Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
36
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2009
I've been dying to see this film for months, since I've been seduced by the beautiful trailer and the fact that three of my favorite Hong Kong actor's were in it, may had something to do with it as well. They are, the ever excellent Andy Lau, the legend that is Sammo Hung and the beautiful Maggie Q.

A little about the story, a common man named Zhao (Andy Lau) rises up the ranks to become a legendary commander of an amy of liberates. With his trusted friend at his side (Sammo Hung), they set out to save their country that has been torn by years of civil war by defeating the warlords of the land, once and for all.

I did think that this film was worth the wait and a purchase. I can't help but feel a little disappointed by the storyline and the flow of the film. I just felt that there was too many characters and not enough screen time for growth. Maggie Q was very under used, she is very believable as the granddaughter of a warlord taught the art of war form birth, a great role but with little screen time. The same also with Zhao (Andy Lau), his timeline jumps forward all too soon. I would have liked to have got to know Zhao the man, as well as the Soldier. Don't get me wrong, there is a great story and cast of characters there worthy of your viewing time.

Andy Lau and Sammo Hung, are flawless as always. Their acting draws you in, you want to find out what happens to them. It's great to see Sammo acting again, it's been a long time since I've seen him in anything. Sammo is also the action director of this film.

I did enjoy this film and I will watch it again. The battle scenes are epic and stunning with top acting from all, a magnificent soundtrack, a beautifully shot film and with a pin sharp Blu-ray picture to boot, this film has a lot going for it!
33 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2010
I haven't watched all the Chinese films based on ancient history, but having watched 'Warlords' Warlords [2008] [DVD]recently, and having watched 'House of Flying Daggers' House Of Flying Daggers [2004] [DVD] and a few others, this one has ranks as one of the better ones. This is proved by the fact that my wife actually gave up her siesta to watch it with me - and watched the whole thing! My wife does not do these kind of movies so it must've been very interesting to keep her attention!

The film covers about 30 years of history in a brief 1 hour and 42 mins but it is well done. The characters are developed well and although some of the film moves quite quickly, you can grasp the various strategies that were involved in some of the battles and follow through the various kingdoms.

It seems a little strange to be called 'Three Kingdoms' as it is basically about 2 kingdoms! But other than that, it is an interesting film.

I can't say how much is based on actual historical events, but I suspect not many who watch it will be avid history students.

If you enjoy this genre of film then this will not disappoint. I felt it was considerably better than 'Warlords' even though the story of Warlords sounds like it should have been interesting.

There is plenty of blood, as you would expect, but nothing more than Braveheart.

If you have never watched this genre then this would be a good place to start.

Enjoy :)
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
In The Warlords we see Andy Lau firing on all cylinders as we did in Running On Karma. Here, Lau puts in a good performance as does his sidekick Sammo Hung but both of these well established actors are both upstaged by the flawless Maggie Q. I'm not a fan of Maggie Q so I wasn't expecting much and although her screen-time is limited in this period masterpiece she is simply outstanding. The battle scenes are on par with The Lord Of The Rings with the correct amount of blood getting splattered across the screen.

The story is about the formidable warrior Zilong (Andy Lau) who vows to maintain the fight until peace and freedom are restored to his people. Standing in his way is the granddaughter of his old enemy Cao Ying (Maggie Q) who has sworn to herself and her army that she will capture Zilong in honour of her late grandfather Cao Cao, who failed in his quest to capture the great General Zilong.

Combine The Warlords with Battle Of Wits and you have Three Kingdoms: Resurrection Of The Dragon. All I can say is John Woo's Red Cliff has got a lot to live up to; and, I hope Maggie Q is cast in this type of role again, but with a larger part to sink her ever growing talent into, for she is the ultimate female warrior!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is great it's based on the same time in history as red cliff (2008) directed by John foo but it's based on one group of heroes going to war to save a nation the film is intensive with action the cinema photography is amazing the Chinese have such a good reputation for quality filming. The battle scenes are breathtaking the scenery amazing if you are into these films this is one to have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
After watching this the first time it was hard going reading all the translation on the screen and missing the scenery, photography etc. Next few times you watch it's the other way round, you listen to the language and watch the film. You'll enjoy the battle scenes with beats of drums and twangy violin thingy instrument and you almost start to believe you know the language (well at least when the film is running, you'd be hard pressed to speak it to your partner and understand her/his reply if she/he were Chinese/Japanese). Yes I will watch it over and over as I loved the music and all the heroic stuff
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
its a decent film based on the 3 kingdoms era of china (yes, im gonna assume you played dynasty warriors! lol)

