Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
155
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£8.99+ £2.03 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2016
great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
5⭐️
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Fun open world loot and shooter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
I'm an infrequent gamer who remembers this game release, but had never played it until now..
Purchased from amazon new & used for pennies..
I've only played the first half dozen or so missions, but so far I'm loving it.
The graphics are fab & grimy.. Gameplay is good, and smooth.
Tons of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
Gearbox have been touting this game as something of a new thing, a new genre and to some degree - I guess it is. I would however describe it more as a mesh of a lot of different genres rolled into one. There are of course a lot of ways to really mess this 'meshing' process up but I'm happy to report that - for the most part - Borderlands is a well polished and fun experience.

I'll quickly get the negatives out of the way -

- You more than likely will not care about the storyline as the main questline is fairly poor and lacking depth and side missions quickly become a way to get cool new weaponry and experience points rather than a deep, involving experience.

- Mission/Quest variety isn't fantastic but certainly not dire by any stretch. If you have played an MMO, you will know how things work immediately (go there, kill 10 of those, come back and get reward etc. etc.)

- The split-screen interface isn't scaled properly and you will have to aim around your screen to see the entire thing. An annoyance but certainly not a game-breaker.

- Some in-game achievements are bugged currently but nothing a quick patch won't fix.

and now with the positives -

+ Graphically this game is great. Some people won't 'get it' but it's very stylised. In the early gameplay videos it used to be another boring, brown, realistic-esque game but thankfully this new art direction is a real breath of fresh air.

+ Weapons: there have been all sorts of numbers posted around the internet... anywhere from 200,000 to 16,000,000. They aren't all drastically different. There are maybe 20 different weapon models but the point is, they all have different procedurally generated statistics (e.g. one pistol might fire really fast & have a large clip but have lower damage, whereas another might have a small clip but be more powerful & have a chance of doing fire damage). All the weapons are of different rarety and denoted by the colour of their name from white (common muck), to purple (rare) to orange (legendary).

+ Gunplay: Thankfully Gearbox have backed up the insane amount of weaponry with solid shooting mechanics. It's simply a lot fun to play and you won't get tired of finding new weaponry, comparing it with what you have and then killing more stuff. The combat is a lot of fun and CAN be surprisingly tactically diverse when in coop (although most of the time, you will simply opt to shoot something with the force of an angry god til it's motionless on the ground)

+ Coop (up to 4 players): Borderlands comes into its own when played with others and they've made it extremely accessible with the ability drop-in, drop-out as well as sharing experience, missions and money between everyone in the group. Be aware though that there is no roll system on dropped loot so if you're playing with strangers they could quite easily ninja all the good stuff and leave your game. Play with people you trust!

+ Character classes and skill trees: There are four classes in Borderlands and they've all been designed in a way that they can all survive in single player - in that they can all use ALL the weapons and as such if you choose to play single player as Mordecai (the sniper specialist) you won't find yourself in too much trouble if you have to fight close quarters as you can have a backup SMG/shotgun if you wish. Class diversity is instead created via skill trees, weapon specialisations and unique skills. Each character has a unique skill (i.e. Roland the soldier can deploy a turret and Mordecai, can use his pet bird to attack enemies). Skill trees are also present which allow you to customise your character everytime you level. You get one skill point to spend and as a pure example, you could put points into doing more damage with critical hits or adding the ability for your turret to shoot rockets and so on. With this customisation, its possible to compliment your teammates (should you have them) playstyles.

All in all, this is a great game both in single player and in coop but coop really is the way to go. I took one star off the review for the lack of depth to the storyline and meaning to side missions but it certainly won't affect the fun this game provides. There is a definite level of addictiveness to the game because you never know what you're going to find in the wastelands. Happy hunting!
55 Comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
This game is excellent! Simple. A mixture of COD, Mad Max and World of Warcraft, this mixture is fantastic. The gameplay is addictive, and you are constantly striving to complete one more quest. I haven't yet completed this game due to the release of some other slightly higher profile games and haven't tried the online co-op so I can't give it a five star rating but if the end of the game and the online are as good as I have experienced then I would happily give it the full rating.

The guns are great, with millions of different variations and mods. The replay value has apparently been an issue of discussion with fanatics wanting to carry on through and complete the game two or three more times so that they can get the best guns in the game. This alone should indicate the addictive value to the story and gameplay. Each class has a different set of tools to use to get through the game (my personal favourite is the soldier with the turret spell) meaning that you can take time trying out different characters to suit your gaming style!

The story is great, with plenty of witticisms from characters and NPC's such as the little robot that you befriend and the redneck buggy mechanic who seems to have an obsession with his mother! With plenty of jokes and a fun story, you really can't get bored following your adventurer from start to finish.

This game is perfect for any FPS or RPG fan as it combines both amazingly. Rent it, and if you really love it then buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Positives:

....

Negatives:

Weird, unconvincing graphics.
Slow, sluggish controls and clumsy motion.
Poor, linear gameplay and disengaged plot.
Lifeless soundtrack.
Bizarre and thoroughly uninteresting characters (the best thing about this game is the irritating robot Claptrap).
Limited exploration.
Boring and unimaginative environments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
UNREADABLE DISC WAITING ON REFUND SENT PICS HAPPY 2 MAKE A VID IF U WANT NOT HAPPY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
I'll start by saying if your not into first person shooters then stop reading. So where do I start, other than being an enjoyable over the top shooter its the choice that this game offers you that keeps you hooked. for starters the overall size of pandora is huge, you start to think that theres not much more but it just keeps giving. the amount of wepons at your disposal is mind blowing, I think spoilt for choice is the best way to put it, there are literally hundreds and hundreds of them ranging from pistols that fire electric rounds to bouncing betty grenades each one with its own pro's and con's ( there's nothing like shooting a bandit in the head from range with a shocking sniper rifle and see him suffer the effects! ). As with most games now the multiplayer aspect is top notch, with four player co-op via system link or live but its the fact that you can play two player split screen that makes the experiance even greater, the co-op is so good it rivals the mighty Halo, not a comment to be sniffed at the best of times. So with co-op, a huge area to run about in and hundreds of guns what else can there be I hear you say? Well how about some RPG leveling up and four differant character classes with there own special skills grab you. What can I say, It looks great, plays great and it grabs you from the start. Even though the FPS scene is crambed full at the moment this is one that everyone should really put in there console. Thanks for reading and enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
I bought this game as a present for my sister. It arrived in awesome condition and in great time. My sister really enjoys the game and it has prompted me to buy the GOTY edition.

If you are aiming to buy this game, I would recommend paying a little bit extra for the GOTY edition, as you receive all available downloadable content as well.

Great game for a great price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)