Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
223
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.59


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
Now have copy of all Melody's albums Can listen to her all day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Excellent thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Lovely listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
I love her voice and it sounds even more lush and relaxing on vinyl.
Lovely to listen to with a glass of wine and a candle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This CD is so good. Melody Garbot's voice is like silk being wrapped around you. The whole album is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2016
Not a very good pressing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
I bought the CD cersion of this album when it was released in 2009. This year (2013), with the big movement towards "back to vinyl", I bought the vinyl version on Verve / UCJ hoping for the same great recording quality that this album has, but via my top notch vinyl player system. What a disapointment. The record surface was just like many of the old Americam LP`s that came in thick paper sleeves making surface scratch / skuff marks. The record sounded like it had been played a 1000times on a really crap player or with too much weight. The background noise and clicks followed through the whole album, both sides and at relatively high level compared to the recording itself. I took the album back to the store and had to wait 3 weeks for a new one to come in. The new one looked quite good regarding the surface of the vinyl, but the background noise was just as bad, maybe worse. I have returned this one as well and have given up on the vinyl version, and will now just listen to the CD version, which is brilliant.
I find it very strange that such a well produced album could be allowed to be sold in such a bad state on vinyl. Why is there such a big quality difference between vinyl albums. I have had similar problems with Vinyl albums from Eva Cassidy,Amy Winehouse to mention a few. All basically good recordings, but rubbish pressings on vinyl. I have LP`s fron the sixties on RCA,Polydor, Pablo, Verve, Storyville,Warners etc, that sound as good today as they did when new. Vinyl today should be perfect, especially when it is being sold at full price. My advise is to always take back bad pressings. It would not be accepted with a bad copy of a CD. If the vinyl recording that is bad is not returned, then there will be no betterment from the pressing facilities / record companies.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
I heard Melody Gardot first on Jazz Fm and was drawn by her perfect phrasing. How anyone can compare her to Norah is beyond me - Melody surpasses most of her peers with her own songs, beautiful arrangements and amazing mellow voice.
This CD is perfect for chilled evenings either with friends or someone special. Her voice is unique, her words are so true. Having heard her live this album shows a insight to the warmth, emotion and passion she brings to each song. When you listen to some of the songs like "One and Only thrill", and "Deep within the corners of my mind" I challenge you not to feel some emotion, a tug on your heart. The bonus CD is good for "Love me like a river does" which is on worrisome heart her earlier album. I believe that this CD is years to come will be known as a classic. If you do not have this album you are truly missing out.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
What can I say? After the justified success of the 'Worrisome Heart' album Melody Gardot has scaled the heights with, what will be, the best album of 2009 and might even be among the best of the decade. The sparse instrumentation, augmented with sumptuous string arrangements, gives much of the album a haunting beauty that stays with you long after the album ends. The truly gorgeous title track is, for me, the stand out on the album, but only because it deserves an unavailable sixth star amongst the bevy of five star tracks gathered on this CD. Buy it now as you are going to be missing an all time classic from your music collection without it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
Melody's music is something special - her voice, her style, her wonderful melodies and lyrics, and the understated genius of her songs combine to make music that you can happily listen to forever.

Her previous album was excellent, but this one is outstanding, every track a gem. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)