Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 31 May 2013
I purchased this as a protest against the "state" funeral of a wicked person.
I did not purchase to celebrate someone who is dead but I did not like the woman in life due to the harm she did to Scotland, my family and so many others across the land.
May she rest in peace ... the song was a success and we had our say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
What better way to celebrate the demise of one of the UK's most despised leaders who wrecked our economy and impoverished thousands for the benefit of her own cronies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
she was nothing new its all how capitalsm
works the damage thatcher did is still growing aided by her heirs . all tories are bastards so the witch is dead but they continue her work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This must be the most popular song in the UK at the moment, and rightly so. More hard-hitting than the Sex Pistols, more melodic than Napalm Death, this will be the sountrack to the long-awaited revolution.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
As someone who lived through the Thatcher years, and saw the promotion of the worst side of human nature at her hands I wasn't saddened to read of her death and like a lot of people I think celebrating someone's death is tasteless. I bought this record to show to the government that in these times of austerity in which 'we'll all in it together' we, the tax payer, should NOT be paying out millions on a funeral, when that money could be better spent on the living in the form of healthcare.

The Thatcher family has plenty of money to pay for a funeral so why should they be getting handouts (benefits) from the state when this government is determined to cut back on what it is spending. This is the ultimate insult to the country from a government that is totally out of touch with the current situation of the majority of the population: in the week that the poorest have a bedroom tax imposed on them, cutbacks to benefits for the poorest and most vulnerable in this country, the Tory government feels it right to spend OUR money on what is a glorified family funeral. This is a state handout for the funeral of someone who when she was PM didn't believe in state handouts! As Thatcher once said, 'there is no society, just the family' ... so why should society pay OUR taxes for your family funeral.

The song itself: It's upbeat, it's lively, it's from one of my favourite films and I'd love to hear it on Radio 1 but I doubt the BBC will listen to what the populace want and will continue to bow to it's political masters wishes, but that's "democracy" for you.

Play it loud and rejoice. Don't be caught up with the hatred expressed for the populace by the "nasty party" ... the witch is dead, so dance like the munchkins.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I have no intention of celebrating the death of a frail 87 year old lady who had a stroke. However I resent my tax money being used to recall Parliament so that MPs can eulogize over a former Prime Minister who was extremely divisive. The funeral will cost some 10 million pounds. I am sure I am not alone in thinking this could have been put out to tender and given to the lowest bidder regardless of quality -as a tribute to Thatcherist policies of the 1980's. Alternatively money could have been raised by Public subscription.
Anyway if our current politicians on the Left and Right feel it is inappropriate to promote this song then that's a good enough reason to spend 69p. I hope it makes no.1.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This joyful song celebrating the demise of a fictional wicked witch is now widely regarded as a metaphor for the long overdue death of Margaret Thatcher, a real-life tyrant who revelled in the nickname of the "Iron Lady".

Like the fictional Wicked Witch, she viewed human virtues such as compassion, empathy and solidarity with utter contempt. She knew the price of everything and the value of nothing, and was obsessed with a mysterious form of magic called "the market" as the answer to everything.

But unlike the fictional Wicked Witch, she had no magical powers to control the populace so she relied on dividing people against each other: north against south, haves against have nots. A small minority, concentrated mainly in the South East, grew wealthy under her policies, but it was at the expense of entire communities that were destroyed, their livelihoods taken away and good working people thrown on the scrapheap. But this period of wealth was just an illusion, as the Iron Lady relied on sales of oil from the North Sea and a credit bubble, as well as repeated sales of the family silver to bribe her supporters.

Eventually the power got to her head, as she was surrounded by "yes men" who were too cowardly to contradict her until she tried to impose an unfair tax on people's very existence. This led to such a strong rebellion by the people that even Thatcher's most loyal supporters had to remove her to save their own skins. They replaced her with a dull grey wizard called Major, who was later replaced by the wizards Blair and Brown, who pretended to be benign but still believed in the magical market.

This market's magic then failed so badly that the Brown wizard lost his job and was replaced by an unholy alliance of Cameron and a two-faced liar called Clegg. They set about continuing Thatcher's project with gusto, secure in their belief that the little people would just let them do whatever they pleased.

But then, just after a deep winter had beset the land, there was good news for the little people at last as the evil Thatcher finally did the decent thing and died. Cameron, Clegg and their secret accomplice Blair tried to tell the little people that this was a sad occasion but, try as they might, the joyous sound of "Ding Dong, the witch is dead" spread across the land. It still wasn't the end of the Thatcher story, as her successors are still trying to do everything they can to strip all that is still good from the land, such as the National Health Service. We haven't yet reached the end of the story, but Thatcher's death brought renewed hope that we had reached the beginning of the end.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Email a complaint to the bbc after their announcement today that they're not going to play DING DONG in full because The Telegraph, The Daily Mail and The Sun have told them not to! how dare they censor the taxpaying public who pay their wages!!

Ding Dong! The Witch is dead. Which old Witch? The Wicked Witch!
Ding Dong! The Wicked Witch is dead.
Wake up - sleepy head, rub your eyes, get out of bed.
Wake up, the Wicked Witch is dead. She's gone where the goblins go,
Below - below - below. Yo-ho, let's open up and sing and ring the bells out.
Ding Dong' the merry-oh, sing it high, sing it low.
Let them know
The Wicked Witch is dead!
44 Comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
I have been scratching my head for the past 30 years for a suitable tune to recognise the unique contribution Margaret Thatcher made to millions of people in the UK during her premiership in the 1980s. Her complete and utter contempt for people who didn't have the benefit of her upbringing and education, her assertions that greed, selfishness and arrogance were admirable qualities to be encouraged and any hint of altruism, kindness or collective care was nothing more than a transfer of money from those who had to those who didn't. I recall how she preferred to spend billions of pounds from the sale of the family silver, north sea oil revenues and the sale of council housing on miserly dole payments rather than invest in productive manufacturing and jobs, all to destroy any concept of society and mutual support amongst working people and their families. I remember how her husband's friends filled their pockets with booty from privatisation, how they were freed to invent money by financial card-tricks and shenanigans. How unemployed people over 50 were encouraged to declare themselves unwell and so disappear from the dole queues and lay the foundations for generations living on benefits. How all control over democratically elected local councils was stolen away and handed over Whitehall.

and then the penny dropped. Ding-Dong, The Witch is Dead. So I bought it. Imagine my surprise to find that several 1000s other people came to the same conclusion. Anyone would think there was some sort of collective thought, support and action going on - but that can't be true, because we all know that there's no such thing as society.
55 Comments| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This song is the nearest we will ever get to truly expressing ourselves about the great injustices that are done to us by corrupt politicians.

Thatcher took 1 Billion of your taxes and gave them to Saddam Hussein to prop up his evil regime,she also tried to smuggle him hawk fighter jets by passing them off as non lethal exports.

She protected Pinochet the child killer/torturer from facing justice for war crimes and while he was on bail she had him living in a mansion at our expense instead of a prison cell .

She stole the gas,electric,water.railway,phone companies and sold them to her friends for less money than they made in a year.

This has resulted in old ladies freezing to death because they cant afford to pay the premiums needed to give the directors their bonuses

This has resulted in Britain having an antiquated railway that is the most expensive in Europe and makes us a laughing stock
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)