Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
79
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2010
This puzzle is really nice quality but comes in a wooden frame wrapped in cellophane and so once it is opened, it doesn't always stay as together as I would wish for. I prefer puzzles to come in boxes so they can be stored on the shelf or in a box on their side without losing the pieces.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Unlike the stiff cardboard jigsaws that I have bought and reviewed from the Melissa & Doug range
This is made of plywood. The jigsaw sits in its own frame also plywood
The frame started to fall apart almost as soon as it was out of the packaging, not splitting in half but the side edges flaking of leaving ragged edges and bits on the floor.

The jigsaw pieces then also started to deteriorate around the edges with bits flaking off or splitting off as it was played with. It was not abused as such, this is a kids jigsaw and it should be up to the job of kids trying to fit bits together that do not go, then removing those bits to try again. Plywood is not a good product to use in those situations where the ply is only a few millimetres thick.

Shame
My kids love this jigsaw
1 its pirates
2 its in its own frame (so they can carry it to you, to show you its finished)

Its just not made from the right material for kids.

Lastly the printed image of the pirate ship is rather good, with lots of bright colours
and a large skull and cross bones (Jolly Rodger) main sail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
can't tell you in words just how great this jigsaw is. my 3 1/2 year old son is obsessed, first thing he does everyday (and we have had it over a month). tough durable pieces, great quality toy. would make a very popular birthday present for a 3/4/5 year old boy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Lovely, interesting picture BUT four gripes regarding this puzzle. First, there is no box which makes the puzzle difficult to store without the possibility of losing some of the pieces. Second, the puzzle is constructed within a wooden tray which, although seems easier, I think makes construction more difficult if pieces are not buffeted up close together. Third, the chunky wooden pieces have slightly rough edges which means they need to be joined together with careful precision. Fourth, there is only a small picture of the puzzle on the underside of the tray which means you cannot look at it while constructing the puzzle in tray. (We could construct puzzle without using tray but then we would need to transfer puzzle back into tray to store it.) So, although the picture is good, the family prefer more conventional puzzles. I won't be buying any more of this style from this manufacturer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
There is no picture of what the finished jigsaw should look like to guide the child when completing this puzzle. The only (very small) picture is on the revewrse of the board, which will be completely out of sight when the child is putting the jigsaw together in the tray. Completely diminishes the other strengths of this jigsaw.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Well made jigsaw. My son (almost 4yrs old) loves this jigsaw. After we made it together a couple of times, he can now do it himself. In fact he's done it so many times that he now completes it in record time! And he still goes back to it although we also have other jigsaws now. It doesn't come with a box but the wooden board it is on has a lip so the pieces don't fall out if stored correctly. All in all a great product.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Bought for our puzzle crazy two year old. We have 24 piece wooden puzzles (from other makers) but she has learnt how to do these so we thought we'd try a new (bigger) challenge. This is hard even for older children as there is no picture other than on the back of the tray you want to do it in. The pieces are also very stiff meaning that we have had to glue the picture back on to several pieces. We have also noticed many potential splinters. There are better made and thought out puzzles out there. Would not buy others in this range.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
48 pieces is still a challenge for my little 3 year old but it is a lovely, good quality jigsaw with a nice picture. If I had to be critical I would say it would be nice if it had a lid or a box for the pieces as you have to put it together on the tray to put it away and there is always the risk if it falling but it is quite sturdy so tends to stay together well. Also, there is no picture to refer to easily- as it is on the revers of the board. Having said all this I would definitely buy again as the quality and image is lovely, so much better than many other jigsaws in the shops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
this jigsaw is lovely! its so well made and a bit of a one off on design. its bright in colour, well made, wooden- which is always a bit of a classic, and a great price.my wee boy loves it and i do too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
My 2 year old "pirate" grandson loves this zigsaw and will repeatedly play with it. Lovely bright colours and lots of interesting things to discuss with him. Keeps him amused for at least 30 minutes by himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here