Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
37
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2017
Few good tracks but an average album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
I don't understand why this album is so often critically panned. It is my favourite Stones album. Maybe this low-key record did not sound like a commercial blockbuster, or 'classic Stones' to some people.

To me it was one of the defining albums of 1980, although there are many contenders for that year. In the Heavy Metal / Hard Rock genre alone there were classics such as Judas Priest's 'British Steel', Motorhead's 'Ace Of Spades', AC/DC's 'Back In Black', Saxon's 'Wheels Of Steel', Black Sabbath's 'Heaven & Hell', Sammy Hagar's 'Danger Zone' or 'Permanent Waves' by Rush. Closer to the Rock or Pop world, there was 'Flesh & Blood' by Roxy Music, 'Against The Wind' by Bob Seger, 'Hold Out' by Jackson Browne, 'McCartney 2' by Paul McCartney, 'Metamatic' by John Foxx, '17 Seconds' by The Cure, 'Vienna' by Ultravox, 'Scary Monsters' by David Bowie, 'Zenyetta Mondatta' by The Police, or Billy Joel's 'Glass Houses'. I could go on...and on.

I bought 'Emotional Rescue' on vinyl on the strength of the title track, which was a hit single in July 1980. It sounded unusual, with Mick's falsetto vocal, and a great bass sound. After hearing the bluesy 'Down In The Hole' as well, playing in a Record Shop, I was hooked. 'She's So Cold' later became a (minor) hit single'. I now have 3 different CD versions- the original non-remastered CD, the 1996 Bob Ludwig remaster, and the current 2009 remaster, which sounds quite loud, almost artificially so.

The album has a loose feel. Charlie Watts's drums, and Bill Wyman's bass sound particularly good. The opening number 'Dance Pt 1' sounds sloppy, even unfinished, with Mick saying what sounds like "Keith...wotcha, wotcha doin' ?" and then whistling !

There are pleasing performances of rockers and slower numbers on the record, which all add up to a satisfying listen. The highlights for me are the reggae-ish 'Send It To Me', 'Let Me Go', and 'All About You' where Keith's ragged vocals are not without charm.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
Not one of the Stones better albums as they deviate from their Rock & Roll / Blues root to try other sounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
This is much better than history, or some of the other reviewers here, allow. Yes, many of the songs are not as good as Some Girls ('Let me Go', 'Summertime Romance', 'Where the Boys go' - probably Some Girls off-cuts anyway), hence three stars, but it's by no means as bad as some claim. Keith is back in the frame, which has to be good - check out his guitar work on 'She so Cold', 'Send it to Me' and the hilarious 'Dance' (and try to stifle thoughts of 'Flight of the Condords' and 'Stella Street' respectively). Charlie is right up in the mix, which is exactly where he should be. I personally find 'Indian Girl' quite moving, if I try not to think about what Mick's REALLY got on his mind. And Emotional Rescue, the track, is by no means a poor man's 'Miss You': Mick falsetto and the band's performance on it are fantastic. They actually sound like a band working together, and a much-better recorded and mixed one than the muddy garage variety of Some Girls. Just one thing: the running order. If you re-programme it to the following, it sounds much better:

