Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive playlist - Elton John Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2009
Pendulum's meteoric rise has been truly phenomenal. Since their inception and growth as underground Drum 'N' Bass heroes, the UK-based Australian band has risen up to become dance-rock behemoths and one of the most popular bands around in the world right now. Their two superb studio albums are only part of the reason for this world-wide love affair. Their music has an appeal that stretches across all kinds of music lovers from DnB fanatics to head-bangers, and reaches all kinds of people. But arguably the main reason, is the fantastic live show they put on (which this reviewer was lucky enough to experience in June 2008). So what better way to show off the fantastic performance that has helped raise their profile than to release a live album?

Filmed in December 2008 at London's world-famous Brixton Academy (the setting for many a live album), the band work their way through a setlist that contains all their biggest and best songs to date. Although there is obviously a big focus on the newer material being promoted from 2008's In Silico (Propane Nightmares, The Tempest, Showdown, Different and more), all the old favourites that got the band so hotly talked about are here too. (Slam, Blood Sugar, Hold Your Colour, Fasten Your Seatbelt and even a rare live performance of Tarantula). There are also welcome inclusions for the hugely popular Voodoo People remix (Originally by The Prodigy), and a short stab at Metallica's classic Master Of Puppets, as the band show off their eclectic influences.

The sound quality on both the CD and the DVD are both superb, as is the visual footage on the DVD version. Many cameras were used, and a veriety of interesting angles and visual effects are used to capture the colourful atmostphere of a Pendulum live show. The bass and drums provided by Gareth McGrillen and Paul Kodish pound and slam with great clarity, and Perry Gwynedd and Rob Swire's guitars and synths are just the right level so as not to intrude on the vital sound. Vocals aren't Pendulum's main feature, but mainman Rob Swire delivers his singing well when called upon, whether it's an emotive howl (The Tempest, Hold Your Colour) or an electronic croak (The Otherside). MC Ben "The Verse" Mount, delivers his usual and sometimes slightly annoying calls for crowd to jump, go crazy, etc, which they do with gusto. But he also knows when to take a step back and let me music do the talking. He is also impressive taking on the main vocal parts for Tarantula. By the end, his presence is well-justified.

Just to sweeten the deal even more, there are additional extras on this CD/DVD package too, including fan remixes of songs, and other additional content such as alternate footage shot by Pendulum fan club members. On the subject of the fans, at this gig they were absolutely fantastic, singing along enthusiastically, screaming with awe at the songs unfolding in front of them. It is pleasing to hear they they have not been edited out of the mix, (save for a few appropriate moments). Instead, Pendulum have really done their best to make this sound like a proper live record, as it should be.

All in all, this is another fine edition to the ever-growing number of live albums made at Brixton academy. With a new studio album apparently due in late 2009/Early 2010, the sky is the limit for this band if they can carry on writing great crowd-pleasing songs that appeal to so many people, and putting on the great live shows that this album demonstrates so well. If you haven't seen them live, do it. You won't regret it. And if you're in a band and want to know how to perform live, watch this DVD to see how it's really done.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
The short version - buy it, now, this instant, don't wait, don't think about it.

I am only talking about the DVD here as I don't have a CD system able to do this performance justice but do have a top notch 5.1 surround system, and there are not many times you can put on a DVD and genuinely be blown away by both the visuals and the sound, but this is one - I had listened to some of Pendulum on CD via friends, and whilst being of interest, I wasn't hooked - but they are one of the very few bands that are better live than in the studio - but their ace is that they are not just better live, they are in a completely different universe - I came across them first via the Download festival webcast where they managed to put on a great show to an audience that were not 100% behind them, and then like many others I was astonished by their performance at Glastonbury where the crowd were much more positive, and helped bring out the best in the band. The fact that you can bring the Brixton concert into your living room with full blown 5.1 quality is the icing on the cake.

