Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2017
Every JavaScript developer with a pre-existing working knowledge of JavaScript should read this book. JavaScript is a powerful and varied language, but it was developed in a hurry and there’s plenty wrong with it. This book outlines the good bits of the language and highlights the bad bits and the bits you should just avoid. There’s also a fair amount about the author’s JSLint project in the appendices.

This book was written in 2008 and probably needs updating. It’s hard going in places and the diagrams did little to nothing to help my understanding. I’ve come away still wondering about new and constructors, but I know I just need to review them again when I need them and it’ll get clearer. I’m still not sure which function declaration syntax is best, but I’m not sure it matters too much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Great book, giving core knowledge about JavaScript language.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
javascript good and bad.

teach you hoe to make use of good parts and deal with bad ones to take out the most of javascript language
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 December 2013
If you were or you are working with jQuery and JavaScript you will eventually learn about Douglas Crockford and his book "JavaScript: The Good Parts".

As one of the driving forces behind JavaScript, with this book he really gave a good explanation of JavaScript's components, although readers must be warned that the various sections should be read more than once to be able to apply and understand the concepts explained before getting some of the more advanced ideas.

The main reason I read this book was need to help me understand building better object oriented JavaScript and more organized AJAX applications. Book is explaining various object patterns which can be used for applications building, from the Object Literal to various functional patterns, Regular Expressions, Arrays and much more.

The author was also able to cover a lot of key concepts that a JavaScript developer needs to understand to be successful, e.g. how equality is actually determined in JavaScript.

For JavaScript developer section "The Good and the Bad Parts of JavaScript" should be also very helpful to be able to truly understand how JavaScript works.

The only book drawback could be that it's not intended for absolute beginners, although it's well written and accessible.

If you are JavaScript web developer or just an enthusiast who is really enjoying jQuery or if you want to know some more intimate details about JavaScript, this book will be of great help. It contains lot of useful tips even for advanced programmers and also can be used as "lighter" reference book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
In this small and dense book you will find JavaScript guru Douglas Crockford's presentation of the beautiful subset of a language that lies within JavaScript as a whole. You can use this subset to write serious programs. Occasionally you might have to use some of what Crockford calls "the bad parts", but at least you'll know the dangers, and how to mitigate them.

Perhaps more importantly, Crockford is very, very aware of how JavaScript differs from classical OO languages, and how these differences can and do trip up classically trained programmers, coming from (say) C++, C# or Java backgrounds. Crockford goes out of his way to point out the differences and the new way of thinking that is required for JavaScript.

This book is not necessarily going to be an easy read, even for professionals. Crockford says so himself in the preface. It's dense and terse. By necessity it introduces terms that might be confusing at first, and which are only explained later. You have to read the whole book, patiently waiting for certain concepts to be explained, and for things to fall into place. On a re-read it all begins to make real sense. I do recommend that this book is read at least twice, preferrably three times. At least it's short!

There is not much to do with the web in this book. There's no DOM manipulation examples, and no Ajax calls. You will find no discussion of modern JavaScript libraries. Crockford just focusses on his area of expertise: the JavaScript language. He highlights and promotes the good parts, and in appendices talks about the "Awful" and merely "Bad" parts.

This is an important book. Crockford writes with the authority, seriousness and simplicity of K&R. To be a modern web developer you really need to know what you're doing with respect to JavaScript. Look to other books to discuss JavaScript libraries, the DOM, animation effects and Ajax. Look to this book for the starting point to all that: the JavaScript language itself, weird and wonderful, familiar yet strange, bad parts and (fortunately) good parts.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
When I first heard the title, my immediate response was "Must be a very small book!"

And it is, but it's jam-packed with Good Stuff.

If you're somebody who's picked up JS as you went along and learned to hate it as you went, this is the book that will show you a beautiful, powerful, and remarkably flexible language with no shortcomings that can't be worked around.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
This is going to sound silly, but you need to know Javascript before attempting to read this book.

If you are coming from a type-safe OO language such as C#, you'll get frustrated pretty quickly!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Most programmers wouldn't believe Javascript has good parts! but Douglas Crockford does a great job highlighting them!
I bought this book and 2 others "Javascript the definitive guide" & "Javascript Patterns", as far as I am concerned these books are essential reading for any programmer!

These 3 books hold, the dubious honour, of being the only 3 programming books I have actually read cover to cover.
This book, is great, as I initally skim read this book over a lazy saturday afternoon, while drinking beer while sitting in sun lounger. Not something I often associate with tech books! I also watched some of the Douglas Crockfords videos on YouTube, which are great addendums, and a must.

I have re-read this book several times since, as I my journey into Javascript has progressed. The trilogy of javascript books has not left my Desktop, and I find myself refering to them time and again!

Douglas Crockfords style and approach to this book is just right! Easy to follow, and for a tech book a real page turner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
I highly, highly recommend this book. It was recommended to be by a friend after a code review of some JavaScript I had written and I found this book to be chock-full of immediately useful ideas and practices. Occasionally, I did find the author's recommendations to be a bit parochial, such as his assertion that you should always curly brackets (I know, I know, here we go again :) but they never obfuscated his intention: how to write better JavaScript.

With JavaScript enjoying a renaissance of sorts in these days, this book is more relevant than ever. JavaScript gives you so much rope to hang yourself by, you owe it to yourself to read this book and learn how you can cheat the hangman.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
I purchased this book due to the glowing reviews and how much it is revered by those in the JavaScript community.

While the author clearly has am in depth understanding of the language, the tone of this book is derogatory to say the least. Crockford spends almost the entire book encouraging the reader to ignore most of the language features and simply focus on a subset that he calls "the good parts".

This is no way to learn a programming language.

While this may be suitable for experienced developers that are interested in ĺooking at the how and why some parts of the language are good or bad, this is not suitable for beginners looking to learn. In fact, quite the opposite. If you do not know about a particular part of the language, this opinion piece encourages you to completely ignore it, rather than looking at the costs and benefits and making your own decision.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)