Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
33
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£91.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2017
Great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
This is not the score to Tubular bells, simply a 4 page piano transcript of the Exorcist theme tune, a very small part of Tubular Bells.
So if something sounds to good to be true...ie the score for @2.64, then it is. What a waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Having recently bought a high-end turntable, my chief interest in buying this set - albeit at a much reduced price - was the 180g vinyl pressing therein, my own Virgin original having long since seen better days. I am sorry to report that the quality of the vinyl pressing is sadly substandard, and quite at odds with the high production values elsewhere in this set. In short, if the package appeals on its obvious aesthetic terms, buy it. If the new mix is the big attraction, go no further than the (still impressively packaged) 2CD special edition. But don't hold your breath for sonic splendours from the vinyl copy included here, which neither looks nor sounds a patch on its Virgin predecessor.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
I managed to score a new sealed set of this in Hong Kong of all places when I was there for a day trip for about £35.
As a collectors set this box is faultless. There is every conceivable recording from the original Tubular Bells sessions such as the original rough demo recorded in 1971 to the 2009 Re-mix in 5.1 DVD.
The demo's are quite rough but do show Mike Oldfield was way ahead of his time and had the album well on the way already in the demo.
The 5.1 mix is fantastic and looks visually great as well with beautiful animation in the background. A well done DVD.
The CDs included also have the original mix which doesn't give much value to me as I already have this. The vinyl also included is also a waste for me not having a turntable anymore.
However the booklet and images are very good and add some value and enjoyment to this box set.
Nothing can be perfect but this sure beats the clumsy Immersion set of Pink Floyd Wish You Were Here that disgusted me and eventually was returned.
This is the go to set if you want all the music recorded by Mike Oldfield in 1971 to 1973 for Tubular Bells.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2011
I am going to keep this review very short. You know the lp/cd but wait until you hear the 2009 5.1 mix. This box is released by Mercury/Universal and not Virgin. The vinyl is housed in one sleeve of the newly designed gatefold cover. However, the original sleeve is still kept but now with a black inner gatefold. The vinyl dust jacket (inner sleeve) is plain white The cd/dvds are housed in the sealed other side of the gatefold. The book is rather good. Hardback and well bound with nice sized pictures... BUT a more accurate and longer story of the making is to be read in "THE MAKING OF MIKE OLDFIELD'S TUBULAR BELLS by RICHARD NEWMAN" see this link The Making of Mike Oldfield's "Tubular Bells". Both books share a lot of the same photos but the reading is so much more in depth in Newman smaller sized book.
Sorry I can't make a comment about the sound of the record as I will never play the vinyl.
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
Make no mistake this product will cost you alot of money BUT if you regard Tubular Bells as a work of art and you are a collector of musical box sets (as I am) you might find it worth it?

First things first....the packaging:

As it something of an oddly shaped monstrosity it is almost impossible for it not to be damaged when it arrives if you order it by post as mine was albeit very slightly. When it arrives you will find it comes in the form of a slimline encyclopedia more suited to a spacious book case rather than a slimline CD rack.

Secondly what's in the packaging.

Well you'd expect "bells and whistles" wouldn't you particularly as it does say ultimate on the tin. What you really get is something between worthwhile and superfluous. For instance unless you still use a record player and some of us do I imagine what's the point of having a vinyl version of TB in an essentially CD package? The book looks pretty good and is bound very handsomely. Some of the pictures, mostly all black and white, are good and the reviews of TB all seem to be from well reputed music journos (even including some positive comments from the dearly departed John Peel). There are other bits of fluff such as a postcard, a colour leaflet of the recording studion, plectrums with the TB logo on them, a very good reproduction of a concert ticket, a poster and a rather pointless facsimile of a 24 track recording desk.

Finally what about the music?

Well as we know it's all rather good..demos, the plummy Viv Stanshall being lost for words, re-recordings, the whole things been remastered and there's a DVD showing apparently rare footage of a concert I have already on another DVD (and in better quality too).

It is rather a marvellous artifact to put on your coffee table & marvel at. If you like that sort of thing...and i do...!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Like some of the others reviewers here, I wondered if there was any value in this set, yet another re-mix or version of this admittedly classic album, to go with the 25th anniversary edition, the SACD version, the newly recorded 2003 version, the re-mastered 2000 edition, the list goes on. But I took a punt on this set and I am Damn glad I did.

Firstly the box is simply gorgeous, I paused to look at it for a few moments, before opening it up, I pulled out what I thought was just the vinyl gatefold sleeve, it turns out it holds that in one side and the three cd's and the DVD on the other side.

Not having a record deck anymore, the vinyl will stay where it is, I tried the 5.1 DVD first, and it sounds amazing, better than the SACD version, for those asking, it is a Dolby Digital 5.1 mix, all four tracks have been given the surround treatment, also on the disc is the live BBC performance from 1973, this can also be found on the Mike Oldfield Elements DVD, but seems to my eyes to be better quality here.

Disc one contains the new 2009 stereo mixes, disc 2 is the original untouched 1973 Stereo mix, and disc 3 has the demos that were included on the DVD audio of Tubular bells 2003, plus a rough mix of part one, and two demos of Peace, and a long demo of part one, none of which I have heard before.

Also included are four plectrums, a replica ticket of the 1973 live performance, a postcard, a reproduced leaflet for the manor studio, a songsheet, and a giant poster of the album cover.

Best of all as far as I am concerned is the huge hard back book that takes up the rest of the sleeve, it is the glossiest, most expensive feeling and heavy book of it's kind I have seen, and contains the whole tubular bells story, most of it has been heard before and I have seen many of the pictures before, but it is presented so beautifully, I really did not want to handle it too much.

Is it worth £65 ? certainly not to a casual fan, but for those with a deep love of this album it is well worth considering, it is surely as it says, the ultimate edition.
66 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
The original 1973 mix had little mistakes that were fixed in 2003 but this 2009 mixes are much better, so in this box you get the best mixes of tubular bells and also the original mixes !!!!!.

But that is just the beginning, you also get bonus tracks, demos, nice memorabilia, a nice book, a vinyl, and 5.1 mixes... this realy is the ultimate Tubular Bells
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
The latest version of the Tubular Bell is presented in the most elaborate packaging yet. The Book and other paraphanalia are contained within a large very sturdy cardboard sleeve that makes you glad that Amazon gives you free postage! The CDs contain the original album in its 1970's form, a remix that takes advatage of 21st century technology and a CD of demos. You also get a few rare tracks such as the single that came out at the same time as the original album. There is also a heavyweight vinyl of the new mix for those of us who have turntables. All of the music on these discs is very familiar to any Mike Oldfield fan and a worthy great sounding addition to any collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
Truth runs like stereo across this ultimate edtion of TBells. Weirdly the pressing that came with this boxset was on a cloudy clear vinyl and in MONO!!!??? I've never known it to be anything other than STEREO!
Must be an error on the pressing plant somehow!
I'm going to keep it all the same as it features some talking on side two about 4 minutes in that I've never heard before saying something about hitting gongs and other odd stuff......anyone at Virgin know what's happened here?
Otherthan that, this is a beautiful item and well worth getting especially for the hardback book and scented box (hippies!).
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)