Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
50
3.4 out of 5 stars
Observe And Report [DVD] [2009]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 August 2017
Funny film, was delivered fast too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
I laughed my ass off watching this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
Reading some of the reviews here, you'd think this film is super-sick..but don't be put off-it's actually kind of cuddly. Ok, so it's definitely dark but it's also got a lot of heart- and it's bloody good. The Oldboy sequence is jawdropping, some of the jokes are killer, and it's very well made and acted. I think the problem a lot of people have with this is that it's pretty original, like a funny Taxi Driver. A proper movie. If you're looking for a family comedy or another Anchorman you'd better head elsewhere, but if you liked The Foot Fist Way you're gonna LOVE this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
'Observe and Report' was theatrically released in 2009 to mixed critical acclaim and moderate box-office success.

The movie tells the story of Ronnie Barnhardt (Seth Rogen) who suffers from Bipolar disorder. He works at a shopping mall as head security guard but aspires to be a Police Officer. A flasher starts exposing himself to shoppers at the mall, which causes Barnhardt to make it his mission to catch him.

'Observe and Report' is similar to 'Paul Blart - Mall Cop', which is a family light-hearted comedy that released a few months before the former and was a very successful at the box-office. The similarities are, the lead actors in both movies work as security guards in a mall and aspire to be Police Officers. Apart from these similarities both movies are totally different and should not be compared with each other.

It is hard to class the theme of 'Observe and Report' as it is a dark & mature movie with a hint of comedy and is high in emotions. The way I understood the movie was by looking at it from the view of Ronnie as he experiences all kinds of emotions due to his Bipolar disorder. He experiences everything from love, happiness, anger, disappointment to violence. That is what, we as an audience experience and are left with mixed emotions. As a result a lot of the viewers were not sure how to take the movie.

The movie is really entertaining and has a good screenplay, which keeps your attention up until the satisfying ending. The movie is also funny when it should be and appropriately emotional.

Seth Rogen produces his finest performance as he brilliantly expresses the mixed emotions that his character experiences. His touching performance elevates the movies status from average to good. Ray Liotta (Detective Harrison) is mediocre, Anna Faris (Brandi) who plays Ronnie's dream girl is annoying, Michael Peña (Dennis) is amusing. Jesse Plemons (Charles) John Yuan & Matthew Yuan (Yuen twins), all play other mall officers and are efficient. Collette Wolfe who plays Ronnie's friend is good. Also of note is the funny Aziz Ansari (Saddamn) who plays an Iraqi shopkeeper.

The direction provided by Jody Hill is first-rate as he succeeds in making a different kind of quality movie. The background music score, which is perfect is provided by Joseph Stephens.

Two things that I didn't like about the movie was the frontal nudity scenes of the flasher and a drug taking scene. The movie could've done without these scenes.

'Observe and Report' is aimed for the mature audience and should be watched with an open mind. It didn't do as expected at the box-office as it was advertised as an out-and-out comedy, which wasn't the case.

'Observe and Report' is an underrated surprise package.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
I'm writing this review after a second viewing of Observe and Report. I've always been a fan of Seth Rogan's light-hearted (if adult) humour, so when I first saw this, I was a little let down. The cuddly fat man we can't help but root for has been replaced here by a bi-polar mall security guard who's temper frequently gets him into trouble.

It wasn't until the second viewing (when I wasn't expecting some sort of sweet-natured feel-good comedy, like the 40 Year Old Virgin or Knocked Up) that I really appreciated it. I also like my humour dark. And, if you're in the mood for something pretty grisly and taboo-breaking, you may just get something out of this. Basically, if you haven't laughed in the first ten minutes, turn it off and watch something more mainstream.

As I mentioned earlier, Rogen plays Ronnie Barnhardt, a mall security guard with delusions of grandeur. He thinks he's the hero, but the audience knows otherwise - which is where most of the humour derives from. He also has bi-polar disorder - a mental condition that means he's quite tolerable one minute (and we, the audience, can also unwittingly think the `old loveable' Rogen is back. Then, cut to the next scene and he's battering some kid with a skateboard.

