Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
215
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.59
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2009
Compared to Melody Gardot's fine live performances, were you disappointed by her 1st album - a potentially great voice accompanying derivative join-the-dots jazz/blues; all very gratifying & competent but it never quite hit the spot?

Be prepared to be very pleasantly surprised by this 2nd album, which, IMHO, confirms that a great talent has truly arrived.

Her vocal-style is still 'cool jazz diva', but her voice now has greater authority, charm & emotion - but never sounds contrived - with diction & phrasing that compares with the very best.

There's also some great playing (includes MG on guitar & piano) & very skillful arranging, which effortlessly & elegantly adds drama & accent to MG's vocals. Don't forget, she also writes her own material - Somewhere Over The Rainbow, aside. (Nicely recorded/mixed etc, too.)

Initially tried to play this CD as background music while working at my computer. Hopeless! Repeatedly had to stop work to listen to the music.

Exquisite, & also rather cool. Love it!
11 comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
OK, let's get this straight. Right here, right now. No messing.

This is one of the best albums you will be likely to hear this year.
(.....or next year, or in the coming decade, come to that).

'My One and Only Thrill' is the real deal.

Universal/Verve have thrown a whole lot of moolah at this production and
Ms Gardot hasn't wasted a cent. Gold begets gold here in every way.

As if this brave young woman's voice were not enough, Mr Klein's
loving and masterful production, Mr Prendergast's exquisite musical
direction and Mr Mendoza's phenomenal string arrangements raise
the twelve songs in this collection to heights rarely achievable in any
composer/performer's career.

The voice. Oh my, my, what a voice we have on show here!

Warm, dark, expressive, playful. An utterly gorgeous instrument.

The writing is steadfastly and consistently inspired. Many of these songs
could have been written at any time during the past half-century but
never for a moment are they anachronistic or derivative.
They burst into our world fresh and fully formed, crammed with subtle
and elusive musical ideas.

The gentle gospel soul of 'Who Will Comfort Me' and the sublime slow
blues of 'Your Heart Is As Black As Night' display a completely assured
grasp of both genres.

'Our Love Is Easy' is a blissful threnody, brimful of whistful passion.

'My One and Only Thrill' is a fragile masterwork whose heartrending melody
and haunting orchestration could not fail to bring hope and affirmation
to anyone who has ever had even the smallest experience of true love.

The quirky lilting latin rhythm of 'Les Etoiles', with its' delightful
vocal extemporisations, is a thing of pure joy.

So too Ms Gardot's idiosyncratic take on 'Somewhere Over The Rainbow'
which successfully shines a bright new light on an old warhorse.

For one who stumbled upon her accidently this album is a revelation.

I dare you, too, not to be bewitched.

Essential.
1010 comments| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
Melody's music is something special - her voice, her style, her wonderful melodies and lyrics, and the understated genius of her songs combine to make music that you can happily listen to forever.

Her previous album was excellent, but this one is outstanding, every track a gem. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
I heard Melody Gardot first on Jazz Fm and was drawn by her perfect phrasing. How anyone can compare her to Norah is beyond me - Melody surpasses most of her peers with her own songs, beautiful arrangements and amazing mellow voice.
This CD is perfect for chilled evenings either with friends or someone special. Her voice is unique, her words are so true. Having heard her live this album shows a insight to the warmth, emotion and passion she brings to each song. When you listen to some of the songs like "One and Only thrill", and "Deep within the corners of my mind" I challenge you not to feel some emotion, a tug on your heart. The bonus CD is good for "Love me like a river does" which is on worrisome heart her earlier album. I believe that this CD is years to come will be known as a classic. If you do not have this album you are truly missing out.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
I bought the CD cersion of this album when it was released in 2009. This year (2013), with the big movement towards "back to vinyl", I bought the vinyl version on Verve / UCJ hoping for the same great recording quality that this album has, but via my top notch vinyl player system. What a disapointment. The record surface was just like many of the old Americam LP`s that came in thick paper sleeves making surface scratch / skuff marks. The record sounded like it had been played a 1000times on a really crap player or with too much weight. The background noise and clicks followed through the whole album, both sides and at relatively high level compared to the recording itself. I took the album back to the store and had to wait 3 weeks for a new one to come in. The new one looked quite good regarding the surface of the vinyl, but the background noise was just as bad, maybe worse. I have returned this one as well and have given up on the vinyl version, and will now just listen to the CD version, which is brilliant.
I find it very strange that such a well produced album could be allowed to be sold in such a bad state on vinyl. Why is there such a big quality difference between vinyl albums. I have had similar problems with Vinyl albums from Eva Cassidy,Amy Winehouse to mention a few. All basically good recordings, but rubbish pressings on vinyl. I have LP`s fron the sixties on RCA,Polydor, Pablo, Verve, Storyville,Warners etc, that sound as good today as they did when new. Vinyl today should be perfect, especially when it is being sold at full price. My advise is to always take back bad pressings. It would not be accepted with a bad copy of a CD. If the vinyl recording that is bad is not returned, then there will be no betterment from the pressing facilities / record companies.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
This has been one of my favourite albums for the last couple of years. Melody Gardot has such a wonderful voice and the musical arrangements are so superb it's hard not to adore this.

Every single track is different, they are creative, melodic and simply a joy to listen to. It's one of those albums that really demands that your attention rather than just having it on as background music.

I don't really want to pick out any particular standout tracks as they are all worthy. I find that a favourite changes dependant upon the mood. Those highlighted by other reviewers all obviously get my vote but the one I will mention is "If the stars were mine", this change of mood and pace is fantastic. It's fun, uplifting and a real change of beat to the rest of the album. My only criticism would be that it should come later in the tracklist rather than at number 2 - when I play this CD on random it seems to fit better when coming in later, it adds balance.

You would be doing yourself a disservice if you didn't get to hear Melody Gardot. Once you've listened to her only then should you look into her back story and learn of the dreadful incident from which she has recovered. We're very lucky to still have her with us making such amazing music.

I strongly recommend this album to anyone but especially those who like Ella Fitzgerald, Nina Simone or other sultry, jazz tinged female vocalists.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
What can I say? After the justified success of the 'Worrisome Heart' album Melody Gardot has scaled the heights with, what will be, the best album of 2009 and might even be among the best of the decade. The sparse instrumentation, augmented with sumptuous string arrangements, gives much of the album a haunting beauty that stays with you long after the album ends. The truly gorgeous title track is, for me, the stand out on the album, but only because it deserves an unavailable sixth star amongst the bevy of five star tracks gathered on this CD. Buy it now as you are going to be missing an all time classic from your music collection without it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
I've just listened to this album, literally 10 minutes ago. Absolutely brilliant! Original songs (apart from one) sung beautifully and with stunning arrangements. I shall be ordering her other albums right now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
My One and Only Thrill
Melody gardot is an American Jazz/Blues singer/songwriter who has proved to all, out of adversity, hope does spring eternal.
This young lady suffered a horrific accident leaving her unable to walk and with a level of brain damage too. However with extraordinary determination she overcame her disabilities to go onto make beautiful music.
Melody's second release, "My One and Only Thrill" is an album of for the most part, one made up of original compositions. Her soft velvety vocals with perfect diction accompanied with her sparce acoustic guitar and piano playing topped off with delicately tasteful string arrangements, all serve to deliver an absolutely sublime recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
I had a download of this album when it came out and grew to love it so recently bought the vinyl copy.A beautifully recorded and performed album.Melody has a great voice and varied style and the string arrangements are superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)