Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 July 2015
There are few albums that have attracted more comment than this. The variety of the music is so great that there is something here for everyone. It is also so great that there is probably something here that you won't like. But that's the point: rarely has such a breadth of musical styles been gathered together on one set.

George Martin once said that he wished this had been a single album rather than a double. But look at it from the other side: which tracks would you omit to cut it in half? OK, Revolution 9 might top the list. But then? I predict that every proposal would result in somebody objecting that, no, that's a brilliant track and must stay in. And there's the rub: every track is brilliant in its own way.

Outright rockers (Back in the USSR, Helter Skelter), gentle ballads (I Will, Julia), Country (Bungalow Bill, Rocky Raccoon), Singalongs (Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da) and the incredible classic 'While My Guitar Gently Weeps' ... this album has it all. When I first heard it, each track left me wondering what on earth was going to come next. And each time it was something unexpected, or different, or just brilliant.

With their previous three LPs, the Beatles had effectively changed the face of popular music. This album simply proved the point and told the world 'when it comes to music, the Beatles could do pretty well everything.'

It is almost fifty years since this album was first released. many of the tracks have gone on to become standards, recorded by hundreds of admiring artists. Some remain firm fixtures in Paul McCartney's concerts to this day. The album has stood the test of time and is, in my opinion, a must-own for anyone interested in the Beatles, the history of recorded music or simply the best of popular music. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2017
To quote ian dury "there aint half been some clever bastards". When paul mccartney said The Beatles were a "great little band" its like thats a bit mealy mouthed there paul!!! The white album is not the work of a great little band. Its a work of genius and absolutely sublime beauty. Every single song is fascinating in how it draws you in to its musical world. Everyone should have a copy of this beautiful album. The greatest record ever made. No sweat. Amen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2016
This was the album that was the first by the Beatles to start showing in a bit more detail that whist the songs were being credited to Lennon and McCartney increasingly the songs were being written individually. As such this makes it a totally fascinating album and let's the fans see the individual strengths that each brought to the table. Maybe as a result we get some of the most underappreciated songs by each of the band. With McCartney we get the wonderful Martha my dear, with Lennon we get the beautiful Cry baby cry and in the case of George Harrison we get his best Beatles song in Long Long Long. The strange thing about this album is how rare it is to hear many of the songs on the radio whenever other songs are played on a daily basis. The album starts with one of its best known songs Back in the USSR and then starts a wonderful journey through so many unexpected twists and turns with Yoko joining in on backing vocals on Bungalow Bill the wonderful strangeness of Happiness is a warm gun. We have McCartney turning it up to 11 on Helter Skelter and one of his most beautiful love songs in I will. It's a truely wonderful album which a times feels like a precursor for the solo albums which only lay a year or two ahead but 38 years on it just sounds like the best album by the best group ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2016
Lots of reviews of this record and that's no surprise. Still fabulous. All of it's brilliant, I like to put on "Birthday" and get The Beatles as a rock band but when does one ever take it off? Such talent, all of it. The only blooper is a stupid CD cover that makes it awkward to take the discs out without the feeling that I might damage them. I'll figure something out.

