Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2009
Saw these guys at Glastonbury and was totally blown away. They were on the jazz stage when Bruce was playing the Pyramid Stage so the audience was small - a real shame as they deserved much more. Grandpa Eliots performance of Amazing Grace (not on this cd) was my festival highlight, as was the band's version of Billie Jean - a great tribute to Michael Jackson. The CD and DVD lived up to my expectations following the live performance and I've had it on the CD ever since I got back from Glastonbury. The DVD in particular is very inspiring and I want to arrange something in my own area to carry on promoting the music. Get hold of this cd. You wont be disappointed. Great voices and instruments from all over the world combined with great love and attention to detail.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
The cd and dvd album (1 disk of each) has a collection of mostly-unknown musicians playing their parts to some standard classics. Most are street musicians - buskers - but there are more famous names also, none more so than the ubiquitous Bono!
Some of these performers are in pretty dire straits, socially, but they give their impressive all to this music.
The message of the album is the transformative power of music, the essential togetherness of mankind.
As a musical experience, it is very good, as a symbol of hope in a troubled world, it is worth its weight in gold.
I'd buy it - I did - and see what it can do for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
When I first saw the video of this music, I was smitten. All the performers apart from Keb Mo and Bono were unknown to me beforehand but what a fantastic bunch of performers, all of them. The music they make is giving me, my family and anyone else who hears it, great pleasure.
This project must be supported and I look forward to hearing and seeing more of this project.
Only criticism is that the video is too short and all the songs could have been on it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
Already an American Top 10 and YouTube hit, Mark Johnson's project has taken the engineer a decade, as he travelled the world finding musicians and singers (some buskers, some well known, eg Bono) to add a lick or a chorus as he built composite versions of ten familiar songs. Surprisingly, it works brilliantly
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2010
The music is really great,but best,if you read about WHAT its all about first.So...read the folder,watch the DVD and then listen to the CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
A fresh and different approch to old songs and New songs, all filled with sounds and colours from around the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
AM amazing album in every respect. Without any question of a doubt it is my 'Desert Island Disc!' If you buy 'Playing for Change' you will never regret it - I think it really is that good. If you buy the album there is a a suggestion I would like to make - listen to the music first and then watch the DVD. You will come to some startling conclusions. You have been warned. The next thing you have to do is go and buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
I came across a track on this release on BBC Radio 2 played by Johnnie Walker. That track alone would have justified the purchase so to find so many previously unknown artists from around the world playing and singing together such wonderful music was brilliant. Well done Mark Johnson for putting this album of world music together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Get this CD/DVD combination. Pick a quiet evening to watch the DVD with a few friends. Music transcends the sounds that make it up and somehow this video transcends the music and musicians that are included. The fact that it's all in a good cause is a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
I was introduced to Playing for Change last year and have enjoyed the great way that buskers from around the world can be brought together to create fantastic music. Moving and uplifting, buy a copy today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)