Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2015
I can listen to this as a result of my Prime membership.

What can one say? This is a performance of a masterpiece by England's greatest composer performed by a conductor who was a friend and a champion and a superlative interpreter of Elgar. From the slight rubato of the opening bars to the glorious self-portrait finale, this is a wonderful experience. It takes me back to the two or three times, in my youth, when I stood with the Promenaders enraptured by the Enigma Variations being conducted by Sir Malcom Sargent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I feel a bit uncomfortable being asked to give star ratings "to Elgar's Enigma Variations" I mean, what can you say? " crap, but he shows a bit of promise"?!

Yes I do realise what you meant, Amazon! The speed of delivery (online download) was lightning fast, and the price of this great masterpiece (87p) was ridiculous. How could the product and the service possibly have been better?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
I know very little about classical music (about any music actually!) all I know is that I just loved this... the whole piece flowed and 'rolled' no jarring, jagged pieces in there at all, and 'Nimrod' well there were tears in my eyes. Would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2016
Bit of a scratchy old recording but if you don't mind that (I do a bit) its a great performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
This recording is as good as I expect it tobe. A worthwhile buy from a competent seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
One of my favourites and well interpreted by Sir Malcolm and the LSO. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Not the best recording but good playing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Sir Malcolm was a truly great conductor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
This is a classic rendition of Elgar's Enigma Variations with Sir Malcolm Sargent at the helm. I just feel the recording lacks depth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
If you like your music with feeling and passion This is the one, England as it use to be. proud to be English !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.79
£1.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)