Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

  • 76:14
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2017
WOW! This is an incredible album. The sound recording and mastering is superb, sounding awesome on a top end hi fi system. It is reminiscent of Oxygene in places but manages to sound warmer and less electronic. The ethereal quality of the sound is so relaxing and is perfect to listen to late at night after a busy/stressful day. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
Relaxing tunes lovely album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2003
This is a fantastic album from the era when ambient was at its peak, rank this alongside works like The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld, KLF's Chill Out. Those who know of Tom Middleton will probably know of his work as Cosmos (spacey lovely house), Jedi Knights (nu-school breaks which inspired the likes of Adam Freeland) and his Sound Of The Cosmos mix (which is a blinding exercise in breaks, house and downtempo spread over 3CDs) ... or perhaps the even later Global Communications tracks The Way / The Deep which explored funky cosmic house. This, however, is as far detatched from the housey Middleton as possible. 76:15 follows the 'swirling ambience' template, beatless, seamless and atmospheric ... taking you on a journey from one end of the CD to the other. Take 9:39 for example, full of deep space cosmic bleeps, a hypnotic 'warrooooooom!' bass pulse, and eerie choral synths. Definately swirling ambience. There are some astoundingly beautiful moments on here too. 14:31 is plain gorgeous, a slowly ticking clock keeps the beat of the track while lush orchestral synths create a gorgeous uplifting mood. Its not all totally beatless, 9:25 has a gentle break that helps the track move along. Think Orb's Supanova At The End Of The Universe and you're pretty much there. 7:39 features almost Plaid-y Warp style synths, while 8:07 and 5:23 work hypnotic keys over deep pulsing Sasha style bassline stabs. 12:18 finishes off the album with more dramatic orchestral synth action like in 14:31 ... a top closer.
As you can tell, the entire album is named after the sum of its track times, with each track named after how long it is. Apparently to stop the listener having preconceptions about how the music sounds before they listen to it. A nice idea, this is an album you make your own concept for, your own story ... as opposed to The Orb's journey from Earth to the Ultraworld.
Thanks to the scattering of perkier tracks, the fades between tracks with ocean waves crashing, strange chattering voices, and the sheer lushness and quality of production, the album never gets boring, its a corker. If you're into your electronica, be it a Warp head, Orb fan, Orbial ... whatever, this is one to check! With Middleton being a bit of a funky house and breaks master recently, you could pass this by ... overlook it as 'unworthy'. Don't! Its probably one of the best chill albums you can buy.
If you want things with a bit more bump to them, or in fact something less spacial. Try heading to Middleton's later albums like the Jedi Knights Nu-School Science or the aforemention epic 3CD mix The Sound Of The Cosmos. Both quality.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2002
One of the most perfect ambient albums. Some tracks do have beats but most songs are carried along by the melody or bassline.
Probably the best 'warm' ambient album, if you get my meaning, as opposed to the 'icy' ambient of Biosphere's 'Substrata'.
You really have to have this album in your collection, ambient fan or not. It's one of those all time classics, a trend-setting milestone. Check out the 'Tick-Tock' song, you get what I mean!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2002
Another landmark in the Ambient era of 1993.This album simply is stunning.Nocturnal listening of the highest order with angelic soothing pads,ticking clocks,mutterings of different languages etc. The album opens like Close encounters' Opening credits,eerie,dissonant chords,heralding one of many nameless tracks(all tracks titled by their running times...GENIUS)Allowing the listener to make his/her own envisions of a truly better place 'No Matter where you are!'...A truly beautiful Aural painting..PRICELESS!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2000
Without getting too hung up on genres (you could happily call "76.14" `ambient',`electronica' or `chill-out') suffice to say this record is the best British album of its kind ever made. Prior knowledge of Messrs Middleton and Pritchard's `other' recordings (as Reload or Jedi Knights amongst many others) is un-neccessary. Simply put the record on and marvel at the imagination is reveals. No title or track titles are necessary. There's a thematic continuity to it that simply transports the listener. It's one of those `perfect' albums that once heard become impossible to imagine having been done in any other way. The nearest comparison I can ever draw is to something like Pink Floyd's "Dark Side Of The Moon". Not a `whale song' or waves-lapping-on-a-beach in site! Pure Genius.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
We used to play 12:18 when my wife was pregnant, and now when we play it again for our daughter, she just chills right out. Its almost as if she remembers it from somewhere... the track is exactly what you hope the inside of a womb sounds like, so dreamy and peaceful. In my opinion, this is even better than Howie B's "Music For Babies" for babies, if you get what I mean :-)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2000
Possibly the warmest wombiest ambient album I've heard. The album as a whole is a classic - one of those records like Screamadelica where the sounds don't date, and like Screamadelica it's hard to listen to any one track - you have to go the whole journey. That said, it contains one overarching masterpiece in Obsilon-Menos aka The Tick-Tock song. 20 minutes (counting intro) of swooned-out bliss, like being stuck in Spiritualized's air conditioning system or swimming off Heaven's Bahamas. One friend of mine described it as "like watching giant catapillars tromp towards the horizon" but you don't want to listen to her - she's talking rubbish. It's got to be said though that the track invites sublime/ridiculous grandiloquous (no, i can't spell) dribbling comparisons - you gotta hear it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2003
This is it. Thé best ambient album ever. I worked in a cd-shop for several years and sometimes you got people asking about ambient music. I had one move to make. Just pick out this cd and put it in a little bag with the message : listen to this after a hectic day or when you just want to relax and take little time of in space or some place where everything seems quiet and floating into perfection. I added the words : if U do not like it, we'll refund U. Well... everybody was back with compliments and with the question if we sold another cd of that kind of music. We had some things that came close but this was and still is truly the best ambient cd EVER !!! Eat your heart out Klaus Schülze and Tangerine Dream (great music as well !!)
To me it's simple... if I want to relax I put this on. And it's certainly not some mellow s**t... No, this is deep !! One of my favourites of all time. This is simply more than music, it's an experience.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Not bad
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)