Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 October 2015
Not even close to anything the boys did in their heyday this is still their best post Tattoo You album by miles. Too Much Blood and the title track alone are worth the price of admission
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2017
GREAT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
Great album, complete collection of Stones studio work now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2017
Stones at their best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2015
This is one of the stones better albums from their late 70s, early 80s period. Actually, I like them all from this time up to Dirty work. There is a lot of violence on this disc, non more so than on Too much blood, Jagger's tongue in cheek nod towards the video nasties of the time, being there wasn't any legislation for these films at the time. The title track has a look at the South American militia and its treatment of its own people, and its just a killer piece of hard rock funk. A great single at the time and its stands strong today, up with their best material. All in all, a great stones album. Add it to your collection if it's not there already!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2013
Hi a very Great and cool Album. i remember when this Album came out and my male friend at Comprehensive school played it to me at His home. They are using new Technology really well my favourite tracks are 'Too much blood' and 'It must be Hell'. Audio cassettes are very Good, the warmth and freshness etc. with thanks and best wishes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2017
This is a great Stones album simply because it sounds nothing like the Stones.. well, there is no mistaking Jagger's dweeby vocals but otherwise it's nothing like their earlier stuff (which wasn't all that great anyway). It has that over-amplified 1980s 'gated reverb' drumming as well. The cheesy cover art is expected from cheese merchants like The Rolling Stones and the music is just dripping with camembert. Hadn't heard this since the 80s so I bought a copy just for fun and yeah, I kind of enjoyed it even though I knew it was cr@p. Played it once.. put it away.. might play it again sometime. No way these guys are the world's greatest rock'n'roll band. That honour goes to The Monkees. Buy "More Of The Monkees" instead of this cd. "Your Auntie Griselda" is a much better song than "Undercover" and "I'm Not Your Stepping Stone" beats "Too Much Blood" hands down.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 September 2016
I have never known a single soul to recommend listening to The Rolling Stones' '80s material. I have heard plenty about these records being the worst of the worst but to my surprise, this was not the case with Undercover.

The first thing that popped into my head whilst listening to this record is how undeniably '80s this record is. Undercover is very reminiscent of the album Some Girls. Both albums focused heavily on the then music trends. They took these trends and entwined it with their traditional sound making the band sound a little more up to date. This time round however, I would say that it was a success but back fired in the way that it makes the album sound tacky by today's standards.

At this point in their career, The Rolling Stones were clearly a bunch of old guys trying to fit in. I would assume by the song writing credits (and many articles I have read over the years) that Mick Jagger wanted to bring the band into a more (then) up to date sound and that goal was definitely achieved. Songs like the titled track, It Must Be Hell and Feel On Baby are '80s pop rock through and through. At the time I could imagine this record sounding like a band finding their second wind, bringing a new lease of life into their back catalogue.

There are no real classic Stones song on Undercover. The up beat blues rockers are practical non existent. I would assume that is why some fans don't like this album and it is perfectly understandable. After all who wants to hear their favourite rock band churn out some pop orientated disco songs.

Despite sounding a little negative, I do highly recommend checking out this album. It is heads and shoulders above the likes of Dirty Work. It might not be to the quality of Some Girls or patched together but surprisingly great, Tattoo You. This record still has a lot of energy and is definitely a lot of fun to listen to.

Published by Steven Lornie
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
This re-mastered Rolling Stones cd is so much clearer and louder that the old cd . I just have to tell people to go and get these re-mastered cd .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tattoo You
£5.99
Some Girls
£5.99
Emotional Rescue
£6.45
Dirty Work
£13.45

Need customer service? Click here