Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
82
4.3 out of 5 stars
Sex Drive [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 April 2014
This is a great movie, one of the best films I've seen in ages. The doughnut suit bits are so funny. That Pontiac GTO Judge they drive in is epically amazing too. Lots of nude scenes on the 2nd disc too, great film for someone immature like myself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
This was a cheesy gift to someone for a laugh. It has quite a few humorous moments and shouldn't really offend anyone - except perhaps if you are Amish - but then you wouldn't be watching it anyway, would you???????!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Pretty funny movie, Had it already but a bad copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 August 2010
Sex Drive has been compared to 'Super-Bad' and that's a bit of a disservice if you ask me, as I didn't think 'Super-Bad' was very good. It was OK, but this film is excellent. It's really funny, and where as 'Super Bad' dragged on a bit, you didn't want Sex Drive to end.

The writing was sharp, the story was original (In the events that happen on the journey rather than the idea of a 'road trip') and the whole film was done in a very cool way - even the credits looked good and a short piece warning you not to watch the extended version before you watch the original was a masterpiece in itself too. The film also featured some amazing characters, characters able to rival 'American Pies' Stiffler (although of course it did have it's own version of The Stiffmeister - the main characters' brother), and it also had a very funny cameo from Seth Green, who put on a great performance as the most sarcastic Amish man you've ever met.

The story is fairly straight foward: our hero is a Virgin. He needs to pop his cherry and so steels his brothers prize possession (his Ford GTO) while he's away for the weekend, and takes it on a road trip with 2 of his pals to go a meet a hottie he's been talking to on-line. The story as I said is very straight forward and nothing original, but what I found with this film was the script, the humour, the acting, the predicaments they all wind up in, and the jokes, were all a lot sharper and fresher than similar movies - you got the impression a lot of time had been spent crafting this film to get the story and script right before they started shooting.

If there's one bad point - it had a very low boob count (hey, this review has to cater for the teenage market as well), but the ruder, cruder, nuder version promises to address that issue. I haven't got round to watching that yet, but I have watched the original twice - once on my own and once with a mate who enjoyed it equally as much.

Sex Drive is a cut above other American-teen-coming-of-age comedies and it'll be staying in my Blu Ray pile, and being pulled out to watch again and again, for a very long time. I'd give it 9 out of 10... I'd maybe even give it 10 out of 10, but feel full marks should be reserved for more 'serious' films. But hang on - this is a serious film. It's seriously funny, so lets compromise and give it a 9.5

UPDATE:
Hi there boob-lovers. Good News!!! Having just watched the Ruder, Cruder, Nuder extended edition of this film, I can safely say that the low boob count is addressed. And not very subtly either. Still - who want's subtlety if you want boobs. I think the Blu Ray is right, watch the original version first DO NOT WATCH THE EXTENDED CUT FIRST. The original theatrical version is definitely the best version - proving once again that the team behind this film got everything right. However, that said, once you've seen the original a couple of time, the extended cut does offer a new experience for you when you watch it again... boob-filled one.
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
Never heard of this before, but caught it on a transatlantic flight and cracked up all the way through it, much to the dismay of the stewardesses and the bloke behind me.

It's basically a rehash of the old road trip movie, American Pie crossed with Road Trip to be fair, and although a lot of it is gags that I'm sure have been seen before, they're spit-balled at you so frequently and with such little remorse for plagiarism that the ones that don't stick to you, trip you up as you're trying to get away.

In-a-nutshell, young virgin meets girl online, borrows brothers car to go to see her, joined by his lothario mate and girl buddy that he fancies, they get caught up in all sorts of mayhem along the way, a'la Road Trip.
During their ride they come across all manner of bizarre characters, brash brothers, hot women, nutcases, Amish etc, a'la American Pie.
Seth Green sticks a cameo in here and is hilarious, the funniest Amish since Randy Quaid in Kingpin, meanwhile most of the one liners goes to his bully brother who reminds me of Bill Paxton as the equally bully-like brother in Weird Science from the 80's.
It's one of those no brainers that has upped the ante from the last of it's genre from the year before, which I'm sure will be trumped this time next year by it's sequel, but until then, get it for a night in with your mates and beer and popcorn whilst seeing who can recall the most put downs in a friendly `quote-off'
You'd get five points for this Drive...this version has extras galore so may be worth the extra 4quid if you like that sort of thing.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Best Comedy since Superbad. Its in the same ball park as American Pie with a twist. James Maresden and Clark Duke are brilliant. Seth Green's presence, although not a lead role, confirms the film as a classic in the making! The DVD will not disappoint either by the looks of it...double disc with loads of unseen stuff!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
This review will focus on the blu-ray "Sex Drive: Full Throttle Edition" and not on the film as you can find numerous film reviews elsewhere.

This blu ray edition of the movie Sex Drive is top notch besides the unskippable trailers at the start before the menu. This blu-ray is region free as i was able to play it on my region A ps3.

Be advised when you watch this movie, watch the rated edition first, then the unrated edition if u want to see the deleted scenes and unnecessary nudity.

The picture quality is excellent (definitely blu ray quality). I can't really critique the sound as i don't have a good sound setup.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
I caught this film last night on one of the movie channels, I'd never heard of it before but thought I would give it a quick half hour to see if it was any good.

Well I was laughing out loud within about 10 minutes, and I kept on laughing right to the end!
It does have some seriously funny scenes - which I won't spoil for you by writing them here!

Yes it's been done before - there's nothing new here, but it is funny and if you do like childish humour then this is comedy for you.

But don't think it's trying to convey any serious message or trying to be different, just switch your brain off and enjoy the ride!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 April 2015
Sex Drive is one of the funnier teen sex-comedies that I've seen. The jokes are fresh, and don't rely entirely on gross-out humour. I thought all the actors and actresses did a great job, with Clark Duke & seth green being especially funny.

The title is pretty much the plot. An awkward virgin goes on a road-trip with his womaniser best friend and his best female friend (who he has a crush on), in order to meet and have sex with a girl he's been chatting with on the internet. Lessons are learned, hearts are changed, hilarity ensues...it's all be seen before, but it's still hilarious.you should definitely check this one out. You're guaranteed to laugh. A lot.9/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sex Drive [DVD]
£14.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)