Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Foxbase Alpha (Deluxe Edition)
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99


on 11 April 2016
Interesting to hear the early material of St.Etienne. Already some accomplished pop songs (such as Kiss and Make Up, Spring etc), as well as some more leftfield material. This covers the period when the band had not settled on Sarah Cracknell as their permanent vocalist, and it has the inconsistency of a band that, whilst fizzing with ideas, hasn't quite decided their direction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Simply the best St. Etienne album. And certainly warrants being in the top 5 albums of the 90's. Sublime. Immersive. Addictive. Feels like falling in love on a hot summers day at the lido.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
Foxbase Alpha is already a classic album by Saint Etienne. The extra disc of tracks makes it even better. The sound is great and the extra tracks are a motherlode of stuff you would never expect but will certainly enjoy. If you like this, also check out the deluxe edition 2 disc set of Continental which is available right now. The second disc on that set is perhaps better than the first one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
So 24 years later, here I am still listening to Foxbase Alpha. How many other albums from this period do you listen to? Why has this become timeless? I weaves in out of so many genres that you cannot pigeon hole it into any singular category. There are balearic grooves, 70's wistful folk, experimental interludes, elements of C86 guitar pop littered through this album. The extra bonus disc just adds to the whole collection.

When listening to Foxbase Alpha, I'm taken on a journey from the clubs to pastoral fields in the summer.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2003
I love this album to bits, it's the greatest collection of songs, samples, humour and feelgood charm I've ever listened to. I listen to all sorts of music from classical and jazz to rock, but still I keep coming back to this album, over and over again.
I saw Saint Etienne live at Leicester Poly in 1992 or 1993, they were awesome (and supported by a then-obscure band called Pulp).
Buy it, love it, chill out.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Advertised as vinyl and received CD. To return it is too complicated so I'm stuck with it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Simply put...the only band that will change your definition of "pop music" This is a timeless, classic and utterly unforgettable album that summed up the 90's. The fact that the deluxe version comes with Filthy, a song so ahead of its time it's kinda scary, makes this the best purchase for ANY worthy music lover out there! I love St Etiene more than i love Massive Attack. And that says something!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
I admit it - I was completely suckered by Foxbase Alpha. I loved Only Love Can Break Your Heart and had been waiting for the lp to drop - and what a diverse surprise it was. Their more experimental stuff has aged better than the housey stuff, which is why the bonus disc is such good value. The 5 unreleased demos are just the icing on a very rich cake, including 2 versions of Kiss And Make Up, the brilliant Filthy and the original version of Winter In America (previously known only as a Psychonauts mix on Casino Classics). But the extra tracks complement the original album, which remains a classic of modish cool. It is very much of its time, so it may work better on people who lived it, but this is a very nice definitive deluxe edition type product.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Never sure why they've been classified as a dance band, but it all starts here. The Deluxe edition is worth the additional outlay.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
Saint Etienne's debut album, now over ten years old, sounds as fresh to me today as it did the first time I heard it. A mixture of Northern Soul tinged dance, atmospheric strings and blissed-out pop, Foxbase Alpha is one of the classic albums of the last fifteen years. From the timeless cover of "Only Love Can Break Your Heart", through the stoned summer groove of "Spring" to the joyful pop of "Nothing Can Stop Us" and the breathtaking "London Belongs To Me", this album oozes quality from start to finish. Even the dark and brooding "Carn't Sleep" and "She's The One" are packed with classic pop moments you'll want to hear again and again - and with the inclusion of the disco-tastic "People Get Real" on the import version, perfection is acheived. Summer just wouldn't be summer without it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

So Tough
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)