All I can say is that if like me you were sort of interested in their music on CD, get this and you will not be disappointed, and more than likely you will be utterly and totally gobsmacked by how good this is - mark my words, if the next album is as innovative as the last two, and I'm already bored of the argument of whether they are drum and bass or rock/dance - who cares, they are creating something completely new here - Pendulum will be one of the biggest, if not THE biggest, band in the world in the next 18 months
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
I think I can saftley say that this is one of the best albums I have ever bought! I have seen Pendulum perform at live events on the TV but being able to own this CD and DVD just takes it to another level! Pendulum Live is an incredible experience and can now be shared with all! These guys are all very talented in their field and produce music that has conquered all types of genres from rock to electronic to drum n bass. In my opinion some of their songs are modern masterpieces and I think that this is really futuristic style music. All credit to the band I will be following them till the end. If your a pendulum fan and wondering whether or not to buy this album then I would recommend it highly! You will not be disapointed trust me! The CD on its own is fantastic but to be able to have a DVD as well is amazing. It really gives you a feeling of pendulums type of performance with an exciting atmosphere. I can't praise this album enough!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
This was the album (which luckily had the dvd) that first got me into Pendulum having heard a couple of their hits over the years.
I love the juxtaposition of metal and drum and base and it plays right into my taste. It's rare that I think live versions of songs are better than studio versions but that is certainly the case here. Examples like The Other Side and Tempest are ones that leap to mind and really work on this live offering. In fact I recall being a little disappointed at The Other Side when I eventually heard the studio version it doesn't compare and sounded tame.
I know not everyone raves about Ben's MCing but he has a job to do and he certainly does it here. He gets the crowd really hyped and brings even more energy to an already explosive set.
Even if you are not necessarily a fan of drum and bass you would do well to give this a listen (it certainly surprised me) and I'm a big guitar music freak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
In Silico was criticised for having weak filler tracks, granted, there were a few. For having commercial flagship tracks like Granite and Propane Nightmares? Rubbish, they are monumental pieces of music that can only be criticised by people who quite frankly, still throw stones at the moon. Any album is bound to have its weak parts which makes this album such a work of genius. It contains all their best tracks to date, only a couple of bad eggs that should have been left out rather than 4 or 5, the addition of a voodoo people remix and a metallica cover. Wow.

Then add the fact they are performed live at the Brixton academy, with an insane crowd and atmosphere, performed with the energy of Rage Against The Machine and the perfection of god himself. The way it has been filmed visually is stunning and beats any music dvd ever released hands down. The best thing of all though is the sound quality, they clearly put an age into making sure the sound and crow atmosphere was going to be off the charts and it is, to the point it sounds better than the album tracks, which is exactly what a live album should aim for.

Put simply, you take the most innovative, exciting bunch of musicians since the Prodigy or Rage Against The Machine; the most under-rated, innovative and heart-racing genre on the planet(Drum & Bass); and the most well put together live cd/dvd ever made and you come up with the pinnacle of musical performance on this little planet we call earth. Sell your family if necessary to get this dvd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
If you want to learn how to master the art form of a live performance you should definatly use this CD as your manual. For a live performance it has everything you could want. A brillant sound quality, A superb setlist, and a head-over-heels crowd.

Pendulum have become a revolation in the musical world in the past year, helping some what to span the gap between Rock/Metal and Dance Music. this album takes the best bit from pervious albums and other 'new' recordings and puts it in a electric atmosphere. These 'New' songs help to sum up Pendulum as a band, as you can guess from the way 'new' is used these songs are covers. The cover songs that stick out are "Voodoo People" which is a Prodigy classic and "master of puppets" by Metallica. Though They are not the best covers you'll ever hear it shows how adaptable pendulum are to every genre of music.

In All this album should be in the hand of any Pendulum fan by now, if it is not they are missing out on an amazing live compilation. For any 'non-fan' Who wants to understand how this band have become so popular in such a short space of time this will help you, no end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
What a find ! The best way to relish Pendulum - Live and most certainly dangerous ! They are so tight as a band, every track seamlessly merging into the next with a polished, accomplished and energetic plough through their genuine 'bests'. Wish I'd made it to Brixton on that night ! Shame they dissolved, but what an awesome legacy : )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
Such a great album! Fast, frantic and great to dance and jump about to. Play it loud!! Ive not actually watched the DVD yet so cannot comment on that but if you like Pendulum this is a must buy as it features their hits they have released amongst some other gems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
The DVD (and CD) covers a great range of Pendulum classics from both their studio albums, with fantastic tracks from the first album such as "Fasten Your Seatbelt", "Blood Sugar", "Tarantula" and "Slam" not forgotten in favour of newer material.

Pendulum weave their tracks together superbly, and re-interpret the studio sound to give a totally unique live experience.

This album is essential! Feel the atmosphere! You *will* go see them live after listening to this album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2009
Was the best concert that I have ever been to and just as good on CD. If you like Drum & Bass and Pendulum you must get this CD!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)