Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2014
These are essentially resource packs for teachers to show students but we bought them for our vintage themed wedding. They are brilliant, really really look the part - They will just give that little extra to the feel of the reception, couldn't be happier.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Really good information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Excellant pack so many interesting items in it. Fantastic delivery very quick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 December 2012
This Victorian Household - replica memorabilia pack
is similar to those other packs of historical ephemera
from the Resources for Teaching set of products, but
these items tend to be centred on the moneyed classes
within the Victorian era, rather than give any ideas
or insights into the lives of ordinary working people.

We have a facsimile of the first edition of the Exchange
and Mart for 1868 price one penny. With servants wanted
adverts, and ads for a Landau or Brougham carriage for
sale.
Included also are several replica advertising brochures
such as the one for Hampton & Sons of Pall Mall, who could
furnish your whole house with anything from a valve water
closet to the four poster bed for your fitted bed room.
There is also a licence from the Inland Revenue for
authorisation to employ and keep servants, use armorial
bearings, and to use your own horse and carriage,which
had to be renewed yearly. Just like today, the Victorians
had a tax for nearly everything!
The remainder of the pack is given over to advertising
materials for such things as Carbolic Tooth Soap which
probably tasted as bad as it sounds,and cures for all
kinds of ailments, the cures which would no doubt be
illegal now.
Like other packs in this series, there are a number of
cigarette card size adverts for Robin Starch, Peek,Frean
& Co biscuits,and one rather dubious one for Scrubbs Cloudy
Ammonia, refreshing as a turkish bath or for your hair?
The Victorians were suckers for an advert or two.

Whilst this pack is more, Upstairs Downstairs or Downton
Abbey than the ordinary man and woman in the street, it
does give an interesting look at Victorian life.
Some of the items are quite small as other reviewers have
stated, but they are worth a look. Those of us who had
relatives who were in service would gain more than just a
glimpse at a world now gone.
Children might enjoy these packs, but they are somewhat
fragile and might require laminating to give them a longer
life in tiny hands. I don't understand why they are listed
as a 'toy', when they are really primary source material
for period history, but either way, they are interesting
items.
Well worth a look see.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
A good collection of items to give an insight into Victorian life. Well worth the money and excellent if your child is doing a Victorian project.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Pure quality. Exactly what I expect from this company. I own over ten different memorabilia packs, four replica newspapers and a massive box of WWI memorabilia (not seen on their website or on Amazon, can only be bought from certain museums. I bought mine from Chislehurst Caves.)

This memorabilia pack is full of interesting items that you can spend hours reading.

But... (Yes, there's a but.)

It seems to me that this pack isn't as full as the other packs. It seems that this pack features less items than the other packs. That's not to say that there's hardly anything in it, you still get a lot of things but it just feels like the other packs usually feature more items than this one has...

It's still worth the money, mind you, but if you already own another memorabilia pack, you'll notice the difference instantly (or at least, I did).
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
I got a little bit surprised about the size of this product, the parcel was so small....but the size doesn't really matter. There is useful information about my favourite time period in it. I love the pretty advertisement pictures and I learned new things about the Victorian time. It's probably good material for teachers to get their students more interested in history. I recommend this package for people that like history and to learn it in a new way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I placed these on my Victorian Display within my classroom and the children enjoyed looking at the items. Some of the print is quite small but a good general resource
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Bought this for my daughters Victorian project that she is doing for school, she took them to school and her teacher was very impressed, thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Bought this for my 8 year old son who is doing the Victorians as his topic. We have shared the artefacts together over many evenings and he has taken it into school. We particularly enjoyed reading the Exchange and Mart newspaper and the adverts for man and wife servants. Very good investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)