Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2010
Two things ye must know about this double CD compilation, first it's dirt cheap, and second it has "The Final Countdown" on it, we're heading for Venus baby! Actually, there are lots of great rockers allover the shop here, more so on CD1, such as "Rock The Night", "Superstitious", and Cherokee", plus the excellent power ballad, "Carrie". CD2 isn't quite as good, as it features Europe in their early days and still learning their rock chops, but still good fun, true air guitar joy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 November 2014
This is a great double disc album of Sweden's number one rock band Europe, containing the hits, fan favourites and highlights from over five albums that were released from 1983-1991. The early material was really heavy stuff, and then came 'The Final Countdown' era and mainstream success with other songs like 'Rock the Night' and 'Carrie', which the guys followed up with two quality, and more mature albums. If you are only familiar with a handful of songs from their vast musical catalogue, this set will seem like a real treasure trove. To make things more interesting, there is the obscure 'Long Time Coming', which was never released on any album, and the dancey re-make of 'The Final Countdown' which brought the band further UK chart success in 2000.

With 36 cuts, 'The Best of Europe' is very good value, and the booklet contains a fairly good write-up of the forever revolving band, with a mention of their 2004 comeback album 'Start From The Dark', and subsequent releases like 2006's 'Secret Society', where their style changed quite dramatically compared to the majority of music you'll find here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
I liked "The Final Countdown" single when I heard it many years ago and had been looking for a cd when I came across it on Amazon, so I duly bought it. When it arrived I did not realise that it was a 2cd set which was a nice surprise and a very good price at that!!!
Anyone who has not listened to this group should at least hear "The Final Countdown" track and judge for themselves if it is their type of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
A bit like Mr blue sky by ELO, it will only take rock the night or final countdown to be used in Doctor Who for Europe to become truly cool in the UK. A bit like ABBA they are more revered now than they were originally. They were great live as well when I saw them in the 80s. Loads of great tracks you may not have heard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
I bought this album as an experiment. Sure, I'd heard Final Countdown, Carrie and Rock The Night and wondered if Europe had more to offer.

In essence, if you are a fan or want a double CD of Europe it is all here. What you get is a couple of discs of decent rock songs. What it did reveal is the reason Europe probably didn't become massive, there are not a lot of great rocks songs. Across the board the music is good but apart from the familiar songs none really caught my attention.

A decent slice of nostalgic 80's rock.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
As someone who only heard the more famous songs by Europe in the 80s, I was surprised at the scope and dynamism of the other songs. From rock ballads to real heavy metal. Had the cds in the car now for weeks, great driving songs. Never knew Europe was so good, O well, better late than never. p.s. CD2 is even better than CD1
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
This cd "The final countdown the best of Europe" is a true masterpeace. The amazing vocals by Joey Tempest and emence guitar solos by John Norum keep the listener entertained from start to finish. very good value for money any rock should consider buying it. I was very impressed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
Heart, do me a favour. You probably think Bon Jovi are a real band. I saw Europe live last night (2nd time in a year) and they rock. Could Nancy Wilson play guitar like John Norum. The answer is no. Banal lyrics? You try writing songs in Swedish. I would quote some Heart lyrics to compare, but oh, I can't remember any of their songs. I'm currently listening to Spirit of the Underdog of Europe's Start from the Dark album. Maybe they are underdogs who don't get the hype others do. Oh and as for calling them 80's rock, they've done just as much in the 2000's as back then...have Heart?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Always liked these, was looking for greatest hits, this does the job love listening to this type of music, all songs a hit for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
What can you say about this iconic group of the eighties, great tracks , and some lesser known ones, but still a great cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse