Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • 76:14
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2000
From the lovingly smooth sweeping pads of '4.02' to the long drawn out crystalline vocals of '12.18', '76.14' is an album that should be experienced as a whole.
If you are looking for a musical experience that will relax the body and put the mind at peace then whether you have the volume down and sleep or alternatively turn it up and lose yourself then this musical gala may be just what you have been looking for.
For anyone remotely interested in 'ambient' music '76.14' should certainly find a home on their shelf.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2003
This is it. Thé best ambient album ever. I worked in a cd-shop for several years and sometimes you got people asking about ambient music. I had one move to make. Just pick out this cd and put it in a little bag with the message : listen to this after a hectic day or when you just want to relax and take little time of in space or some place where everything seems quiet and floating into perfection. I added the words : if U do not like it, we'll refund U. Well... everybody was back with compliments and with the question if we sold another cd of that kind of music. We had some things that came close but this was and still is truly the best ambient cd EVER !!! Eat your heart out Klaus Schülze and Tangerine Dream (great music as well !!)
To me it's simple... if I want to relax I put this on. And it's certainly not some mellow s**t... No, this is deep !! One of my favourites of all time. This is simply more than music, it's an experience.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There's no words that can do justice to this record, you just have to hear it. Every time I listen to it I am simply transported to a different realm. Individual tracks stand out on their own, such as the famed second track (featuring a ticking grandfather clock), but listen through the whole record and you're off on a journey through your mind.
As far as ambient goes, this is the best record I have heard, and I'm not holding my breath for a better one to come along.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2003
This is a fantastic album from the era when ambient was at its peak, rank this alongside works like The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld, KLF's Chill Out. Those who know of Tom Middleton will probably know of his work as Cosmos (spacey lovely house), Jedi Knights (nu-school breaks which inspired the likes of Adam Freeland) and his Sound Of The Cosmos mix (which is a blinding exercise in breaks, house and downtempo spread over 3CDs) ... or perhaps the even later Global Communications tracks The Way / The Deep which explored funky cosmic house. This, however, is as far detatched from the housey Middleton as possible. 76:15 follows the 'swirling ambience' template, beatless, seamless and atmospheric ... taking you on a journey from one end of the CD to the other. Take 9:39 for example, full of deep space cosmic bleeps, a hypnotic 'warrooooooom!' bass pulse, and eerie choral synths. Definately swirling ambience. There are some astoundingly beautiful moments on here too. 14:31 is plain gorgeous, a slowly ticking clock keeps the beat of the track while lush orchestral synths create a gorgeous uplifting mood. Its not all totally beatless, 9:25 has a gentle break that helps the track move along. Think Orb's Supanova At The End Of The Universe and you're pretty much there. 7:39 features almost Plaid-y Warp style synths, while 8:07 and 5:23 work hypnotic keys over deep pulsing Sasha style bassline stabs. 12:18 finishes off the album with more dramatic orchestral synth action like in 14:31 ... a top closer.
As you can tell, the entire album is named after the sum of its track times, with each track named after how long it is. Apparently to stop the listener having preconceptions about how the music sounds before they listen to it. A nice idea, this is an album you make your own concept for, your own story ... as opposed to The Orb's journey from Earth to the Ultraworld.
Thanks to the scattering of perkier tracks, the fades between tracks with ocean waves crashing, strange chattering voices, and the sheer lushness and quality of production, the album never gets boring, its a corker. If you're into your electronica, be it a Warp head, Orb fan, Orbial ... whatever, this is one to check! With Middleton being a bit of a funky house and breaks master recently, you could pass this by ... overlook it as 'unworthy'. Don't! Its probably one of the best chill albums you can buy.
If you want things with a bit more bump to them, or in fact something less spacial. Try heading to Middleton's later albums like the Jedi Knights Nu-School Science or the aforemention epic 3CD mix The Sound Of The Cosmos. Both quality.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2000
Possibly the warmest wombiest ambient album I've heard. The album as a whole is a classic - one of those records like Screamadelica where the sounds don't date, and like Screamadelica it's hard to listen to any one track - you have to go the whole journey. That said, it contains one overarching masterpiece in Obsilon-Menos aka The Tick-Tock song. 20 minutes (counting intro) of swooned-out bliss, like being stuck in Spiritualized's air conditioning system or swimming off Heaven's Bahamas. One friend of mine described it as "like watching giant catapillars tromp towards the horizon" but you don't want to listen to her - she's talking rubbish. It's got to be said though that the track invites sublime/ridiculous grandiloquous (no, i can't spell) dribbling comparisons - you gotta hear it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2000
Without getting too hung up on genres (you could happily call "76.14" `ambient',`electronica' or `chill-out') suffice to say this record is the best British album of its kind ever made. Prior knowledge of Messrs Middleton and Pritchard's `other' recordings (as Reload or Jedi Knights amongst many others) is un-neccessary. Simply put the record on and marvel at the imagination is reveals. No title or track titles are necessary. There's a thematic continuity to it that simply transports the listener. It's one of those `perfect' albums that once heard become impossible to imagine having been done in any other way. The nearest comparison I can ever draw is to something like Pink Floyd's "Dark Side Of The Moon". Not a `whale song' or waves-lapping-on-a-beach in site! Pure Genius.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2002
Another landmark in the Ambient era of 1993.This album simply is stunning.Nocturnal listening of the highest order with angelic soothing pads,ticking clocks,mutterings of different languages etc. The album opens like Close encounters' Opening credits,eerie,dissonant chords,heralding one of many nameless tracks(all tracks titled by their running times...GENIUS)Allowing the listener to make his/her own envisions of a truly better place 'No Matter where you are!'...A truly beautiful Aural painting..PRICELESS!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2002
One of the most perfect ambient albums. Some tracks do have beats but most songs are carried along by the melody or bassline.
Probably the best 'warm' ambient album, if you get my meaning, as opposed to the 'icy' ambient of Biosphere's 'Substrata'.
You really have to have this album in your collection, ambient fan or not. It's one of those all time classics, a trend-setting milestone. Check out the 'Tick-Tock' song, you get what I mean!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
Anyone with a remote interest in the electronic side of ambient music should own this remarkable piece of music. Now nearly 10 years old, the timeless quality of music on offer ensures that it hasn't aged a bit. As other reviewers have commented, the tracks don't have a title other than their duration, expressed in minutes and seconds. Being slightly sad, however, I have my own names for all the tracks, and the standout for me is track 2, which I call "Atomic Clock". The album is best listened to as a single piece, where it becomes (to use a cliche) a real journey. This album, along with "Amber" by Autechre and "Chillout" by KLF, forms the holy trinity of modern ambient music. Buy it and float.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2000
I first heard of Global back in '93 when the 'Obselon Mi-Nos' track was included in a Trance/Ambient collection called Narcosis (Guerilla Records), I told a friend of mine who worked at Our Price....later that year Dedicated Records released 76'14"....and luckily my friend remembered it and ordered it for me!! Needless to say I was very thankful!! It is a superb album that I have played to many people, who all like different types of music, and ALL of them loved it. From the awesome 15 minute journey through Obselon MiNos (14'31"), to the 'climax' (such as it is) of 8'07">5'23" which is (just a bit!!) similar to 'Love On A Real Train' by Tangerine Dream (a superb track in itself!), Global have taken it, done the impossible and made it better, adding to THE BEST album that I have EVER heard!! I really can say no more!! Just buy it, play it, relax, and enjoy..........
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)