyed this DVD very much, but found myself only slightly disappointed that I wasn't creased up with laughter for the whole time.

Spoiled ?

I'll still look for the genius in coming DVDs, or if I can manage it, at a live show.

Still worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 January 2010
Copious mentions of chickens, legs, chaps named Steve or Jeff, losing his way and clawing it back with a "Soooo yeah", spoons, the Scottish accent, the French language: Eddie's back. In fact, so consistently entertaining is this new show, it's like the relative low of Sexie and the following six standup-free years never happened. If you're one of the great many of us who felt slightly let down by the last two tours, Stripped ought to recapture your interest, and can proudly stand amidst his earlier masterworks. It benefits greatly from a solid structure, and has the perfected feel of a tightly scripted show- I'm prepared to let go of the notion of spontaneity in his shows. Frankly, the precision of it all is far more impressive if it ISN'T improvised. And it's the same old Eddie- US fame and his healthy overhaul haven't changed him, and mercifully there aren't a ton of references to Mrs. Badcrumble and James Mason- it would have been too easy to fall back on old gags, but he succumbs only once, and even then he fobs it off.

Sorry, rather importantly, it's a really funny show.

You can get it cheap now too, so you've no excuse.

Well, if you don't like him, I suppose that's one...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
We saw Eddie perform Stripped live in Sheffield - it was pretty amazing.

Unfortunately much of his material didn't seem to make it into the DVD which is disappointing. That said, it's still good fun but it's not one we've come back to time and time again.

Pros:
- Eddie Izzard
- Mild level of comedy
- Some new material, some old
- Bargain for current price

Cons:
- Missing material from live show
- Fair re-use of old jokes, some work, some don't
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
Eddie Izzard is as funny as ever in his new DVD, and in typical Izzard fashion. Some good laughs and all new material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
Eddie Izzards latest show wich I was fortunate to see in Sweden Malmö. I must say the DVD is true to the performance. Sadly Eddie isn't getting any younger like the rest of us wich is reflected in this show. Miss the tempo and intensity he had even just a few years ago. I wish I could rekindle you flame Eddie! But until any of that happens this is still a show worth having in the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
After many years of inimitable standup, you can sense a formula in his style, particularly as he draws all the seemingly random elements in his act together in the final scene. It seemed a bit cobbled together at the end, to tie up all the loose ends and not quite as effortless as in his finest moments.
That said, he still has a real gift. Don't think that this is just a last tour to cash in, or milk a faithful following for their hard earned cash, it is still genuinely funny, and in the weirdest way, thought provoking.
I guess at the end of the day, after over 15 years, one can't expect his style and his material to be as genuinely fresh and unexpected as it once was, but it is still fantastic!

Last thing, is it me, or has Eddie Izzard's tone become a bit morally condescending in this tour?
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
Went to see this show in the o2 Arena in Dublin , It was and is in my top 3 live comedy performances ive ever been to and I go to a lot of comedy!
Brilliant and engaging comedian with a great flair.
Love the Dvd!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
If you are buying this from the U.S. make sure you have a multi-region DVD player. I know a lot of people say he is funnier as he goes through the tour, but I thought this was an excellent showcase for how his mind works. Eddie Izzard was funny and more importantly was having fun doing this show. Yes, there are a few spots that lag, but overall he still makes you laugh till your sides ache. While he looks great in his transvestite wear, he really shines without it, but I think it does throw him off a bit. All in all completely happy with this purchase and would buy it again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)