Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
89
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2014
Ok first thing I can tell by looking at many of the other reviews of this film is people seem to have a problem with anyone under 16 being killed in a movie, but if your older than 16 its A-okay to be killed, sure whatever.

Cradle will Fall is a movie based on Andrea Yates, a lady who drowned her five children while suffering from postnatal depression and postpartum psychosis (a form of extreme psychosis that follows childbirth). Doctors warned her husband that she was suffering this condition but her husband ignored them stating that women who suffer postnatal depression/psychosis just need 'a swift kick in the pants'. The result of his ignorance is all of his children being drowned in a bathtub. She was originally sentanced to life but was retried in 2006 and accquited due to insanity (she was psychotic at the time) and thus sent to a mental health facility for treatment.

Now the actual movie is extremely good as it shows the gradual decline of the Mother's sanity and her decent into a mental breakdown, the camera work and soundtrack is so well done that you can start to feel like your being dragged down with her. Colleen Porch manages to portray her psychosis very authentically for example crying as she impales her daughter with a pitch fork and accusing her eldest son of trying to hurt her so much.

Despite the signs of the Mother's depression the Father, a long-distance trucker leaves her with a newborn and three other kids to cope on their farm in the middle of nowhere after only being home from his last job one day. At dinner she finally snaps and kills her baby and tries to kill her other children, constantly plagued by manic emotions. Her eldest son, Jimmy and sole survivor manages to keep her away until the Father gets home. Then the mother is institutionalized and several months later the Father announces to Jimmy that he wants his wife to come home so they can be a family and announces that she is pregnant much to his sons horror. The final scene shows the mother staring emptily into the distance humming 'rock-a-bye-baby' and stroking her baby bump.

Ultimately this is a very well made slasher film that raises awareness about a very serious mental condition. So before you chastise my support look at the greater picture: 1000s of mothers suffer with this condition though suicides and infaniticides are rare and with the right support and treatment many of them go on to be fantastic mothers and some go on to have more children but for those who don't know about it they can spiral into depression and psychosis and then be labled a 'bad mother' or an 'evil woman', when you are psychotic you aren't any of these things you've lost contact with reality and that can have dire and disturbing consequences.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Down will fall Cradle,Baby and all !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Service excellent and what a wild realistic horror and drama movie. To me a must see !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
Mom (Colleen Porch) has a touch of postpartum depression. With the suspect cheating dad (Joel Bryant) traveling on the road as a gear jammer, this does bode well for Jimmy (Ridge Canipe) and his siblings as mom reaches for the pitchfork.

Yup. Mom goes psycho all over her kids. That is pretty much it as it becomes of game of hide and seek to the death.

Didn't really grab me. Oh yea. Inspired by actual events.

Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
As this starts off,it's clear the mother is depressed and struggling to not completely lose it,probably post natal depression.
She also suspects her somewhat emotionless husband of cheating. The father has to go away on a job and tells his oldest son that he will be the man of the house for a while and must look after his siblings,little does the father realise that the son will soon be fighting for all their lives.
So the mother finally snaps and starts killing her children,leaving the scared soon desperate and determined to save his sister.
The acting is passable to impressive,the mother is impressively played,very disturbing. It's an interesting story based on truth and highlights a very real threat of mental illness. This is very short at 1 hour 14 minutes,with the end credits being several minutes of that.
Some repulsed reviewers of this clearly missed the point,i don't see how it's offensive or sick,it just points out how someone can just flip sometimes and the whole thing ends in bloody carnage. It is disturbing,but it does it's job and does it well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
I was sorry I purchased this film because frankly I had to turn it off. It was the most unpleasant thing I have ever seen and I have seen very many .horror type films Take my advice and steer clear. it made me feel sick.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
I just watched this D.V.D. and I have to say,it was far better than I expected! This kept me on the edge of my seat,seeing what someone will do to survive,no matter what!
I would suggest this film to anyone who wants something out of the ordinary-something different-this D.V.D. offers that in a large dose! Go for it-You will NOT be disappointed!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
This is actually a top film but not for the sentimental hearted! Acting is really good but I found this film very sad as you see what happens. The acting is intense so kinda makes you think your watching it for real. Mum basically snaps and kills her kids I think it's actually based on a true story. Great film however I could only watch it the once as it's real sad to watch and it's one of those that stays in your head for ages after! .. Do recommend a watch as it's a real good film tho.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.91
£4.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)