Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 23 September 2017
This is not the 2009 Remaster, I purchased this and have kept it, but have to go elsewhere for the copy I wanted, i.e. 2009 remaster.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2017
best of the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2016
I originally bought 'Dirty Work' on vinyl, after hearing the hit 'Harlem Shuffle' in March 1986, a 'Bob & Earl' cover from 1969.

This 2009 remastered CD has 3 songs highlighted on a sticker; the above single plus 'One Hit (To The Body)' and 'Winning Ugly'. Regarding the latter song, it was the first time I had heard the term (in 1986).

I know some fans have been critical of the 2009 remasters, and so have I, on 'Some Girls' for instance, but on this CD, the album sounds better than the original vinyl LP. I used to think of the rock 'n' roll song 'Had It With You' as just a throwaway, but here it sounds like one of the best tracks! The 2 titles which Keith sings also come to life here, the reggae song 'Too Rude' (not by Jagger/Richards) and the closing ballad 'Sleep Tonight', the longest song at 5:10.

Some reviewers don't like the song 'Hold Back', but I do, it rocks ! It also contains a thought-provoking message, that if you 'hold back', you are 'messing with your life'.

The shouty rock song (got to get into a) 'Fight' seems to have a dubious theme, unless it is just 'tongue-in-cheek'. The rocker 'Dirty Work' is decent enough, but has a rather messy, ill-conceived ending, or 'spontaneous' if you prefer. The funky song 'Back To Zero' (that's where we're heading) also sounds better on this CD, without being one of the stand-out cuts.

This Steve Lillywhite/ Jagger & Richards production is better than some would have you believe. It may not be 'classic Stones' to the purists, but it is still worth buying. Bill Wyman's bass-playing contributions may sometimes go unnoticed, but here, as on other 80's albums like 'Emotional Rescue' it is very good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
Very good vinyl william Niue
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2017
Brilliant, excellent production and the vocals really shine through here. the album has a edginess which is not often found and you can really hear it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 June 2016
Very enjoyable album, still showcasing that rough sound. One Hit (To The Body) is a strong opening track, then Fight, the excellent Winning Ugly; Harlem Shuffle made the best impression on the charts, but only because it has a catchier rhythm, perhaps. The whole set is exciting, and shows they had lost none of their edge in 1986, even if the songs didn't become classics like their earlier stuff. Richards sings two tracks: Too Rude, and the laid-back Sleep Tonight at the end, the album's longest and most unfazed. Great design too ... includes an underground comic in the insert.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2008
Crisis point for the Stones with Jagger and Richards at each others throats and Charlie in the poppy fields. My overriding impression of this album is of aggression and sparse arranging but a lack of magic or real class. "One Hit" is a fine rocker and up there with the best. "Fight" is shouty and tuneless, "Harlem Shuffle" is a rare moment of harmony and is a wonderful cover. "Hold Back" is another aggressive, shouty, track with too little light and shade. Ditto "Winning Ugly". "Too Rude" is a shambolic Keith cover. "Back To Zero" has some class (basically a Chuck Leavell track) but is a bit thin; needs more soul. "Dirty Work" is in the same vein as the other shouty tracks, although it has some attractions. "Had It With You" gets it right - it is bristling with aggression but is stripped back and entirely focussed. Finally, "Sleep Tonight" is a very fine Keith ballad. I actually quite liked the album when it first came out and still quite like it, but no more than that.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2011
I became a Rolling Stones at the age of 15 while listening to this album. This tells a lot more about 80s charts, but the majority of these songs are highly energetic and they rock. I played it over and over again, without ever getting bored. An older relative, a 60s Stones fan, listened to the album he was hugely dissappointed. Understandable.

Still, this album is part of the Stones collection and some of the songs still come off as decent. One Hit (to the body) is boosted by Keith's cutting riffs. Fight is more adrenaline than music and it probably reflects the atmosphere during the studio recordings.

Too Rude is a good reggae song. It's the bass line that drives it. Harlem shuffle is most typically eighties and it swings along. Had it with you is the old rythm and blues thing, something the Stones are just good at. Ian Stewart's Boogie Woogie piece, a hidden track puts this album in historical perspective.

With the loss of 'Stu' and the tension between the prima donna's the band seemed to have fallen flat on its face. The fact that they came up with a few decent songs is actually a miracle. The other songs can be skipped (Back to Zero, Winning Ugly) Too much of the same. The title song migth put you off as well, but I simply love the pace and energy and the lyrics are timeless.

The real gem on this album is "Sleep Tonight" with Tom Waits doing backing vocals. Not that I recognised him while listening, but it's just a nice-to-know. Typical Keith ballad. Just love it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Undercover
£5.99
Tattoo You
£12.06
Emotional Rescue
£6.64
A Bigger Bang
£4.70

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)