Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
106
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2013
Works a charm "Microsoft Windows 7 64 Bit". Previously bought for " Microsoft Windows XP 32 Bit", and it still worked a treat.

"Age of Empires", "Age of Empires II" plus both expansion packs, which are more or less an extra game for each title.

Once installed both titles with both expansion packs, there is no need for the DVD-Rom as they play without it, where as previous releases for these titles required the CD-Rom and would have required a NO-CD patch to run without CD.

There are no product keys to enter, one simply inserts the DVD-Rom and install the required title.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Bought for a 90s child who loved to hog the one household desktop computer playing this game (amongst many others). He's managed to get it to play on a basic spec windows 8.0 laptop, but I would be careful buying this to play on a high spec, large screen device as the larger the graphics card the less well it seems to cope with the 800x600 basic graphics of this era game...it doesn't play on my higher spec laptop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
AoE 1 and 2 are fantastic old point and click resource collecting games. If you played and enjoyed them in the past then you'll get a kick out of playing them again today. Some games age like milk, AoE have aged like fine wine. As much fun today as ever they were.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I was really pleased when I received these games,a bit of a blast from the past downloaded fine on Win 7 64 bit the water is a bit psychedelic and there is the odd freeze. But all in all I am happily playing away. I'm a big age of mythology fan and when I just want a bit of peace and quiet I always reach for it now I've got AOE again after my son nicked it years ago. I have a choice it seems the old ones are always the best. newer games seem to lose their appeal after a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
A fantastic collection of Real Time Strategy Games.

This collection contains the first two games of the Age of Empires Series, aswell as the two Expansion Packs and the Origional Soundtrack for the series.

As it is re-produced, it is very cheap and well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
I remember playing this game when it was just released and finding it all these years later was a delight. The graphics aren't great but that was to be expected with such an old game. Product plays perfectly and I have had a lot of fun playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
Have in the past played these four games many time. I found that the old DVD's would not download on Windows 7 64 bit, but had no bother with this edition.Can once again enjoy these games.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
No other review seems to have mentioned but this edition of the games does not include the original music for the games due to the original releases streaming them as CD audio tracks from the disk while this release installs no-disk versions of the games. AOE 1 replaces the soundtrack with a weaker MIDI version while AOE 2 features no music at all by default (although a MIDI soundtrack can be enabled with some tweaking). Fortunately there is a fan patch for 2 which allows you to import a custom soundtrack so you just need to obtain the soundtrack for AOE 2 from elsewhere (since it is not on the disk at all) and set it to play. I am yet to find a workaround for AOE 1.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I have been a fan of the Age of Empires series for many years, I was delighted when I found this product that contains both the original and second games and their expansions. The Age of Empires series has helped to define what is known as the strategy game genre and I am pleased that there are still copies to be found.

About the product itself: Arrived promptly and in perfect condition I installed it with no issues and it runs with no problems on my computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
Saw this for £7 and figured why not?

Was a little apprehensive - some reviewers said that not all the games worked with Vista and Xp, and, when they did, the colours were off.

Installed it (tip: do a full install when prompted), and everything worked perfectly with both Vista and XP. Occasionally the colours go funny (happened like once in 20+ games). Very easy to fix this: pause the game, click options at the top of the screen and toggle the screen resolution up and down once. Fixed.

Also works with the newly released expansion pack, Forgotten Empires.

Very happy with the pack for such a low price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)