Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.64+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2000
It is inexplicable to my mind why a vocal talent of this kind has been overlooked in recent decades, especially as Julie Covington was so popular in the Seventies.I only encountered her work by accident, some while ago, through a friend who is a fan. Thus, the re-release of Covington's recordings on CD has come as a great pleasure. When my homemade cassette tape of her LPs wore out I was disconsolate, but I went on singing the lyrics in my head! She is up there with Sandy Denny as an interpreter par excellence, whose clarity of enunciation and range of emotion is unique. She can evoke wistfulness, pathos and a kind of gutsy, ballsy energy unmatched by any artist I can think of. There are some gems on this compilation, many of which display Covington's talent at interpreting material by, in particular, denizens of the folk scene such as Richard Thompson and Sandy Denny. A personal favourite, for its sense of expectation and weekend round the corner optimism, is 'Bright Lights', a real 'Friday night' song...Again, her version of Sandy Denny's 'By the time it gets dark' is a poignant reminder of that artist's tragic death at 31. Nor, like Maddy Prior of Steeleye Span,does Covington fight shy of tacking Brecht-her version of 'Barbara's Song' is a gentler, more reflective performance than the former's 'Black Freighter', but has the same bitter, underlying edge. 'The Kick Inside', by Kate Bush, is made less stagey and more incisive. The track 'Only Women Bleed' is a sad but ironic comment on the female condition. This CD is marvellous for a whole set of reasons-anyone into Seventies nostalgia has much pleasure ahead of them-this is undoubtedly 'mood' music for an era. If you are an admirer of folk of this period, there is also a lot to enjoy. Similarly, there is mainstream 'cover' material such as Lennon's 'How' or Winwood's 'Let Me Make Something in Your Life'. This is a set which oozes the joy, regret and ambivalence of romance. You could fall in love to this CD-and with it, as well!
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
Julie will always be known as the original voice of Evita and the short haired belter in TV's Rock Follies. While these 1976/77 roles were impressive and successful, this 1978 solo album showcases her real gift - an amazing vocal talent. Crystal clear, strong yet tender, Julie's voice effortlessly carries off a range of material here including a sparkling version of Richard & Linda Thomson's 'I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight', a surprisingly warm, folky take on Kate Bush's 'The Kick Inside' and her typically dramatic hit single cover of Alice Cooper's 'Only Women Bleed'.

This album was one of her few endeavours at the time that didn't get the acclaim it deserved and so this CD release is a welcome, must have for anyone who loves good songs well sung & a great collection by an often overlooked performer from the 70's.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
At last this album from 1978 gets a re-release with 2 bonus tracks including the brilliant single "Only Women Bleed". Its all covers featuring the talents of Richard Thompson and Andy Fairweather-Low,Steve Winwood & John Cale on the tracks.
The cover of Kate Bush's "The Kick Inside" is mesmerising and John Lennon's " How" beautiful. A lovely listen from one of Britain's great female vocalists it demands your attention at the bargain price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I bought this a few months ago, and listened to it for the first time in over three decades! A friend had it when I was a student, and it was on this album that I first heard "Bright Lights" and "The Kick Inside". The especially remarkable thing is that how the artists supported their own songs by playing on it - Richard Thompson and Steve Winwood, as well as John Cale and a bunch of Fairport-type folkies. It's the road less travelled in modern Pop/Rock - an album of great songs by a great singer, rather than songs written by the artist - and a reminder of how it can work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I have liked Julie Covington since Rock Follies. She has a powerful voice that doesn't need a lot of electronics to make it sound good. This album I bought on vinyl 35 years ago. Sounded good then. Sounds good now
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
its been a long time since there has been n anything new flrom JC, it seems that she has withdrawn from the music scene cant help thinking that is a big loss of a super talented lady both as a singer and an actress
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
Julie Covington is the UK's Jennifer Warnes. That, coming from me is praise itself. This CD is full of wonderful gems from the lady I remember from being with Brian Cant etc on Play Away. (There was an BBC album issued in 75 which includes Julie singing a wonderful ditty called "Wiggle My Ears" written by another childhood hero - Derek Griffiths. The album was called "Hey You" btw)
What makes this album wonderful to the adults we all now consider outselves to be is the fact that it is so well sung, so beautifully mature. My own favourites happen to be "By The Time It Gets Dark" "Sip The Wine" and "Only Women Bleed" - the latter being a bonus track and a UK hit single - an Alice Cooper song, no less! - Actually I remember loving the song as a ten year old , not understanding the concept of the lyrics or performance . Of course I know about about "Argentina", "Rock Follies" etc - but please buy this and "The Beautiful Changes" as well - Julie sings Clive James lyrics - Yes, it is bloody wonderful!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
I bought this when it first came out but lost it years ago, A very good selection of songs from an underrated singer and it also has her version of Alice Cooper's classic Only Women Bleed-a good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2009
She was the first, the best and for me, the only Evita. This CD just helps prove what a beautiful voice this lady has!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I bought it for "Only woman bleed".I like the opening words. Man has his woman ect I had a dream finishing with somebody somebody gloomy slowly repeating them words to me and it made me cry. I think the rest I need to grow on me like some records do
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)