Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2014
If you are interested in Frank Sinatra, the Rat Pack and that era this book is a must. You would not believe the true stories about stars we thought we knew all about eg Marilyn Monroe, JFK and Bobby. Each chapter amazes me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
I have enjoyed every page of this most interesting and informative book. Not only featuring the escapades and life style of Frank Sinatra this book also gives an insight into the sexual and political intrigues of the film and entertainment starts of the world - warts and all. A most informative and funny book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I enjoyed reading about the man and his excesses, which were truly over the top. Much of what is written is already well known, but this book is a good example of how outrageously a person can behave if there is no power to stop them. Rather like a dictator or potentiat ruling with absolute power the book describes a man drunk on power with everyone afraid to point out the truth to them.
The author contradicts himself often, but this is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
This book does give some really interesting insights into 50s and 60s Hollywood and Sinatra's habits and proclivities, he comes across as very far from likeable. The only qualm I have is that the stories do become a little repetitive after a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
If this is an accurate account of Frank Sinatra and his lifestyle I can only say this was not a nice man! I have always been a fan of his music and of course his displays of temper are well documented but this book by his one time valet also highlights other less than admirable traits.

But the problem I found with this account, was that it soon descended into a
repetitive litany of Frank Sinatra's despotic excesses with his need for hookers, his association with gangsters, his spiteful practical jokes, his vendettas etc. . The people he associated with also seemed to have very little to admire, including well known film stars & celebrities and politicians.In the end, as the list of Frank Sinatra's (and indeed others) excesses mounted and mounted, I completely lost interest as so much seem contrived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Great read. Better than I would have hoped. I wasn't a Sinatra fan, so hearing about his ups and downs was interesting and very entertaining. Great gossip, swift enjoyable pace and never a dull moment. Best book I've read in a long while, I couldn't recommend it more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2004
This book is a must for all Sinatra fans. An honest and insightful account of life with Sinatra by the person who was most close to him for 12/13 years. This book shows some great photographs including some lovely personal shots of Sinatra and Marilyn Monroe that I had never seen before. A really excellent read, you will not want to put it down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
This book as by far exceeded all expectations I had. It is a fantastic account of the life of Frank Sinatra, by someone who probably knew him best and went through ups and downs with him.
If you are interested in a little background information on what Hollywood was really like in the 50's and 60's, then this is the book for you.
Highly recommended, not just as a biography, but as description of a lifestyle when Hollywood was still young.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
Really felt that his valet was completely honest in all he said about Frank. Fancy being so close to a mercurial personality such as Frank, with access to Sammy and Dean and Peter, plus the Kennedies. What a great era.
Loved the book. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Well anyone who loves learning about the realities of any of the Rat Pack will definitely love this book. Written truthfully from inside Sinatras camp by a man who so obviously adhores Frank even though he was at times unfairly treated,this is a thrilling book telling the tale of mr swing himself........DEFINITELY READ THIS!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)