Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
38
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2016
Bought these for my mum, she loves them. Delivery was fast and the product works well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
pleased with this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Paul Temple did not translate to a post WW2 Europe. On the BBC radio plays, it was originally supposed to be in the 1930's crime genre. What a disaster and the BBC pulled the plug on the contract with a West Germany TV station. Enough said. Try Peter Trevelyan and wife Joe for that authentic 1930's feel of husband and wife detectives; much better. Superb writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Had high expectations. Should have read other reviews to realise the stories had been moved from the original 40's to the 70's and, in my opinion, it does not work. Acting very hammy and it is very dated. In fact watched one episode and it was so bad have not been able to watch the rest ! Francis Matthews not too bad as Paul Temple but not as the book described and the actress playing his wife Steve nothing like the character. Do not buy if expecting the series to be like the books. Some updated versions work ....this just doesn't not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Unfortunately these episodes retain only the names of Paul and Steve Temple from the stories. Francis Matthews does a reasonable job of portraying Paul but Ros Drinkwater is not convincing as Steve even allowing for the weakness of the scripts. She appears to be there only to show off her halter tops and flat stomach.
The scripts though are without redeeming features. Frankly they are just very dull and drawn out. It is as though they were written for 30 minute episodes and then near the shooting date the director was told to fill double the time. With poor uncompelling story lines (even allowing for the convenience of the original radio events and Paul's encyclopaedic knowledge of everything) very bad acting and a general lack of enthusiasm by all connected they are soporific without any of the period charm I was expecting.
The settings allow for some travel for the cast and crew interspersed with what would have been fancy 70s interiors for the tasteless aspirant at the time.
All in all a very badly dated series. It was popular at the time but it is very hard to see why. For the collector who wants everything with the name Paul Temple only. I'll be selling mine on!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
I've always liked Francis Matthews and he's great as Paul Temple. The stories are variable but generally good.
However the production quality is very poor, it runs like an amateur theatre show. (And that's allowing for exterior film and interior video) I can't figure out why it doesn't seem more professional. Public Eye with Alfred Burke had the same values and that's a joy to watch.
In conclusion Paul Temple is available for a modest price and it's a nice look in to the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I loved Paul Temple first time around and this colour version doesn't disappoint. It is a little dated but the plots hold up well and it is fun picking out younger actors who have become household names in their own right. I would recommend the series to anyone who was a fan in the 70s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
I was very disappointed with this dvd as it is not the original programme as broadcast by the BBC some years ago. These are stories not originated by Francis Durbridge. From what I have been able to gather the original BBC programmes are not on DVD only others written by other people. They are good stories and well prduced and acted but lack the excitement of the Francis Durbridge's novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
I remember watching these shows when they were first shown. My mother was gripped. At the time I didn't know him - but my partner's mother was gripped too. I don't know why but my partner and I were disappointed. Slightly puzzled why we used to think this was such a great show. Sorry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)