Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Excellent story with good actors
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
I Found this movie rather unsatisfying. The role of the doctor, (John Thaw) and his wife (Sorcha Cusack) and the mistress, (Frances Barber) were all extremely well played and but were rather two-dimensional as people, and the in the end, the mess made and the lives of all three negatively affected was the way such stories go. So why was it so "been there, done that?" Even the sub-plot, the dropped-out son and the street couple didn't have much credibility.

Perhaps they were so married to their respective roles that the humanity was compromised. Doctor, psychiatrist, housewife were defining roles, and at the end, we have a fallen-from-grace doctor, an sacrificial-lamb psychiatrist and injured housewife, but all the ins and outs of the story don't seem to have changed them much. This film runs more on symbolism than personal growth, and as such it lacked warmth and humanity. But it was a good story of a particular type, well told and superbly acted.
33 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
I was looking forward to seeing John Thaw in this series, a series I have not seen on TV.

But after the first two episodes I did not find the characters at all engaging, I could not get interested in them at all.

Later in the episode, when his son dies, I found the following scenes lacking authenticity. It was as if he had lost a pet dog or a cat - not his son. He did not seem to grieve at all after the first impact.

The various sub-plots were rather laboured and predictable - dialogue not too good either.

A very mediocre series.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
We tend to buy most if not all of John Thaw's DVDs. We are great fans of his, and this is on a par with all the other DVDs of his that we have watched. Excellent.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
john thaw,excellent actor,nice to see him in a different role ,than one used to seeing him in. good story
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
I never saw this series on TV, but I do rate John Thaw as one of the best actors, this country has produced. First class performance, well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
I love anything John Thaw and Sacha Corsack are involved in. Quality cast and well dramatised. Thoroughly enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
Enjoyed this series, a bit of everything in it, family life, affairs,all good acting. A very good drama
33 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
a well put together family drama, good cast , John thaw holding the theme and pace ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)