Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£23.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2009
I've watched Maeve's progress over the last couple of years at various gigs and have always been simply blown-away by her voice and original lyrics. There's a Chrissie Hinde touch to her voice sometimes, and perhaps a KT Tunstall. But she is not copying anyone.
Some great tracks, but excitingly she has not put all her good ones on this album: so there should be another one in production soon!
Buy it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
I first saw Maeve play as part of an open night at the Mixing Rooms in Glasgow about 4 years ago. I was immediately taken by the stunning quality of her songs and the truly engaging uniqueness of her powerful but still gentle singing style. Although from Glasgow, her voice has a beautiful and distinctive blend due to her Irish family roots.
I have since attended a number of her concerts and watched her hone her craft and put together a stunning band to accompany her. I always think that live performance is where artists really show there quality. I would highly encourage anyone to try and get along to one of Maeves gigs, I will guarantee you will go home with a big smile on your face and humming all the songs.

Having already downloaded her first two singles (Swimming up Stream and Carnival Attraction) and listened to all other songs at her gigs, this album is going to be a sure fire hit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Only just discovered Maeve through the Linn site whilst I was looking to see what other acts they had after years of buying Linn recorded stuff. Maeve is amazing, almost that american folk sound which I love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
A great and amazing debut. You can't listening one or two songs, you must listening entire album. And a great recording from LINN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
I haven't heard about Maeve O'Boyle before this album. Bought it after listening previews only and I wasn't disappointed: nice Maeve's music and performance. The recordings is great. SACD multi-channel version is a good sample for how it can be done for pop/rock music. Thanks to Linn: they don't pray on "perspective MP3 downloads" and published rock music album on SACD in year 2009!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
I have seen Maeve perform live several times, the latest at the Apple Store in Glasgow, where she did a great live set with her band. I've been to one or two free gigs there and this was by far the best attended, and Maeve treated us to almost all the songs from this album. They are well written, both lyrically and musically, and her voice ... well, she has a individual sound, which says a lot in this world of manfactured sameness. You can tell she has lived, and worked at her music, and this comes across strongly. She is an all round talent and I cannot wait to hear this album. If it is as good as her live performances of these songs (listen to Facing Home and Swimming Upstream) it deserves to catapult Maeve into the musical mainstream.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
If you don't know this woman and her music GET this album, seen her live and she leaves you wanting to hear more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)