Dance
Summertime Romance
Send it to Me
Let me Go
Indian Girl
Where the Boys Go
Down in the Hole
All about You
She's so Cold
Emotional Rescue
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2000
Often seen as the worst ever Stones album, Emotional Rescue does not always get the respect it deserves. It does posess more variation than "Some Girls" and only one track, the ridiculous rocker "Where the boys go," is unlistenable to. The funky "Dance Part 1" is a great piece of music and the interplay on "Summer Romance" , "Let me go," and "She's so cold," is highly commendable. Othe highlights include "Down in the Hole," their first out and out blues song since "Silver Train," in 1973. "All about you," is a touching Keith Richards ballad and save the pane- shattering falsetto by Jagger, the title track is worth a listen. Overall, not a bad album, if you buy it with the knowledge that its no "Some Girls," or "Exile on main street," you will find some enjoyment from it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having apparently rediscovered their lost rockin' 'Mojo' with 'Some Girls', 'Emotional Rescue' was seen as several steps back for the 'World's Greatest Rock & Roll Band'. Funnily enough, I don't now think that the 'Black & Blue' album, the studio predecessor of 'Some Girls', was all that bad, although at the time of its release - 1976 - I did think otherwise, as Punk was starting to make the Stones look irrelevant. 'Emotional Rescue' is hardly as vital as 'Some Girls', and does sound like the band retreating into a musical comfort zone; there's a pot-pourri of styles, ranging from some so-so rockers, such as 'Where The Boys Go' and 'She's So Cold', a reasonable attempt at gut bucket Blues in 'Down In The Hole', and the token Keef tune, 'All About You', but the material is overall a bit undercooked and uninispired. This newly remastered version doesn't really add anything to that impression. That being said, I actually like Mick Jagger's occasional excursions into falsetto vocal territory, and the title track is one of his better efforts in this vein. The playing is pretty good, too, but they'd do far, far better with their next album, 'Tattoo You', which despite apparently being largely cobbled together from outtake recordings and unused material from as far back as the Mick Taylor days (he left in 1974, and 'Tattoo You' didn't surface until 1981), was a far more pertinent, focussed, direct and energised record than the misfiring 'Emotional Rescue' album.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
The thing I want to stress in this review is that I advise everybody to buy the Virgin releases as long a they are available. These are the best masters the Stones albums of the seventies and later have ever had. I checked a few of these with cool-edit and these masters are using the complete dynamic range of the CD format without hitting saturation to often.

The older masters on CBS were clearly less good (although not suffering satuaration and clipping), while the new Universals are victim to the loudness war (check Wiki if you don't know what this is). I own the SE of Exile on Universal, and kept the Virgin next to it. The Universal SE is only in my collection for the bonus disc.

Star rating is for the album, not the mastering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
I actually like Micks campy falsetto excursions. To hell with the purists! Emotional Rescue is as much a Stonesy album as any. Buy it, have fun.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
Ok lets get this straight. I love the Stones, have been a fan for 25 years (I was born in 1967) and have all of their stuff but this is one i rarely return to. What a disappointment after the excellent Some Girls, itself a return to form after three so-so mid 70s albums. Much of this is well below par and having played the album again before writing this, I can only really name 2 decent tracks (All About You and Down In The Hole). Tracks like Where The Boys Go and Dance are frankly embarrassing and heaven knows what the Stones were thinking of releasing the dreadful title track as a single. That they were chronically short on ideas is clear given that the, admittedly much better, Tattoo You which followed a year later was largely a collection of songs recorded over the previous 6-7 years. So I would conclude that of all Stones albums this is the one I would regard as the weakest. By all means buy this, as I did, if you are a Stones collector but if you are looking for a good Stones album avoid this and get Exile On Main Street, Sticky Fingers, Beggars Banquet, Aftermath, Some Girls, Let It Bleed, Steel Wheels, Voodoo Lounge et etc
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
Best , worst ? Enough of this comparativism !
This is a superbly hedonistic record . Anyone who doesn't enjoy it is probably of a naturally miserable inclination.
'Dance' evokes the heady days of Studio 54 , 'Where the Boys Go' is a glorious cockney stomper , the title track is a masterpiece of sensuality , the rocky 'Summer Romance'and 'Let Me Go' and the reggae-ish 'Send it to Me' are fun songs and 'Indian Girl ' is a tongue in cheek yet soulful C/W style ballad .The bitter-sweetl melancholy of 'All About You' features some nice vocals from Keef , as he kindly informs us that his beloved is 'always the first to get laid and the last bitch to get paid '(!).Finally the brilliant 'She's So Cold' is laugh out loud funny , with Mick singing plaintively of his sexual frustrations .
What is wrong with you people ?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.13
£5.02
£4.43
£6.81

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)