Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: Nintendo Wii|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2009
In short, I would describe this game as a missed opportunity.

The SingStar games recognised from an early edition that, being a social game, players wanted to be able to play different songlists without having to reload the game. This lesson has not been passed to Guitar Hero and, despite the fact that little work has been done to update the clunky interface and the World Tour game engine, there is no way to play songs from different games without a reboot and reload. Indeed, if you have paid for downloadable content for World Tour, you will find that even these tracks cannot be accessed from Greatest Hits.

Secondly, while this game promises much with the moniker of "Greatest Hits" I would question whether this truly represents the best of the songs from previous editions. Even taking personal taste into account there seem to be a number of songs on here which feel like filler, whereas there are truly excellent songs from previous Guitar Heros which have not made the cut.

I would say that if there are tracks on here you particularly want in your GH repertoire, then you may well get enjoyment out of this title. Anyone expecting improvements over World Tour, or expecting a complete social gaming package would do well to stick with World Tour and download the additional content.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
this is the set lis for guitar hero greates hits.

aerosmith - back in the sadle
AFI - miss murder
alice in chains - them bones
anthrax - caught in a mosh
avenged sevenfold - beast and the harlot
blues oyster colt - godzilla
boston - more than a feeling
danzig - mother
deep purple - smoke on the water
the donnas - take it off
dragonforce - through the fire and flames
the exies - hey you
extreme - play with me
foo fighters - monkey wrench
franz ferdinand - take me out
heart - barracuda
helmet - unsung
incubus - stellar
iron maiden - the trooper
janes addiction - stop!
joan jett & the balckhearts - i love rock n'roll
judas priest - electric eye
kansas - carry on wayward son
kiss - rock and roll all nite
lamb of god - laid to rest
living colour - cult of personality
lynard skynard - free bird
motley crue - shout at the devil
nirvana - heart-shaped box
ozzy osbourne - bark at the moon
pantera - cowboys from hell
pat benatar - hit me with your best shot
poison - nothin' but a good time
the police - message in a bottle
priestess - lay down
queen - killer queen
queens of the stone age - no one knows
rage against the machine - killing in the name
ratt - round and round
reverand horton heat - psychobily
rush - YYZ
slayer - raining blood
stone temple pilots - trippin on a hole in a paper heart
the sword - freya
twisted sister - i wanna rock
warrant - cheery pie
white zombie - thunder kiss 65
wolfmpther - woman

best guitar hero yet. you must get it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
When I received the game it did not load ... So I had to send it back still waiting for my refund & I sent it back Saturday .. The sellers customer service was very good only bad thing was the game didn't work & I had to pay to send it back which I was not happy about at all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
Having personally come to the Guitar Hero franchise fairly late on with Guitar Hero III and then World Tour, for me this release comes as a welcome chance to catch up with the earlier tracks and with the added bonus that these early tracks also come with vocal, bass and drums thrown in.

It also benefits from crisper graphics than previous versions (at least the two that I have!) - on "World Tour" the lyrics for the vocals section were very difficult to read even on an HD TV with the composite graphics lead and in hi-res mode, however they are pin sharp on this version.

The RRP is a bit on the hefty side given that there are only 45 or so songs, but if you are waiting for something to fill the weeks until Guitar Hero 5 comes out, and if you can get it at a decent price, then it is a good purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
Guitar Hero is a triumph, but we are bored by the heavy metal dominance. Bought the Beatles recently, and that gives far more variety. If you like the range of tracks on this version, you won't be disappointed. Calibration is very important and is straightforward. However, it is not easy to get it right, and we have been recalibrating regularly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2009
When i first heard this game was coming out i just had to have it. I love guitar hero. It has loads of great songs from the older games, and because i havent got any of the older games it was a fantastic buy. If you do have the older games this might not be worth getting but if not then its a guitar hero must have.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
In my opinion, a better experience than GH:WT. The classic tracks are more my cuppa tea, and while I miss the DLC, the number of decent tracks to DLC for GH:WT I think are poor. I'd skip GH:3 and GH:WT and go for this, and then get GH:5 later this year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Good to have all the best songs on one game, and the band option is great fun however it appears that the people at Guitar Hero have put little effort in to anything alse! Rushed effort and no extras gives the feeling that this was simply a money spinner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
A good game which combines many of the great tracks from Gh1 to Gh 3 and Rock The 80's.

contains great songs as "Free Bird", "Cult Of Personality", "Play With Me" and many more well known tracks.

can recomend it for fans of the GH series :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
We have had lots of fun playing this game. Is fun to play alone but also with friends or family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)