Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
22
4.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.19+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2009
Originally shown as a 2 part tv series, this dvd version is surprisingly entertaining. It doesn't dwell on the joys of finding dead mice under the washing-machine and chasing your cat away from the fish pond. Instead this is an engaging exploration of cats and their history around the world.

Some segments are a delight such as the cheetah sanctuary while others such as cats being dressed up in Japan are frankly a bit creepy. But all the segments are short enough to avoid the stranger obsessions becoming annoying while being just long enough to provide interesting information. And there's lots of globe-trotting taking in cat festivals in Belgium, jaguars in the Mayan jungle, Zen Buddhists... the list of interesting features is considerable in a program of around 90 minutes.

Throughout the lead comes over as being someone who really likes cats and who is genuinely interested to learn more about them and about the other people who obsess over them, whether the moggies be large or small. The rapport she develops with the cats and the cat-lovers is clear to see and adds to the pleasant feeling this show provides. This is an almost perfect piece of light entertainment that manages to inform and entertain in just the right proportions.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Joanna Lumley has a way with words and is just a natural for this type of documentary. Being a cat lover to have the two together in this sort of documentary was purrfect .... sorry about the pun but this DVD is highly entertaining and well worth watching and having in your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
this DVD is wonderful if you like cats, I watched the TV programme earlier this year and decided I just had to have the DVD, it explores every avenue of cats and Joanna Lumleys wonderful personality compliments it well.
If you like cats and want an entertaining DVD this is definately for you, I have watched it many times now and will continue to see it over and over again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
Who better to host this very entertaining history of one of the world's most fascinating animals than the remarkable Joanna Lumley. This DVD is a must for all cat lovers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
Received my purchase cat woman by Joanna Lummley within a few days exellent service exellent DVD if you love cats you,ll really enjoy this joanna is an exellent narrator, worth a watch and my cat loved it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
This documentary was absolutely amazing and fascinating. It tells us the history of cats including fascinating stories and folklore and what different cultures and countries think of cats. I haven't enjoyed a documentary this much in a long time!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
A fascinating insight into how cats have become part of our every day life. Joanna Lumley is always such a perfect presenter for these documentaries I feel. Highly enjoyable and pleased I bought it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
I am finding this mini-series really fascinating and it has even made me want to get kittens just so I can have more cats around the house!

So far I have only watched the first of a two part series on ITV and I guess it won't be for everyone, but if you have any interest in cats or simply like Joanna Lumley then this is for you. She quickly covers huge areas of the globe, a vast array of cat related issues and all the while you find yourself learning more about and appreciating more these beautiful creatures.

So much was covered in fact that I'm not sure how they will make another episode! I really cannot wait to find out!

I will be purchasing the DVD or asking for it for Christmas!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Such a beautiful DVD for all big and small cat lovers. Joanna Lumley has a lovely way with her and is a pleasure to watch and listen to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Great Documentarie. Gives huge pleasure to look at and a lot of information about Cats behaviour; also versus dogs. Also look into Joannas other travels such as The Nile, Northern lights etc. Magnificent movies..........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)