Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
24
3.6 out of 5 stars
My Brother Tom [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 November 2014
Not the easiest film to watch. A dark and very charged movie about two youths who create their own life in the Woods. There is child abuse and bullying in this film, which the youths try to escape. Excellent acting by the then young Ben Whishaw.
Five stars says I love this film, but that isn't the case. The five stars are for the courage to make this film and the acting of the young players.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 December 2015
First few times I tried to watch My Brother Tom I turned it off, it just didn't grab me at all if I'm being 100% honest.

But the 3rd time i tried to watch it, i finally got into the dark, but powerful story. While the start is boring, please stick with it like i did the 3rd time, because as soon as it grips you, you will enjoy it.

It's a very dark, but powerful film. But a word of warning, some bits are very hard to watch due to sexual abuse and things of that nature.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
A teenage girl and a teenage boy form an unusual friendship, both being victims of some form of abuse. Maybe the director of this film is trying to get some sort of message across, it doesn't work, the film has almost no story line and is very boring. Don't spend good money on this rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 September 2010
Set in suburban England, this film tackles difficult subjects in a dramatic way, featuring as it does the attempted seduction of a schoolgirl by her teacher, and the sexual abuse of a boy by his father. Both girl and boy find release through exploring their natural instincts in the `good wood`. Considering it was released almost ten years ago, it's relevance is sadly pertinent still, as it shows the hierarchy of the Catholic church as being complicit in the abuse.

The production is very professional and the acting very realistic: Ben Whishaw is superbly convincing as the troubled Tom. But the very uncomfortable nature of the film's subject, made all the more real by the writing and acting, means that this is a film that I am not sure I would want to watch again. Hence the three stars.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
I just bought My Brother Tom recently and watched it last night. I thought it was a very impressive film. The performances by both main characters are really strong- especially Ben Whishaw as Tom. The subject matter is in no way new or untreaded waters(abuse, young romance, escapism, puberty etc) but i really liked how this film dealt with it's themes. It managed to show the dark side very well while keeping it very beautiful with the camera work and certain scenes that had such an ethereal beauty to them.
The ending is unusual and not very definitive but it makes you think about it and i spent hours dwelling on it and the film overall afterwards. It really is a powerful film and one that i feel compelled to watch again quite soon.
While watching it i was reminded of two films that deal with similar issues: Mysterious Skin and Disco Pigs, both of which are two brilliant films that are well worth chekcing out and boast flawless performances by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Brady Corbett in MS and Cillian Murphy in DP. And if you've seen either of them and liked them i'd say you'll definitely enjoy My Brother Tom and i'd recommmend you check it out.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
The three stars awarded to this film (when I saw it) might have put me off had it not been for a recommendation.
Yes it can drag a little at the beginning but stay with it. It's unusual and the two main performances are excellent. I think the following review covers it http://www.bbc.co.uk/films/2001/11/09/my_brother_tom_2001_review.shtml
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
This film, My Brother Tom, is a story about child abuse. It is very explicit and should be viewed by adults only, as parts of it are very shocking. Some of it is very far-fetched as it is difficult to believe in Tom's way of life being in any way realistic.
Nevertheless, is is very hard-hitting and apposite, bearing in mind what has been happening recently in some orphanages and Catholic churches.
Ben Whishaw as Tom gives an amazing performance.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
A rare decent film hailing from the UK. Jessica (who is perhaps around 16) attends a Catholic school for girls, and lives a standard middle-class existence. Her next-door neighbour, Jack, is one of her school teachers, and a friend of the family. On one occasion he expresses his attraction to Jessica, which turns into an unwanted encounter.

In the local woods Jessica meets a same-age male, Tom, an outsider with feral mannerisms - climbing trees, burying food - a creature of the forest. An unlikely pair - the snobbish Catholic girl and the inarticulate, physical lad - there is nevertheless an immediate, primal bond. Tom, who also is involved in unwanted encounters, builds Jessica an escapist, dream-world in the woods, where the two begin to merge identities.

Overall, it must be said that MY BROTHER TOM is visually-superb; beautifully filmed with confident and intimate camera play. Further, the bond between Tom and Jessica is dramatically and powerfully-depicted, their emotional and physical connection spiralling with palpable intensity.

Unfortunately, the screenplay is frequently pedestrian, the narratives never straying far from comforting stereotypes: bourgeois parents confused at their daughter's transformation into good-girl-turned-bad; the laughable caricature of the 'creepy next-door neighbour'; the priest who closes his mind to what he doesn't want to hear; the attempt to portray causal lines (self-harm, smoking, drugs); the tired utilization of a Shakespearian under-story, etc. More broadly, the theme of unwanted experiences is typically facile and implausible; although on the positive side it does (perhaps unintentionally) illuminate the absurdity of the CSA myths, and adequately demonstrates that a genuine and effective 'right to say no' is pointless without a concomitant 'right to say yes'.

Nevertheless, such flaws in the script can be largely forgiven, if one avoids the one-dimensionality of the narratives on offer and instead concentrates on the overall mood of the piece, and the enthralling intensity of the Tom-Jessica pairing. On which note, mention must be made of Ben Whishaw (as Tom), who is really outstanding in his challenging role and ultimately carries this film. If for no other reason, MY BROTHER TOM is well worth watching for Ben Whishaw's exquisite and captivating performance.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
A little disappointed in this. Ben Whishaw is as convincing as always but he is not helped by a cliché-bound script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Great movie but needed to watch it a couple of times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)