"You were in a car crash, and you lost your hair" - brilliant. So is "Savoy truffle". And Sexy Sadie, Martha my dear, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
The Bealtles White Album needs nothing to endorse it. This is arguably part of their eclectic best.
But if you can get the original 1968 version, then you may find that there is more base on it than the newer re-masterings.
Also, there are not many things from the sixties that are suitable for the young kids of today to enjoy without parental supervision, or your parental internet blocker from kicking out- but my young kids love many of these songs! "Back in the USSR" and "Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da" for just two.
An indispensable part of any Beatles collection. Recommend as above.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
I bought this CD for a friend who says it's tracks are excellent with quality sound, it's his favourite Beatles album. An all time classic. I got the Auto-Rip MP3 version which was a bonus. I find it an all time classic with superior quality sound from the Fab Four Beatles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2010
How much more can be written about a Beatles album that has been a national treasure since 1968? Quite a bit actually.This is one of my personal all time favourites, when originally released, the purchase price was such that I couldn't afford to buy it initially and we used to crowd around the Dansette of the most affluent ( paper round) member of our group like "A seance in the dark" listening to the album with repeat playing until the grooves were virtually worn out. At that time the Fabs themselves were going through disintegration and to all intents and purposes producing solo material for consolidation into this Double Album set. But what a set it is.
It's gargantuan in it's musical ambition and writing spectrum but when you listen to individual tracks as a microcosm of the entire album, the Beatles have never been more poignant in their lyrical and songwriting composition than they achieved here and acoustically with songs like "Julia" - a Lennon self exploration that equals "A Day In The Life" in sheer spine tingling creative excellence, one of the best tracks he ever laid down which exemplifies the use of acoustic guitar by both John and Paul as more pronounce upon this album than any other and the reflective time spent in Rishikesh, India permeates through the songs "I Will", Mother Nature's Son" and "Blackbird" being other near perfect remastering examples of what is so delightful about this edition.
It is also a very memorable album being the one so wide ranging in eclectic scope as to give George Harrison a shot at his proto " All Things Must Pass" phase, having paid third fiddle to a couple of half decent songwriters in Lennon - McCartney for the previous 5 years, what a fantastic outpouring it released "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" and "Long, Long, Long" providing material that equalled anything his two prolific mates could produce having been straining at the proverbial creative leash internally for a long, long time. The re- mastering quality at work here is just exquisite in re-defining songs that cried out for better production on the original release.
And boy, do the Beatles rock on this album, "Back In The USSR", "Yer Blues", "Birthday" "Revolution" bring out the old Hamburg spirit despite the direction they were taking as individual artists and getting sucked into the legalities of business reality that must have sapped their cohesion so much in the years following the death of Brian Epstein, when the dream was over and the predators closed in.
Lennon was also at his most creative and imaginative peak at this point, the distillation of songs such as "Dear Prudence", "Sexy Sadie" "Happiness Is A Warm Gun" and "Cry Baby Cry" show where his mind was at that time and these musings could not have been penned by anyone other than JWL. His humour also comes across in abundance on "I'm So Tired" and " Bungalow Bill" in that unique form of expression that he gave voice to.
Also the move away from the overtly psychedelic artwork album covers of "Sgt Pepper's" and " Magical Mystery Tour" to the plain white cover design concept, marked a departure from this period to the clearing of the mind resulting from the Indian meditation sojourn that also gave birth to so many of these songs.
As I stated earlier, there has been so much material written about the phenomenom that has susequently become the Beatles myth that it is virtually a printing industry these days. When I hark back to that little terraced house where this album was given that communal listen by a group of mates back in 1968, some of whom went on to join Bands as diverse as the Specials and UK Subs then this album has a lot to answer for.
It's not only brilliant, it's iconic, it's a national treasure and the sound quality of this re-master means it's indispensable to anyone who cherishes it's creation. Improve the quality of your own life and listening experience and acquire it if you can.Then again if you cannot afford it - see if you can listen to it at one of your Buddies
gaffs! Highly recommended in the absolute.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
The astonishing aspect of this Beatle album is the way it can be so different all the way through and yet add up to a complete whole.
I doubt if there is another album in existence that comes close to it in this regard.

You must be prepared - this album is ALL OVER THE PLACE - and this is the pure quality of it: It's a show, it's a spectacle, in turns catchy, in turns silly, in turns moving and disturbing, in turns angry, in turns affectionate, you decide.
But stick with it over and over and you will not be the same again.

The songs stand alone, but as a complete experience it touches your soul.

0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2014
When you play these today, they still sound fresh. I would only say that this album lacks the consistent quality of their previous albums, but as the Beatles were nearing the end of their time as the Beatles it would be suprising otherwise. The recording quality is amazing. Hard to believe this wonderful sound was recorded in the 60's.
I recall owning the vinyl version when it came out. No idea where it went. I denied myself the pleasure of replacing it for many, many years. Skewed priorities, eh? I feel silly really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
This is probably the ultimate "something for everybody" album , and it seems everyone has their own running order , favourite tracks and of course least favourites , which the Beatles thoughtfully also provided us with . A brilliant album .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)