Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
180
3.3 out of 5 stars
Bruno [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 January 2010
The genius of comedy that is Sasha Baron Cohen strikes again with another of his alter ego characters which is Bruno - a gay fashion presenter from Austria that falls from grace in his homeland and hopes to make it in America. This movie follows a similar set-up to Borat where most of the people are unaware they will be in this film and I lost count of the times I thought "I can't believe he just did that." Very funny film all the way through and the bonus clips that didn't make it into the film, should have - especially "The Scientist"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
I cant understand the mentality of people that would give this a 5 star rating. I believe that some will always like everything that
Sacha comes up with but a reality check is in order here. Me and my girlfriend couldnt believe how bad it was we hardly smiled let alone laugh throughout.
A comedic style that has run its course. I hope I am proved wrong but I would love to see what Sacha comes up with after this pile.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2009
Sacha Baron Cohen first came to the attention of the world media with his brilliant character known as Borat, a Kazakhstani reporter who went to America to make a documentary about American life. Mixing real interviews that mock the prejudices of those he is interviewing with a tagged on plot to move the film along, Borat was a massively surprising success. Now with Bruno, Cohen's last character to not have his own feature film was set to become an equally successful piece but due to the success of Borat, I found it hard to believe how Cohen could go out there and make a movie as another character without being recognised. Luckily he didn't have any problems and actually produced a movie that I found to be equally funny, if not better than Borat.

Gay Austrian TV presenter Bruno is fired from his job for an incident which disrupts Milan fashion week. As a result his lover leaves him for another man and Bruno now decides to move to America with his assistant's assistant, Lutz in an attempt to become the biggest Austrian celebrity since Hitler. During his time in America he looks into a number of unsuccessful ways of becoming famous which are to become an extra on the TV show Medium, creating his own TV show which the focus group do not like and trying to make a sex tape with politician Ron Paul who Bruno mistakes as drag queen Ru Paul. After these unsuccessful attempts at becoming famous, Bruno decides to follow in the footsteps of Branjelina and Madonna and swap his iPod for an African baby.

The Bruno character is as camp as camp can be and the way in which Cohen maintains this character even in seemingly dangerous situations is admirable. Insulting a terrorist and mocking an arena full of testosterone fuelled cage fighting fans are both brave moves as Cohen made the conscious decision to up-the-ante with this character. The tagged on story to drive the film along is quite an amusing one in its own respect and the assistant's assistant, Lutz character played by Gustaf Hammarsten who becomes Bruno's love interest generates some incredibly humorous moments.

Cohen seeks out the best of the best people with prejudices which allow him to create moments that are spectacular in the eyes of the beholder. Having Paula Abdul sit on Mexican men acting as furniture, while discussing human rights, is a superb moment that had me in stitches. Running through an anti-gay protest group whilst dressed in bondage attire attached to his friend Lutz is another stunning example of the intelligent mockery that has been consistent throughout the years of Cohen's characters. By far the best moment of the film is the scene set during a cage fight show which ends with Lutz and Bruno kissing in the middle of the cage with a few hundred ravenous fans looking to hurt them. It's the prime example of the danger Cohen put himself in to make this film a bigger success than its predecessor, Borat .

Although I loved this film for its bravery I felt that Cohen only took these risks because he felt the Bruno character wasn't strong enough to go along the same lines of Borat. It is worthy of the success it has received and it it's a great way to end the Cohen trio of films and although it's doubtful it would happen, I'd love to see a sequel to this or Borat.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 July 2009
I went to see this the day it was released, eager with anticipation. I watched as 'The biggest Austrian Superstar since Hitler' got fired from his job on an Austrian fashion show after gatecrashing on a Milan fashion show. Bruno heads to the USA with his assistant's assistant Lutz to find fame and become a heterosexual. The same Borat style cringe-inducing humor insues with encounters with terrororist leaders in 'The Middle Earth' AKA the Middle East, Swingers, Southern homophobes and even an unsepspecting Paula Abdul.
All in all a worthy successor to the hilarious Borat, all though not as good Baron Cohen still delivers moments which will have you laughing so hard youll be gasping for air, and moments so cringeworthy you wont be able to look away. Definately worth a watch, fans off Cohen will most definately not be dissapointed!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
I brought this thinking it would be really good.. as i loved ali g and thought it was so funny and heard this was too.. well i was soo disapointed.. i was bored after 15mins and had to turn it off.. just complete waste of money..

shocking!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2010
i cant see how some people are offended by this surely people must know what sort films he does by now,if your offended by over the top homosexuality this is NOT the film for you.
The way he plays the part is just so so clever.
i like the bit when hes interviewing the model and asks her what she thinks about teachers being overpaid, absolute classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Very poor
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
I did not like a single part of this. It is badly written and very in your face. I looked forward to watching this because of Ali G and the Dictator and to me this was a let down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Puerile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
so so
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)