Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
30
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2013
As with the recording of "Some Girls", the threat of Richards serving a long jail term spurred the band to raise their game & record quality album.
A similar scenario happened with "Steel Wheels", Jagger & Richards had had an almighty falling out during the recording of the "Dirty Work" album, almost causing the split of the band, but instead they buried the hatchet & record a quintessential Stones record.
All the ingredients are hear that make a good Stones album, from the up
tempo rocker "Sad Sad Sad", to a bit of country on "Blinded by love", to
the nice Keith Richards Ballad "Slipping away", the simple RnB of "Break the Spell", to the Brian Jones influenced Moroccan styled "Continental Drift".
Now it's not all plain sailing of course, you have usual attempt at a contemporary styled song with "Can't you see" (Miss You has go a lot to answer for!) & "Rock & a hard place" which sees the Stones in funk/soul anthem mode, but ends up sounding a little flat.
So if you have exhausted the rest of the bands 1960's & 70's back catalogue, then this record is probably the best of the rest, which unfortunately is saying a fat lot, but is going to be strongest post "Some Girls" Rolling Stones album you're going to hear.
.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
After the tumultuous 80's, I wasn't expecting to enjoy their later releases, and bought Steel Wheels with some hesitation and reservations. However, after listening I can say I was wrong to doubt the Stones. Steel Wheels really delivers the sound that you've been waiting for,with song like the fun Sad Sad Sad and Mixed Emotions. I wouldn't think about skipping one song when listening! Learn from my mistakes, and don't miss out, this album truly is great and not one to miss out on! I'm sure the die-hard fans agree, but I want to encourage passers-by to give it a try!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
The Stones were in the doldrums for much of the 80s, which makes Steel Wheels all the more of a surprise.

From the opening bars of 'Sad, Sad, Sad', you get the feeling they have something to prove - there's a raw energy and real sense of a great band coming together as one, which had been missing for a while.

The songs rock, the groove locks, and it all hangs together beautifully.

I loved this album when it was released and feel exactly the same about it now. It's tight, varied, and for my money better than Some Girls or Tattoo You....which makes it their best since Exile.

'Almost Hear You Sigh' and 'Slipping Away' are two of their best ever ballads, and there's virtually no flab or filler on the album. Turn it up and enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 July 2007
Another typically underrated 80s Stones album. The singles, Rock And A Hard Place and Mixed Emotions are fantastic and the rest of the album sees the boys rocking with barely a ballad in sight. A return to raucous form! I must say this is one of my favourite Stones albums (and yes, I do have them all) as the songwriting is strong the whole way through. Many a Stones album is guilty of having a fair bit of filler but this one has two songs tops.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I had this on vinyl and somebody filched it, so I thought while I was on the trail of the other albums, why not get this one? Classic Stones, strong riffs and great input from Ronnie Wood - it's the Keef'n'Ron Show, boys and girls!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
So it ain't no Let it bleed, Sticky Fingers or Some Girls (in other words: no classic).

But it had a great flow from beginning to end, and it has great rock tracks like 'Rock and a hard place' and 'Mixed Emotions', as well as awesome ballads like 'Slipping away' and especially 'Almost hear you sigh'.

The production sounds a bit dated but the songs themselves stand the test of time.
Not much classic Stones, but still a lot of very good Stones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
whilst I am very much a fan of the mick taylor stuff from 69-74 I would recommend this one above most others since. Out of the 12 tracks on this release there are in my opinion 9 very good tracks, the other three are fillers!. worthy of particular mention are terrifying, blinded by love, cant be seen, almost hear you sigh and slipping away. if you have stayed away from the stones since the 70's why not give this a try
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
OK because it is better than Dirty Work. Once described as 'The Stones by numbers' and that for me sums it up perfectly. It is innofensive, it is the Stones and obviously sounds like the Stones but nothing here particularly grabs you. I have reviewed Its Only Rock and Roll in a similar vein but that album is in another league compared to Steel Wheels. It just doesnt pull it off. I might play this every few years but it is a bit of a let down. And the cover is just rubbish, worst Stones cover, even worse than Dirty Work.
song 'cant be seen with you' is worth a listen, and thats a keith song and keith vocal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
I like this CD. It was a key milestone in the recovery of the rolling stones from a real dip in the early 80s. I first bought it on tape and wanted to replace it with a CD. Good listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
I feel this album once again proves the stones are the best, it shows off there rock roots that will remain forever and never be forgotten. Tracks like mixed emotions and sad sad sad just state the hardcore the stones have and then tracks like blinded by love and almost hear you sigh state the sensitive side and soft side they also maintain, and cant be seen is a good track but the best keef song on the album and possibly ever made is slipping away. So this is a MUST have stones album for anytrue fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.98
£7.99
£7.99
£9.96
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)