Observe and Report is laden with poignancy and subtle humour. Basically, only watch if you're in the mood for black comedy and laced with taboos. Nothing is sacred here - expect racism, full frontal male untidy, date rape and plenty of violence and mental illness.

If you think you can find the funny side to all that, Observe and Report may just be for you.

Besides, it has a wicked soundtrack (if you're into classic rock).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
This is comedy in the darkest shade of black. Observe And Report observes and reports on the life of the tragically flawed character that is Ronnie Barnhardt, from the minute his mall becomes the target of a flasher operating in the car park. Ronnie leaps into action when the flasher targets the subject of his wildest dreams - trashy mall beautician Brandi - which also marks the beginning of his feud with Detective Harrison, sent out to deal with the situation.

Seth Rogen, familiar to many from his shlubby lovable loser characters in Judd Apatow's films, swings completely to the dark side in this role as bipolar Ronnie, which is probably his finest performance so far. He continues to carry out his mall duties obsessively, dealing out his own brand of justice, as he spars with Ray Liotta's Harrison - Harrison just wants to do his job, but is gradually driven to despair by Ronnie's continual ignorance, nuisance, and presence. Michael Peña is particularly hilarious as Dennis, Ronnie's 'right hand man' in mall security, and his performance is perhaps the only one you don't feel dirty inside for laughing at.

Be aware that this is definitely NOT a family movie though - it's not too graphic, apart from a prolonged section of full-frontal male nudity, though the themes in this film are more mature than plenty of 18 certificates I can think of. For instance, besides Ronnie's delusional nature, and often terrifying behaviour, there's some flat-out racism, date rape, and armed adults jumping and beating up teenagers.

This is a very funny film, though most of the time it's a slim choice between laughing and crying. Equally though, it is a great study of Ronnie's character, even if many of the things you see you may not want to remember!
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
An age old problem with racism, misogyny, and gratuitious violence in film and TV is whether it's a commentary and criticism - at the very least an observation - of such things, or that it advocates it. It's often ambiguous in Observe and Report, and many people have in turn been offended by it, finding it cynical, and making slight of violence. I however, thought it was a disturbing, but humorous character study along the lines of 'Taxi Driver' in the sense that we are made to feel sympathy for a violent, arrogant and borderline psychopathic man, whilst making us laugh quite loudly, and frequently. A diverse set of characters, and some genuinely touching - might even say upsetting - moments involving the leads mother and love-interest-but-not-love-interest make for a compelling plot, and though it all ties up a little too neatly and unconvincingly that jars with the rest of the film, it is at the very least an incredibly interesting film, even if you don't end up liking or enjoying it. Oh and it's Seth Rogen's greatest role in his acting career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Observe and Report is an excellent watch. It's a very funny comedy with an excellent cast, but also a proper good story and well made overall. Michael Pena has the most memorable character. Seth Rogen is at his best in this also. Anna Farris and Ray Liotta also have good parts to play. The script is superb and some of the scenes really stand out. The music score is also well thought out. I think this film will become more regarded as the years go by. I think that The Cable Guy is Jim Carrey's best film despite not being as famous as most of his films. Like that crazy film I think this crazy film will become more well known and enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Really surprised by the bad reviews this has got here and can't believe how offended by it some people are..Borat and American pie are far more offensive i think.
This had me laughing out loud many times and even had a sadness about it even tho Seth's character is an idiot..that's his charm..he is offensive but doesn't realise it.
The end slow motion chase through the mall is a classic scene..hilarious stuff..also loved the date evening with Anna Faris and also Seth's mum is very funny too..makes me chuckle just thinking about it.
An underrated gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
A very funny movie that put Seth Rogen on the map, a story of an enthusiastic security guard with visions of progression. Whomever stands in his way is going to get it, from him or from a member of his trustee squad, Michael Pena also stars as his camp side-kick. I loved this movie from beginning to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)