Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£19.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2009
I'm not one for writing reviews usually however I felt compelled to write one in this instance as I had read some negative reviews from the usual gaming sites giving this game a bit of an unfair slating. They generally concentrated on how the game was more of a sim than an arcade racer and therefore lacking in the fun factor. One even suggested it wasn't particularly fun as 'there's no music playing while your racing'...you know, cause in reality there's always music blurting out during a race??

Well, I can tell you having now played the game myself that it is a sim and a great one at that. It's a superb recreation of the World superbike championship and as a fan of the superbikes, exactly what I was after. If you want an arcade racer go and buy burnout paradise (also a great game but catering to a different audience). Too often racing games purporting to be sims turn out to be nothing of the sort as they try and give the game more appeal to the wider audience. This game doesn't do that. It is a sim through and through and great for anyone who actually wants an accurate recreation of the world superbike championship...no extreme modes to be found here. Obviously all the tracks and riders are there however so are the numerous set up options from last years game. You can also take part in the full race weekend from the first practice session all the way through to the races on the Sunday. It almost perfectly captures the atmosphere of a world superbike race weekend and I would highly recomend it to any petrol head after a realistic racer.

The only thing that would have been nice is the ability to create a rider and progress him through a career mode. Seeing as this already exists in the Motogp games it may well find itself into next years game #assuming there is one#. Another point to note for anyone who bought last years game, the graphics are a huge improvement this year and far more akin to Motogp 08. Great game and highly recomended to true racing fans.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
This game is much improved over 08.. it is like the latest MotoGP version and is very playable. The graphics are much improved and appear more real rather than the computer graphics look of 08. The bikes do feel different to MotoGP... and they sound great. I will be keeping this one! All we need now is a BSB version... heres hoping!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
well where do i begin well i have been a fan of the world sbk for many years and this game has done better than last years. the amount you can do you can either set up the bike your self or let you chief engineer to do it with pre set set ups which can get you good times if your not into all that mechanics stuff but also you can do just a weekend for one round of the season or you can do the championship which is all of the sbk rounds in the calender apart from the nurburgring which is good cause they have missed out 3 or 4 rounds of the calender in recent years, you can also train on tracks to get the best set ups or just to beat the track record and finally you can go through different scenarios like learning to powerslide wheelie and master all the tricks of the trade to help you become the next troy bayliss or in my case carl fogarty but anyway i highly recommend this game for fans and newcomers alike to this game
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
This is a good game for racing, cant mod bikes but for a race game worth a look. price is good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
a great game for bike lovers and good looking graphics a good family game all round
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
Very nice game, just got it and is like for like vs MotoGP, good handling/response, exciting (bikes do seem to go a bit slower than Moto GP but you would expect that). There are multiple setup options not yet explored, just fooled around a bit but very promising for sure.

It's gonna be one of those allnightlong sessions, if you know what I mean...I think you do - ENJOY

Burra72
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
I've played SBK 08,09 MotoGP 07,08 on the 360 and this is by far the best. Realistic handling. Good graphics. Vast improvements on SBK 08 where the bikes would always slide and it felt like the track was moving and not the bike. Really enjoyed it. Just a shame it doesn't have a massive fan base to make multiplayer more fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
Why didn't they improve the controls? Why the very same fatal mistakes as last year? I could easily copy & paste my SBK 08 review here, no difference whatsoever. A very polished simulator, this game has again so much potential under the hood, yet again - it's COMPLETELY RUINED by its controls. I honestly DON'T understand, and would in fact love to understand, just how do all the other reviewers, who gave it 4/5 stars, control this game. If it's enough for some people to just push down the accelerator and bounce around the track in arcade style, then be it, but that's not what this game aims to be I guess and I really expect a proper simulation experience here. However, it's UTTERLY IMPOSSIBLE to control this game with the gamepad, there are again no sensitivity settings for the steering and you'll notice very quickly just how impossible it is to master the steering. It gets somewhat better with the Microsoft wheel, but it feels so unnatural to use a wheel for a bike game. I wish somebody finally makes a bike-handlebars controller for the XBOX 360 (just like ThrustMaster did years ago), but maybe even that would be useless without having any sensitivity settings available inside the game itself. Don't need to comment any other aspects of the game - this game is unplayable using the available XBOX 360 controllers, and as such, it has zero value for me, I'm selling it right away. I'm giving it 2 stars just because of the potential it has, although it can not be utilized by any means. The game development is getting more & more absurd these days...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
I have to admit that I am a bit disappionted with this game. Not that it is particularly bad but that it is not the leap forward I was expecting. More like the same old bike with a wash and wax.

So we get the familiar choices of single race, race weekend and Championship. Also, an empty multiplayer and a rather tough challenge mode. I mean who is gonna do challenges at 20+ laps a time?

The bulk of the game is the championship. You get the the whole schebang. Umpteen free practices, qualifications, super poles until you get to the actual racing. So spend a day getting to a race or just jump to race one like me and miss out all the time wasting. You will always qualify last, believe me.

Graphically there is scant evidence of a bit of polish but it is hardly noticable. Sure, Losail now has a thousand floodlights but your chin ain't gonna drop at the sight. Sound effects seem to be dumbed down. In game music has been added and it is absolutely dreadful. Thankfully it can be turned off. Handling has been firmed up a bit and the bikes feel a bit weighty but it makes no fundemental difference. However, the racing is quite decent if not a tad boring at times.

So, the same old curry with a bit of coriander doesn't constitute an 'improved version'. Neither does this. Still a decent bike sim but not that different from last year. Lucky for me I upgraded on the cheap.

:-(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
i brought this game for my husband and he really loved it so does both of my sons it was a cheap game and great value for money i recomend this to every one who is buying xbox games for xmas presants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)