Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
97
3.5 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:£31.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2012
I waited for Max Payne 3 to come out on the PC so I could go old school with the key board and mouse look, and I'm glad I did. I can imagine that using a controller and having to constantly shoot from cover could be frustrating, but the mouse lets you run and gun a bit more and spices things up a bit.

Half the fun of a Max Payne game is the noir style dialog and story line, so I found the lengthy cut scenes added to the game rather than detracted from it.

This game, at it's core is a pure Max Payne game with stunning visuals and slow motion gun play. Slow diving off a balcony whilst shooting several bad guys through the noggin is worth the entry fee alone.

I'd also like to mention the level of detail in the environments in this game, it's easy to miss as you're trying to dodge hot lead, at one point I was standing in a ditch in the slums of Sao Paulo looking at the thin film of oil floating past on the ditch water and the fly's buzzing around the trash and a million and one other little details. It must be a odd thing being a game developer, creating that level of detail only to realise most people will just hoof past it looking for the next bad guy to grease.

Ah Max, will you ever win? You're the best washed up anti hero in popular fiction, and by now you're responsible for more untimely deaths than the bubonic plague.

5/5
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
It's now THREE hours since I've started installing Max Payne 3 (cuz hey, putting a game on FOUR discs is such a great idea!!) and TWO freakin hours of trying to launch it, but to no avail.

1. The display drivers are up-to-date (cuz ONLY the latest work apparently!)
2. I've moved the game to a new location, which doesn't contain ANY spaces (is that requirement plain old STUPID or what?)
3. I've tried running it in both Normal and "Safe Mode"

I've completely wasted my entire evening for NOTHING

I'll never buy one of their games again. Next time maybe they can also send their suckers... I mean buyers.... the gaming system on which their game actually works... cuz right now it seems to be some sort of science fiction!

For those of you who didn't know, we've faced the EXACT same problems when they've launched L.A. Noire, but they REALLY DON'T care! They just want your money or else how you just explain launching a game that doesn't run?!

Hundreds and hundreds of PC users complain on all gaming forums on how this game fails to run and yet Rockstar released it and hasn't provided a real solution to this day...
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
Very good on the pc. Be warned though, this isn't like the old Max Payne titles. If you can accept and get past that, chances are you will have a good time.

First thing worth noting, the pc version was built alongside the console version. It runs and looks superb. I have (roughly speaking) a mid end system and it runs a solid 60fps maxed out. Gameplay is more or less the same as the older titles barring wallcover. The game operates better with the mouse and keyboard over a control pad imo.

If I had one problem, I feel it has one too many on-the-rail sections. The cutscenes didn't really bother me, Max payne is about the story-telling just as much as the action.

Sadly, I dont really have any interest in multiplayer, so I cant talk about that aspect. I doubt you are buying it for that anyway.

Well prices... none of this £34/£39 greed and plays well. It's fair to say it will probably be one of the best action titles on the pc this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
This is not a game but a series of cutscenes which occasionally allow you to partake in some very poor gameplay. You have almost no control in what the character does, as the scene will force you to go where it wants you to go and you have little or no say in how the game is played out. None of the game play scenes last more than a minute or two before you are killed and then have to start again from a preselected save point (again not one of your choice)and then you simply have to remember where the bad guys are and repeat the process until eventually you kill them and pass on to the next cutscene.
The script is predictable and dull and whilst the graphics are superb it only enhances the overwhelming scense that this game was produced more to assurge the egos of the makers rather than to produce an enjoyable product for the game playing public.
I have given up on it after 2 hours which is, coincidently, less time than it took to load!
Don't Touch.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
As a big fan of the first two max payne games i couldn't wait to play this game when it first got announced , i was disappointed after playing it,dont get me wrong the game looks amazing,the attention to detail and physics are great,but its not fun at all, the whole game is linear ,you kill some enemies-watch a cutscene-repeat, the humor and engaging story line from the first two games are missing,the multiplayer is frustrating as players at higher ranks always kill you with one shot or a single melee hit,if you are a big fan of max payne ,dont get this game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I enjoyed the previous 2 max payne episodes; I really hoped that I would enjoy this one.

I still might except that I cannot get it to play on my PC. After scanning the web I find that I am not alone.

The Max Payne 3 help desk was useless; check your PC, set up and admin account, re-install the game. Well, Duh!

Unless you can borrow a copy of your mate to test on your own PC, buy at your own risk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
This game is not on steam-works but if your graphics card is direct to 9 its a low spec to run the game so this graphics card i will recommend ( VTX3D 1GB Radeon HD 5450 DDR3 Graphics Card with Low Profile Brackets is has direct 11 ) so it deffo will run the game. but you need a internet connection at first time to download the patches for the game once the patches have download then you can play mp3 (max Payne 3).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
very entertaining. graphics are top notch.for those people complaining that the game doesn't work or graphics are poor i think you need to upgrade your system. get a good dx 11 gpu and proper pc to get lag free full hd gaming
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
I am loving this game!

Okay, let's be honest it is not perfect, but what is?
On the down-side it is very linear both in terms of story and traversing the environment, it lacks the ability to switch up the pacing and it's a little annoying how the 'last man standing' recovery mechanic locks you into killing one guy, it would be nice if you could have more freedom there.

But on the upside, this game is brutal, unrelenting, funny, action packed, stylish, the visuals are absolutely stunning and unlike games like Crysis, the framerate doesn't suffer as a result. Control is solid, the sound and animations are almost perfect and watching the environment getting destroyed as you have a shoot-out is something to behold.

It seems to me that most of the problems with this game stem from Rockstar's desire to please long time fans of the series and not stray too far from the established mechanics, but that has also yielded some great benefits, like the lack of regenerating health which would not have sat so well in this game.

In summary a great PC version of a fine game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Max Payne 3 is a horrible game compared to the first 2 but I have a solution.... Whenever Max drinks you drink! That should quickly drown your sorrows and disappointment at this over extended cut scene with anti-smooth gameplay in between, that is masquerading as the, long awaited, 3 installment, of one of the greatest game series ever :'-(
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)