Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.90


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2009
I can't remember looking forward to an album so much for years.

There are the obvious nods to The Fields of the Nephilim (which is hardly surprising) and proof that Julianne Regan is still one of the most talented lyricists and singers around, yet the whole ensemble add their own touches to the album that elevates it above what could have been simply an exercise in 'Goth supergroup goes through the motions'.

'To Believe in Something' is truly special, but you just cannot find a bad track on the album.

An instant classic. More music should be made this way!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Take some 'Fields of the Nephilim' (especially the bass lines), throw in some 'All about Eve' (not necessarily the tracks with Julianne Regan), a pinch of 'Portishead', a touch of 'Massive Attack', mix together with a few new ingredients and out pops this very good album. In particular it goes through an excellent middle section (tracks 3-7) which are just a joy to relax to in the car. You need to be able to hear the basslines though. The songs can even prevent frustration in a traffic jam!
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 July 2009
If I were to tell you that The Eden House was a collaborative project between an ex-member of the Fields Of The Nephilim and an ex-member of This Burning Effigy, then I would perfectly understand if you started to ease yourself towards the door, muttering about how late it was, and how you're sure you left the oven this morning, and about you'd forget your mum was coming to stay for a week, and you're sure she's sitting at the airport waiting for you, and if all else fails faking a seizure and rushing out to get your meds from the car.

However, you would be doing a grave disservice to Stephen Carey, formerly of This Burning Effigy, and Tony Pettitt, formerly of the Fields Of The Nephilim. Good job I didn't mention the presence of Julianne Regan from All About Eve, some Faith & The Musers and a handful of assorted Nephilims and Nefilims. It's like your own personal gothfest. Luckily for all concerned, then, that this is a remarkably good, albeit quiet project.

Carey and Pettit have gone for a fairly minimalist approach, with textures and ambiences filling out a surprisingly melodic and strong set of songs. It's as if the music has been stripped back to a skeletal structure before being fleshed out in diaphanous membranes. Jump on to the second track, 'All My Love', where Julianne Regan contributes her first vocal, and prepare to be amazed. And so it continues with the standout tracks 'Iron In The Soul', 'Fire For You' and 'The Beauty Of Science'.

I never expected to be blown away by this, but I was. You should give it a chance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
This is a great album... not a single bad track... captures all the best of All About Eve and brings it right up to date. Give it a couple of listens and you'll be addicted... It's been top of my playlist since I bought it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
I thought Julianne Regan would have moved on from the late 80's by now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
I found out about this great project a few years ago on Dawnrazor (Fields of The Nephilim) forum back in 2007, and it sounded very impressive indeed from what I heard. I was hopeing that the band would eventually put out a studio album in the near future. I remember streaming some songs off their myspace site ages ago and recording the songs to my computer via sound recorder, just to keep myself happy until the real thing was released. I'm sure this album far exceeds any other type of female fronted gothic rock/metal albums out there at this time, because of the sheer amount of atmosphere, imagination and ideas that went into this album. The one thing that is very unusual about this album is that there are a lot of different musicians and just four or five members in the standard rock lineups. Some are guests and others who are part of the band. There are about five female singers, all of whom are real class. Even some of the original members from one of my all time favourite goth rock band Fields of The Nephilim are present here. It's awesome to hear Peter Yates soaring guitars again, Nod Wrights powerful but subtle drumming and of course Tony Pettit who provides those famous rumbling bass lines.

The opening song `To Believe in Something' is a real stunner, and one song I won't get bored of for ages. The guitars in this song are amazing, courtesy of the great Peter Yates, and the bass lines are very similar to 'Psychonaut' also by Fields of The Nephilim. The vocals are sung by Monica Richards on `To Believe in Something', and unfortunately this is the only song the she sings on, but she gives it her best performance. The middle part of this song reminded me of 'Sumerland (what dreams may come)'quite a bit. There are a lot of other truly great songs as well like 'All My Love' sung by Julianne Regan from All About Eve who does a fantastic job, and it shows that she still has a great voice too. Other excellent songs include the epic 'Gods Pride' with vocals by Amandine Ferrari, Trashed Treasure, Iron in the Soul (some parts of this song sound a bit like tricky), but they still retain that gothic feel. 'Fire for You is also another nice long epic song with a lot of great parts to it. 'The Beauty of Science, The Dark Half and Sin are also truly truly brilliant as well.

The very last song 'Sin' brings back memories of 'Wail of Sumer/And There Will Your Heart Be Also' again by Fields of The Nephilim because it has that same eerie and mysterious/evocative/dreamy feel. Towards the end of this song the guitars and keys have that same feel/sound at the end of 'Elizium'. So if you are longing to hear a song almost very similar to 'Wail of Sumer/And There Will Your Heart Be Also', so 'Sin' should keep you very happy for a long time. Overall it's an excellent album, and one of the very best goth rock albums I've heard this year. The main reason I did'nt give 'Smoke And Mirrors' five stars is because I was not that mad about 'Reach Out' which seems almost to mellow for my ears. I may need to give that song time, and then I may change my opinion. At the moment I rate 'Smoke And Mirrors' as four and a half stars. This album will have to keep me content until Carl McCoy, NFD and Open Paradise make/release some great material.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
Well this was a surprise! As a die hard goth from the eighties, I'm always a bit disappointed by new "dark" artists, but not this time!

Eden House have pulled off a neat trick with this album... Mixing the influences of Fields of the Nephilim, The Banshees, Kate Bush and All About Eve (to name but a few!) into something new, rounded and distinctive. The production is slick, the songs are beautiful and particular mention goes to tracks six (Iron In The Soul) and ten (Sin) which are outstanding. If I had to criticise anything it's track seven (Fire For You) which seems a bit... well... "poppy" compared to the rest of the album, but no album is perfect!

So turn out the lights, turn up the volume and prepare yourself for a dark journey through the emotions! You won't regret it...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
Found this album by accident on Amazon,and had no idea what it was,but when reading customer reviews I realised Julianne Regan was involved,and that was enough for me to buy it,and Im so glad I did.Its an amazing album,packed with striking and haunting songs that linger in the memory,some might argue thats its not a true Goth album,I think it is.But whatever you classify it as,there is no denying its a stunning piece of work.
From the word go your pulled into the music,the opening track is a real stunner,such a pity Monica Richards only sings on that one song.But(yes Im a bit bias here)Julianne Regan's three contributions more than make up for this.Normally Ive always found albums that swap and change vocalists through the tracks progression,to end up disjointed,and the songs feeling like they dont belong together,but not this time.If anything it makes things better,and draws attention to how the clever bass lines connect everything.I think there is also a touch of the Cocteau Twins here and there as well,especially on tracks 2 and 3,which for me is a definate plus.
In short its a brilliant album and one you shouldnt let pass you by.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
This is an album for all into the darker side of things; fabulously deep and haunting but then with such a wealth of talent from its members (members of All About Eve,Faith and The Muse,NFD,and Fields of The Nephilim amongst others) its no surprise to fans of these groups that this album was always gonna be a classic although some may be surprised that none of it is covering old ground and sounds perfectly fresh and relevant. Don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
This is just the best album I have heard in ages, like years. It is so amazingly atmospheric and Evie Vines voice is incredible. I just love it. Anyone with the mearest interest in good music should buy this. Thank you Eden House. I hope you make more of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)