Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2017
I loved this television series and really enjoyed watching it again on DVD. All of the characters have strong screen presence and it was great to see the clothes - and hear the soundtrack - of the Seventies. It would have been interesting to watch a second series set five years later to see how the new relationships worked out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Saw this years ago still enjoyed it the second time around will watch it again soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
...Or the first episode. "Swingtown", which caused more than a little bit of controversy in the USA a few years ago, is about so much more than wife-swapping in the liberated 1970s.

It centres around three couples, and their teenage children. The Deckers, Tom and Trina (Grant Show and Lana Parrilla) are an affluent couple with an open marriage. The Millers, Bruce and Susan (Jack Davenport and Molly Parker, and their teenage children Laurie and Bruce Jnr., are an upwardly-mobile family; when Bruce had some luck at work, they moved opposite the Deckers, and are being introduced to a whole new world of change and freedom. Meanwhile, there is a third family, the quiet and sensible Thompson family, Roger and Janet (Josh Hopkins and Miriam Shor) and their teenage son Rick, former neighbours of the Millers.

Although there is a certain amount of sexual activity and drug use in the show, that's not the main focus, and is only used to further the plot. Over the course of the season: strong relationships get tested, dutiful housewives embrace a more modern age, the meek discover their own identities, teenagers embark on first loves, and characters change in ways they wouldn't expect.

All of the characters are likable, in no small part due to the wonderful portrayals by the cast.

In other hands, it would be very easy to find the Deckers predatory, but Grant Show and Lana Parrilla make them so charming and sophisticated as a couple that it's impossible to find them that way. Molly Parker has amazing emotional depth as an actress and I found I always understood her behaviour, even when it seemed so strange for a character of her background. Jack Davenport had a hard job making Bruce sympathetic later on in the season, but he always managed it deftly. However, the characters who, in my opinion, deserve special mention are Josh Hopkins' performance as Roger Thompson - the slightly henpecked husband who loses his sense of direction - and Miriam Shor's performance as Janet Thompson - the apparently-rigid, repressed housewife, who discovers there's more about herself than even she realised.

Conclusion: The show is vibrant (every episode seems to have a party, or some other treat for the eyes), entertaining (there are some wonderful lines), with strong storylines and wonderful acting.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
The title and the basic concept of the series may well put a few off but it is in fact a great series and as others have already put, it's a shame they haven't made more. Hard to understand why this did cause so much controversy when it aired in the States as by today's standards it is relatively tame with a lot being left to the imagination of the viewer. The cast are all fantastic and they play their roles brilliantly, especially Lana Parrilla as Trina. Take a walk on the wild side and go watch this series, you'll love it!! :-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Bought this after reading a good review and it is a most enjoyable drama, not particularly explicit, but very sexy and well written. Sad that they only made one series. Like a cross between a 70s Mad Men and Desperate housewives. Not too soapy, great looking quality drama.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Ok series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Swingtown Season 1 is brilliant and so different I love watching it. I wish they had been more season of the show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
I'm a child of the 60's (grew up in the 70s). Whilst I recognise some of the commonplace activities of the 70s in this series - like the blase, pre-"Just Say No..." attitude to taking drugs - none of the storyline was very convincing, despite the period outfits and (peeling) wallpaper.

Furthermore, I'm not sure who this was aimed at and what it was trying to say - I just didn't get it (apart from the obvious swinging couples, friendship jealousies etc.). In fact, I didn't have to squint much to see the 3D image in this 2D production: the whole thing had a feel of bow-chick-a-wow-wow 70s sleazy, cheesy, corny porn what with the moustaches and the innuendo-laden attitudes of women which used to be considered sexy at the time.

But the main reason I chose to watch this was because of Jack Davenport who I think is usually a very good actor what with his sensitivity to and intuition into the roles he gets landed with. Not so this time round, though. He felt raw and uncomfortable in this role, and his "American" accent didn't do that any favours. One could see his usual deep, charming, endearing "British-ness" coming through in what was, essentially, the shallow character of Bruce. Definitely a mis-cast here.

I can see why a second season wasn't met with any enthusiasm. Sorry...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)