Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
44
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2015
Amazing depiction of true life personal events, the bravery of a family facing terminal illness, their mother (Julie Walters) suffering very similar disease that had already claimed their Father. Following the personal journey in decision making, her end of life wish to remain in control and with dignity intact. Based on true events. Lessons for all, thought provoking in considering cultural, spiritual, ethical and moral boundaries, which are individual for every human being. Brilliant performances, especially Julie Walters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2010
This film depicts how the entire family was affected by such a tragic health issue, how they all reacted and gives the viewer some "food for thought" in relation to what changes could be looked into with regard to current laws regarding euthanasia and assisted suicide.

Tissues would be stringly reccommended, Julie Walters is one of the countries best actresses and portrays "Ann Turner" (the main character) brilliantly.

I would rate this film as a must see.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
be warned....very sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
This is a thought provoking dvd and shows why greater consideration should be given to extending human rights in the UK to those that are available in Switzerland. The right to an assisted suicide should be available in the UK.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Loved the story , an evcellant DVD and delivered very quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
If you didn't see this back in January - you have to buy this DVD. A touching true story about a doctor (Julie Walters) who nurses her husband through his degenerative illness and some time later, following his death is herself diagnosed with PSP - also a degenerative illness.
She has symptoms which she initially keeps from her children, but they become worried by her mood swings and general health. She eventually tells her children that she has PSP and they are devastated by the news.
As the PSP gets worse she decides that she would rather end her own life than go through the same pain & suffering that her husband did and so she makes enquiries about a euthanasia clinic in Switzerland and then convenes a meeting with her children to tell them of her plans.

A heart wrenching true story. One of the best films I have seen in recent years.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
A very well presented movie given the subject matter. Julie Walters as always gives a stellar performance. It wasn't an easy movie for me to watch & certainly didn't leave me in the best frame of mind, but it was definitely thought provoking & I couldn't fault the choices she made. One can only hope that one is never confronted by this disease either from family & friends or indeed ourselves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
I watched this way back in Jan this year, and I loved it (as much as you can love a true life story such as this). Although the content of the programme is rather sad, I didn't find it sad or depressing at all. Cried my eyes out from 15 minutes in all the way to the end (and still get goose bumps now).
It shows the courageous story of one individual (and her family) and her struggle with a terminal illness.
After watching her husband deteriorate, suffer and die from an a terminal illness Dr. Anne Turner is diagnosed with PSP. We watch her battle her family and friends with the idea of wanting to take her life by euthanasia. The last scenes of this are short film are incredibly touching, and make you remember that the only things that matter in life is family!!

A story of love, courage, and family!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
I first saw this programme on TV and Julie Walters plays the part absolutely brilliant! It brings home as to why Euthanasia should be legal in this country. I have a terminal illness and I would follow this path too. Why make people suffer? If we were animals we would be put to sleep.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
I watched this with my daughter originally and now have watched several times to remind myself of the pain and the beauty of dying, why I became a nurse and to admire the courage that people have when facing the worst.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)