the film is based on a guy named zilong of the shu kingdom (Zhao Yun for dynasty warriors players! lol)
to be perfectly honest, it starts of great at the start bit were our main man Zhao yun actually historically did something, the bit he saved lui beis child, but the film kinda goes into fast forward mode after that, missing out all your favourite historical battles to skip to Zhao yuns main moments..... basically just the saving luis child and then skip to zhaos death! lol

aside from that, it still is a decent film to watch though if your interested in Chinese movies, which is why I rated it highly for what it was at a 4, purely on the biased fact I like Chinese martial arts films...... but if you don't like Chinese martial arts films just consider this rating a 2 star :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
Well, maybe not, but most of the main charactors, Liu Bei the man of virtue, Guan Yu and Zheng Fei his blood brothers, Zhuge Liang the ultimate strategist, 4 of his 5 "Tiger Generals" (Oddly, Andy Lai's character Zilong is the one who doesn't appear in the games [it's more understandable that Sammo Hung's character doesn't appear in the games, but he has a function in the film]), the villainous Cao Cao and Cao Ying (an underused Maggie Q) are all recognisably the same people as in the game series.

The film concentrates on the Shu and Wei kingdoms, and ignores Wu completely. This is probably a good thing since the film covers 32 years of life in a 98 minute running time. Of course, in real life a lot of those 32 years were spent raising armies and training, rather than doing things that would film well.

It does manage to convey the scope of the battles and the size of the nation, without going to the occasionally over-stylised (for my tastes) multiple angles of the same shot of Wixua offerings.

If you like historic Chinese cinema, recommended.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
Ordered this film after viewing previous reviews. The reviews were first class and the film certainly lived up to the high gradings.
Brilliant story and thoroughly well acted throughout. Sub titled were easy to read and follow.
Normally I struggle to watch a film all the way through but this one I couldn't switch off.
I am not a film critic and therefore cannot go into all the aspects that make a great film but whatever they are this film and cast have it
Highly recommended as first class entertainment
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
if you like this genre you' ll enjoy this. excellent storyline, 3D characters and cinematography.
recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
Story
His country torn asunder by civil war, Zhilong (Andy Lau), a common man heeds the call of duty from the humblest of roots, rises throught the ranks on wings of courage and cunning to command an army. Inspired by action, honour and a dream of unifying his divided nation, Zhilong's heroism became legend.

What makes the film a defeat for viewers
Historical content
Folks at amazon.com pointed out that this movie has a few fictional contents that marred the actual portrayal of the Three Kingdoms. Because this was competing against John Woo's "Red Cliff", it may have gotten to the cinemas before Woo's epic, as a result, this film feels rushed and the story is rough in places.
Nonexistent
No UK release means you must have a multi-region dvd or bluray player to see it. Or get a video compact disc (vcd) which is playable on dvd players. Vcd is the format before dvd.
Narration
Their choice of narration, though adequate and enthralling, may have been more suited to Zhilong instead.

What makes the film victorious for viewers
Character Empathy
There is a lot of ironic twist here that I find it involving.
There was a particular scene which I shall make it cryptic and spoil proof is when you see how much a character sacrifice his/her own ambitions for servitude, you cannot help but contemplate with the character "Is this what I fought for all my life? Is this the fruits of my labour?"
Who could ignore the long suffering role, guilt and burden of advisor, Zhuge Liang?
Established lead
(Infernal Affairs) Andy Lau, along with other casts, did a creditable job in making this a fascinating view.
Action
Ones to watch apart from Andy Lau is Maggie Q. It is the 1 on 1 duel scenes that Sammo Hung directed best.
Rise to power
Another main highlight is seeing Zhilong's rise to lowly recruit to general of mythical prowess. With his remarkable transformation, he faces new perspectives, foes, responsibilities and challenges.

Overall, it delivers entertainment well enough for first time viewers. Because of its flaws, the rewatch value of this movie stops it from making it 5 stars.

If you enjoyed this, please try
Forbidden Kingdom, Warlords, Odd Couple, Swordsman 2, Curse of the Golden Flower, Red Cliff 1, 2,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)