Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 October 2003
This 20-track album is a magnificent blend of all of Christy's styles. From the lament "Ordinary Man" to the ballad "Ride On", Christy takes us through "Lisdoonvarna"'s festival and through the reality of emigration in "City of Chicago" and "Missing You". Some novel songs included are "The Reel in the Flickering Light" and "Mystic Lipstick".
The music standard is the highest, and both Christy and the backing vocalist are on top form. This CD is on my list of recommendations.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
What's not to like about Christy Moore? Fab recordings of some of his classic tracks. If you are a fan of Irish folk music and ballads buy it now and add to your collection. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
The artist is great - but on this CD i cannot hear the recording at all, it sounds like a very poor pirated copy , i am trying to return the item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Beautiful music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Scratched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Arrived on time great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
A must for Christy fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
This mans voice reaches something deep inside my soul, he does not get the air time in this country to reach a wider audience. His humour is evident in some of the songs on this album which I bought as a sampler. with a voice which lends itself to the sadness of imigration and the way ("Missing you" )the Irish (and indeed other races) were looked upon for many many years.
City of chicago would have stuck a chord with my late father as would the gentle ribbing in the Knock airport song. Pull up a chair pour youself a glass of something strong sit back and be taken to another place as you listen to this album -and its a bargain from Amazon.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2008
Why does Christy Moore have a propensity towards singing depressing tunes? Don't get me wrong, he is a master of this genre. And, to be fair, not all the tunes are downbeat - "Lisdoonvarna", "don't forget your shuffle and "delirium tremens" are really funny. I particularly liked the lyric in "delirium tremens" about Charlies Haughey taking crossmaglen and Gareth giving it back again!

But, where is the belly full of joy? I think its a question of how one views life and its purpose. It is easier to write and sing a mournful tune than one which is motivated by a belly full of joy as real joy is a rarity.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2006
If you want to experience nostalgia,excitement,political oppression and humour with a distinctively Irish folkey feel then this is the album for you.There is something for everyone with a sense of humor, good imagination and a rebel within. Christy Moore takes us on journey from the first track, its one of those cds where every track is the best one! Although he does in my opinion kick off with a top track 'Ordinary man'which tugs at your soul as u hear it,what more can I say,it reminds me of old friends good times,camp fires and fluffy rebels!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)